We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!'” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Darling Towers on Collins

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Darling Towers on Collins to your Saves list
Darling Towers on Collins
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   233 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Darling Towers Serviced Apartments)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #118 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“HORRIBLE!!!!!!!!'”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

DO YOURSELF A FAVOUR AND STAY AWAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Furnishings all need to be updated.
Our room had definitely not been vacuumed in months.
Found a kids sock and some rubbish near the couch.
All the door frames and edges had at least a cm of thick dust.
Dust on all furnishings.
Disgusting marks on all walls
Bed sheets were not clean we kept finding pubic looking hairs on the sheets and on the pillows.
No quilt coverlet just sandpaper like not clean sheets over the Donna.
The pillows didn't have proper pillow cases and pillows themselves were disgusting funky coloured dots in them along with copious amounts of other guests hair. Gross!
We bought our own pillows as there was now way we were resting our heads on these.
The mattress was shocking
My towel had some nice public hairs and boogers on it
Air con did not work in both rooms went down to the oddly placed reception on level 8 to be told sorry couldn't do anything about it and could be moved to another room but wait they were fully booked sorry.
Rooms were soo stuffy because of no air on so we had to leave the balcony window open at night to get air in and froze
We slept with our shoes on.
They had a painter painting the walls outside our room so we had the paint fumes to inhale as we slept as well, lovely!
Painting the walls???? How about actually cleaning the rooms it's a called a vacuum cleaner and elbow grease?
On checking out the receptionist kid was running around the desk, soo professional, and we were not asked how our stay was.
All up this place is run down and management do care about their guests or the bad reviews they continue to receive, and this is clearly not a 4 star rated establishment. How on earth they got this I have no idea.
Yes it's in a good location, but that's it.
save yourself from a lot of frustration and book somewhere else!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    150
    96
    45
    32
See reviews for
135
78
32
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I booked in to Darling Towers on Collins after reading several reasonable reviews and seeing that it was supposedly 4 star budget accommodation. Booking process was fine but when I got there I was very disappointed. I was given a 2 bedroom apartment that was extremely dark even with the lights on. Went to have a glass of water and had to wash the glasses prior to using them as they had a weird yellow, foul smelling (not wee not detergent) liquid in them. Main bedroom had hardly any window or light. Depressing really. Went to reception and was upgraded to the "VIP" room on level 11. Whilst this was a nice gesture and a much better room with late windows and a balcony, the "VIP" room didn't have a working smoke detector or clock, the dishwasher had the prior people's dishes still in there (although clean) and the Venetian blinds were bent and broken. Substandard accommodation. I checked out that night and went elsewhere. Never again!

Room Tip: Stay else where unless you aren't fussy about cleanliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights, although small it was adequate. The location is really good, close to shops, eating places, sporting events and the tram stop is right outside the door. There is no service but for a short stay that really doesn't matter.There is a small kitchen with all utensils. even a dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. We had no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed there for 11 days - from day 1 we let reception know that our dryer/washing machine wasn’t working. Day 5 they still hadn’t come so I went down there and complained. Got told the maintenance guy said he ordered a part and would be back tomorrow morning. I said to them they should have probably let us know or given us a key to a different room so we could wash all of our stuff..... He then didn’t show the following day so I called in the afternoon and let reception know, she said 'well then all I can do is give you a key to the 'pent house' and you can use the washing machine there.' We on the 6th floor had to go to the 12th floor and keep on walking back and forth washing all our stuff.

Didn’t get an apology or a where sorry he didn’t let you know what was happening with the machine.

We also got told the "cleaners" would come by every 3 days to give towels/new sheets if needed/take away the roller bed - the cleaners didnt come at all so on days 6 we phoned reception and in the end we ended up having to go down there and collect towels. Rubbish all stayed there until the day we left.

