We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT HOTEL - GREAT LOCATION” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Little Bourke

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on Little Bourke to your Saves list
Mantra on Little Bourke
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   471 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Main Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“GREAT HOTEL - GREAT LOCATION”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This Hotel is great - no problems here. Stayed 4 nights at this hotel last week. Stayed in a one bedroom spa room - fantastic. Room was a corner suite on the 9th floor and had a magnificent view of the city. Room had full kitchen with full sized fridge, large dining room with table for 6, large lounge with two sofas and two chairs, large bedroom and a great bathroom and spa. We met friends who lived in Melbourne and they came to stay at another apartment hotel and they said that the entrance passage and foyer in our room was larger than their whole room (joke but that was how large this room was). The staff at check in were polite and helpful and gave us hints on what to do and where to go. The food at the hotel had a limited range but was adequate and ample - we had room service twice and ate at the restaurant once. The hotel is well located - easy walk to shopping and to the free tram and bus stops.
CAB PROBLEM: The only problem we encounted was trying to get a cab for a short inner city run. The hotel staff rang for us and we waited and waited and were lucky that a cab dropped someone off and the driver agreed to take us on our short trip when I told him that our cab hadn't come. He said he knew that because he had heard the call and said cabs don't leave the rank on a quite night - they wait and know they will get a fare in 30 or 60 minutes and nobody roams the city taking short fares. This also happened to us in Perth where we waited 60 minutes for a cab for a ride from a car rental company to our hotel. THIS LACK OF SERVICE BY CABS IS NOT GOOD FOR TOURISM WHEREVER IT HAPPENS.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaVerosaari, General Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Hi Kenaohp, we are sorry to hear about the cab problems that ruined an otherwise amazing Melbourne experience for you. Regardless, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Mantra on Little Bourke, and appreciate you sharing your feedback. Our team takes pride in providing our guests with a memorable stay, so please visit us again whenever you are in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Mika Verosaari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    177
    65
    20
    9
See reviews for
61
91
19
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I spent 2 nights at this hotel. I found that it was everything I needed. Location was very central with Spencer Street Station less than 10 minute walk and Bourke Street Mall less than 5 minute walk. Hardware Lane nearby offered great meal choices and atmosphere. Staff were wonderful and very helpful. Room service was efficient and very happy with what I had ordered. Bath at the end of the day was lovely. Great hot shower in the morning. King size bed and pillows were perfectly comfortable and I had a wonderful sleep both nights. Temperature control easy to adjust as desired. There is rarely a sound from the street or nearby hallway doors, amazing for an inner city Melbourne Hotel. Outlook of neighboring office towers not great, but this didn't bother me at all as everything else was terrific and I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who is in Melbourne for work or shopping during the day who wants somewhere conveniently located and a quiet retreat in the evening. Great sleep guaranteed!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaVerosaari, General Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear ahappycamper7, thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a great review of Mantra on Little Bourke, and were able to provide you with such a good night’s sleep! Your kind praise enables our staff to take pride in providing a warm & friendly welcome to all our guests, and will continue in doing so.
We would love to welcome you back to Mantra on Little Bourke whenever you are back in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Mika Verosaari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Amazingly warm & friendly welcome at reception - so important as it sets the tone for your stay.
Great rooms - lots of space with a kitchenette & living area.
I stay here whenever in Melbourne. A comfortable stay is always guaranteed.
Only suggestion is the restaurant serving breakfast seems a little understaffed & breakfast can take a while to be served. Not convenient when you have an early meeting to get to. Perhaps a buffet breakfast would be the way to go. Otherwise very comfy & good value & high levels of service.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaVerosaari, General Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you Darren Y, for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. It is fantastic to know that we have met your expectations across so many different levels, and we are delighted to know that we were able to provide a very welcoming experience for you.
