We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an upgrade desperately” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Darling Towers on Collins

Save Saved
You added Darling Towers on Collins to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Darling Towers on Collins
233 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Darling Towers Serviced Apartments) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Needs an upgrade desperately”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We took our boys to Melbourne to see the Liverpool game and booked an apartment through Quickbeds. So wish I'd looked on Trip Advisor first, would have avoided spoiling an otherwise exciting visit to Melbourne.

Don't be misled by photos on the website, this hotel is very much in need of freshening up, in terms of decor, furnishings and air!

We booked a 2 bedroom apartment, price was reasonable for a city apartment and the location is great, but... Skirtings and doorways are scratched and scuffed, reception is on the 8th floor (from memory) in what looks like a converted suite with little to invite or welcome guests

Our apartment smelled like lamb chops had been cooked in it everyday for years. The furnishings and curtains had absorbed the smell

Tiles around the bath/shower were loose, grout was missing and whilst you could smell cleaning agents, there was a general feel that it wasn't quite clean. The 'vanity' was a chipboard square cupboard with swollen door and edges and nowhere on top to store things - no way I was putting anything in the cupboard. The only power point in the bathroom was behind a shaving cabinet mirrored door which only opened part way as it was warped and got jammed on the ceiling

The bed in the main bedroom was quite hard, single beds in the second room seemed okay to the boys. I was a bit hesitant to slip between the sheets but an inspection showed them to be spotlessly clean, one bright spot!

Luckily we were all excited to be going to the soccer. 14 year old said, "it's only for one night, it will do". He was right, it served it's purpose, but we would never stay there again, nor recommend it to friends or family

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    111
    66
    40
    25
See reviews for
97
58
26
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR AND STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Furnishings all need to be updated.
Our room had definitely not been vacuumed in months.
Found a kids sock and some rubbish near the couch.
All the door frames and edges had at least a cm of thick dust.
Dust on all furnishings.
Disgusting marks on all walls
Bed sheets were not clean we kept finding pubic looking hairs on the sheets and on the pillows.
No quilt coverlet just sandpaper like not clean sheets over the Donna.
The pillows didn't have proper pillow cases and pillows themselves were disgusting funky coloured dots in them along with copious amounts of other guests hair. Gross!
We bought our own pillows as there was now way we were resting our heads on these.
The mattress was shocking
My towel had some nice public hairs and boogers on it
Air con did not work in both rooms went down to the oddly placed reception on level 8 to be told sorry couldn't do anything about it and could be moved to another room but wait they were fully booked sorry.
Rooms were soo stuffy because of no air on so we had to leave the balcony window open at night to get air in and froze
We slept with our shoes on.
They had a painter painting the walls outside our room so we had the paint fumes to inhale as we slept as well, lovely!
Painting the walls???? How about actually cleaning the rooms it's a called a vacuum cleaner and elbow grease?
On checking out the receptionist kid was running around the desk, soo professional, and we were not asked how our stay was.
All up this place is run down and management do care about their guests or the bad reviews they continue to receive, and this is clearly not a 4 star rated establishment. How on earth they got this I have no idea.
Yes it's in a good location, but that's it.
save yourself from a lot of frustration and book somewhere else!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I booked in to Darling Towers on Collins after reading several reasonable reviews and seeing that it was supposedly 4 star budget accommodation. Booking process was fine but when I got there I was very disappointed. I was given a 2 bedroom apartment that was extremely dark even with the lights on. Went to have a glass of water and had to wash the glasses prior to using them as they had a weird yellow, foul smelling (not wee not detergent) liquid in them. Main bedroom had hardly any window or light. Depressing really. Went to reception and was upgraded to the "VIP" room on level 11. Whilst this was a nice gesture and a much better room with late windows and a balcony, the "VIP" room didn't have a working smoke detector or clock, the dishwasher had the prior people's dishes still in there (although clean) and the Venetian blinds were bent and broken. Substandard accommodation. I checked out that night and went elsewhere. Never again!

Room Tip: Stay else where unless you aren't fussy about cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, although small it was adequate. The location is really good, close to shops, eating places, sporting events and the tram stop is right outside the door. There is no service but for a short stay that really doesn't matter.There is a small kitchen with all utensils. even a dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. We had no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed there for 11 days - from day 1 we let reception know that our dryer/washing machine wasn’t working. Day 5 they still hadn’t come so I went down there and complained. Got told the maintenance guy said he ordered a part and would be back tomorrow morning. I said to them they should have probably let us know or given us a key to a different room so we could wash all of our stuff..... He then didn’t show the following day so I called in the afternoon and let reception know, she said 'well then all I can do is give you a key to the 'pent house' and you can use the washing machine there.' We on the 6th floor had to go to the 12th floor and keep on walking back and forth washing all our stuff.

Didn’t get an apology or a where sorry he didn’t let you know what was happening with the machine.

We also got told the "cleaners" would come by every 3 days to give towels/new sheets if needed/take away the roller bed - the cleaners didnt come at all so on days 6 we phoned reception and in the end we ended up having to go down there and collect towels. Rubbish all stayed there until the day we left.

Room Tip: Standard room is exactly the same as the "pent house". No difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Darling Towers on Collins for 4 nights. The book-in processes was seamless and all went well without a hitch.
We had a 2 bedroom Apartment for us and our daughter. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was adequate with a good hairdryer, and excellent heating, so important in chilly Melbourne.
The kitchenette was well equipped with crockery, cutlery, wine glasses, fridge and dishwasher.
Our room was overlooking Collins Street with its peak hour rush and the iconic trams adding to our Melbourne experience. Close to the free Tour Bus which stops every 30 minutes and also the free City Circle Tram, which covers just about all the major attractions such as the National Gallery Old Melbourne Gaol, Docklands area and the various Museums, not to mention the shops. We enjoyed the evening Walks and the surprising talent spotted around in the way of street performances.
Our contact with staff found them friendly and polite.
One suggestion I would make is that house keeping be tailored to guests stay rather than strictly each 3 nights, as we stayed 4 it would have been ideal for cleaning to have been done mid stay.
Overall pleasant experience, good value and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have been staying here for a few days most years for about 10 years. But I no longer have the same loyalty to this hotel. Initially, I planned to stay for 3 nights. The website offered a deal for the first 2 nights and the third was listed as 'contact the hotel'. So I emailed - no response. 2 days later I phone and was disappointed with the poor customer service skills of the booking clerk. She knew I was staying for 2 nights but insisted the 3rd night was at the full $180 rate. Now, I didn't expect the special deal be offered for the 3rd night but she didn't even offer me the 10% returning customer discount. Her inflexibility and her lack of awareness of preserving the good custom of a long standing client was poor.

Corridors are run down - not only in need of coats of paint but rubbish daily littered the floor. Rooms are well equipped and although furniture looks somewhat tired, I'm not in Melbourne to stay in the hotel room. So a comfie chair to sit in at night and watch TV and kitchen facilities keep me happy. Room was clean but a towel from previous occupant still hung behind the bathroom door. Unfortunately, I slept badly due to a very soft, old mattress. I was in pain from @4am and got little sleep from then on. If anything needs to be replaced first, it is the mattresses!

Access to the city is right outside your door. Tram stop outside, Shops and cafes also within easy walking distance. Good security means a solo traveller can feel safe.

So, location means this hotel can be recommended but don't expect anything fancy - it is adequate but not outstanding. Also, don't hope to be made to feel like a valued customer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Darling Towers on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darling Towers on Collins

Address: 233 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Darling Towers Serviced Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Darling Towers on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darling Towers on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.