Room Tip: Standard room is exactly the same as the "pent house". No difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Darling Towers on Collins for 4 nights. The book-in processes was seamless and all went well without a hitch.
We had a 2 bedroom Apartment for us and our daughter. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom was adequate with a good hairdryer, and excellent heating, so important in chilly Melbourne.
The kitchenette was well equipped with crockery, cutlery, wine glasses, fridge and dishwasher.
Our room was overlooking Collins Street with its peak hour rush and the iconic trams adding to our Melbourne experience. Close to the free Tour Bus which stops every 30 minutes and also the free City Circle Tram, which covers just about all the major attractions such as the National Gallery Old Melbourne Gaol, Docklands area and the various Museums, not to mention the shops. We enjoyed the evening Walks and the surprising talent spotted around in the way of street performances.
Our contact with staff found them friendly and polite.
One suggestion I would make is that house keeping be tailored to guests stay rather than strictly each 3 nights, as we stayed 4 it would have been ideal for cleaning to have been done mid stay.
Overall pleasant experience, good value and would definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I have been staying here for a few days most years for about 10 years. But I no longer have the same loyalty to this hotel. Initially, I planned to stay for 3 nights. The website offered a deal for the first 2 nights and the third was listed as 'contact the hotel'. So I emailed - no response. 2 days later I phone and was disappointed with the poor customer service skills of the booking clerk. She knew I was staying for 2 nights but insisted the 3rd night was at the full $180 rate. Now, I didn't expect the special deal be offered for the 3rd night but she didn't even offer me the 10% returning customer discount. Her inflexibility and her lack of awareness of preserving the good custom of a long standing client was poor.

Corridors are run down - not only in need of coats of paint but rubbish daily littered the floor. Rooms are well equipped and although furniture looks somewhat tired, I'm not in Melbourne to stay in the hotel room. So a comfie chair to sit in at night and watch TV and kitchen facilities keep me happy. Room was clean but a towel from previous occupant still hung behind the bathroom door. Unfortunately, I slept badly due to a very soft, old mattress. I was in pain from @4am and got little sleep from then on. If anything needs to be replaced first, it is the mattresses!

Access to the city is right outside your door. Tram stop outside, Shops and cafes also within easy walking distance. Good security means a solo traveller can feel safe.

So, location means this hotel can be recommended but don't expect anything fancy - it is adequate but not outstanding. Also, don't hope to be made to feel like a valued customer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Location to Darling Towers was excellent, Close to all the shops ,Shopping Centres , and all the public transport we needed. The room was rather tired and needed some makeover to slightly more modern furniture. Some grout missing in between tiles in the shower/bath will cause them some water problems in the future and didn't look all that inviting. we were recommended to stay here and upon opening the door found it quite disappointing to what we expected. Sadly would not really like to recommend this place to people if they are looking for 4 stars

Room Tip: "Ask for upgrade when booking if you can"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#114 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#119 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Causeway 353 Hotel
Causeway 353 Hotel
#92 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#108 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 3,326 reviews
0.1 mi away
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darling Towers on Collins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darling Towers on Collins

Address: 233 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Darling Towers Serviced Apartments)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#99 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Darling Towers on Collins 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You're going to love BreakFree on Collins' comfortable apartments with One and Two Bedroom Apartments to choose from. There's everything you're looking for in your Melbourne accommodation with full kitchen facilities including a dishwasher, broadband internet access, cable TV, air-conditioning and heating. Choose a balcony apartment and take in the city-scape views or Melbourne's bright lights by night. You'll never be at a loss with our friendly reception team, secure car parking, child minding service and a tour desk that can set you on the right path to explore the best of Melbourne. You're at the heart of Collins Street so hit the shops or jump on a tram and head on down to the Arts Centre, Southbank, Docklands, St Kilda Road or one of the many other attractions Melbourne has to offer. Go all Italian on the famous Lygon Street, Carlton, or opt for the funky alternative in Brunswick Street, Fitzroy. Speaking of famous streets there are tons of restaurants and shopping outlets in Bridge Road, Richmond and a little further across in Chapel Street, South Yarra. Fitzroy Street, St Kilda is famous for bars, restaurants and a mixture of some famous and artistic people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Darling Towers on Collins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darling Towers On Collins Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel Melbourne
Darling Hotel On Collins

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Darling Towers on Collins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.