We have taken aboard your feedback and passed them on to our Food & Beverage Manager to address your concerns, and sincerely hope to impress you again when you visit us the next time you are in Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Mika Verosaari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I spent only one night here, but it was actually one of the most positive hotel experiences I have ever had! The staff from beginning to end were absolutely wonderful. I was checked in in record time, they were charming, and every part of the service on the ground floor (from the free water, the reception and the attached bar/restaurant) was excellent. The room size was well beyond what I normally experience for the price. I actually wondered if I'd accidentally been upgraded. In terms of location this is a gem - it is a quite street and yet incredibly close to the centre of town, with wonderful coffee shops and Hardware Lane nearby, and a short walk to the middle of the city. I will certainly stay here again without hesitation, it was outstanding for business travel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre W, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi Wanderingjen, thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us at Mantra on Little Bourke. It greatly pleases us to know that we were able to meet your expectations on so many levels and will continue to take pride in doing so for all our welcomed guests.
We appreciate all your positive comments regarding your stay, and it was fantastic to know that you felt so comfortable and were able to enjoy the many features of the property.
We do hope to welcome you to stay with us again at Mantra on Little Bourke
Kind Regards, Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Good points: friendly efficient reception staff, big room with comfortable beds, well-equipped gym, good location.
Bad points: Shower water controller not fixed even though reported - hard to have a warm shower in winter when the controller keeps sliding down, turning the hot water off; used towels not picked up and taken away; restaurant so cold we had to ask for heating to be turned up; plates etc not cleared away promptly; keycard taken from room, returned to a cold room; meals and drinks over-priced, even for Melbourne.
I was really disappointed with this stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andre W, Front Office Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you Gail M, for taking the time for posting your review on Tripadvisor. It is fantastic to hear that our reception team and room facilities met up with your expectations, however I was disappointed to learn of your dissatisfaction in regards to the hot water and insufficient heating in both your room and the restaurant.
Your comments have been forwarded to the Maintenance and Food and Beverage Manager so that we can address these concerns. We do appreciate your valuable feedback which is beneficial to the success of our hotel’s operations. We look forward to welcoming you back to Mantra on Little Bourke, and appreciate if you could grant us another opportunity to impress you, as we have many of our valued guests.
Kind Regards, Andre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Nothing impressive.
You can find hotel in a better location if you are looking for city center.
It was pre booked by travel agency. Not sure about the price. Probably budget cos a room with 2 king bed cost 200 per night. Although I changed the room because of the noise. The changed room is also noisy. I am on the bed more than 1hr now. No ipod station. At night its pretty dead. No controller for the air ventilator!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Spent two nights at the Mantra whilst in Melbourne for work.
Checkin was quick and I was directed to the 1st floor to my Executive Suite.
As other reviewers have mentioned these suites are very large comprising one long room sub-divided into a bathroom with both shower and full size bath, kitchen, and a sitting/living room area divided from the bedroom by a partition. There were flat screen tv's in both the bedroom and the sitting room. The bedroom window looks straight into an office buildiing so I just kept the blinds closed. Apart from the large red wine stain? on the carpert just outside the lift the room itself was neat and clean. Fortunately, I didn't have any valuables to secure which is just as well as there was no in-room safe, which is an important oversight on the part of the management .The hotel is located a short walk from the centre of Melbourne and there are numerous restaurants and shopping areas in close proximity to it. I didn't notice any traffic noise as Little Bourke Street doesn't seem to have the same volume of traffic that other major Melbourne streets do. I would definately stay here again if the safe issue was addressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Little Bourke

Address: 471 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Little Bourke 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Little Bourke Melbourne is truly Melbourne's best kept secret. Centrally located in Melbourne's CBD it allows guests quick and easy access to premium local attractions including boutique shopping, famous restaurant strips and a host of cultural experiences including the Melbourne Art gallery, Melbourne Museum and the landmark Federation Square. Offering a choice of spacious accommodation ranging from Studio Suites to Two Bedroom Apartments, Mantra on Little Bourke boasts all the comforts of home including lounge and dining areas, kitchenettes, cable TV, in-house movies and air conditioning. Guests also benefit from a host of helpful hotel services such as 24 hour reception and room service, daily housekeeping, concierge assistance, valet service, undercover parking and more. Alibi Kitchen & Bar is located downstairs in the hotel and offers exceptional food and service. Open seven days for breakfast and dinner and for lunch Monday to Friday. Corporate travellers will find the hotel a comfortable and convenient base from which to conduct business. Universally famous for multicultural dining, vibrant night-life, boutique shopping and a thriving art culture, Melbourne is a popular destination, appealing to both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra on Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On Little Bourke Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Little Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.