We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inner city comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Little Bourke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on Little Bourke to your Saves list
Mantra on Little Bourke
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   471 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Inner city comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A great location and space to burn in this suite hotel - ideal for longer stays than my one night. Friendly staff - and a cosy bar and restaurant if the nearby options to drink and eat (and there are many) don't lure you out despite the cold!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    207
    75
    21
    9
See reviews for
76
106
23
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Overall room clean and comfy and staff polite but air conditioning terrible....hot hot hot even after we rang to have it fixed which it wasn't .
Also our suite was at the end of the hall tucked away behind the cleaners room/ storage area and there was an disused water fountain that was extremely dirty and rusty and as a cleaner must have passed it every day and never cleaned it then perhaps that reflects on the cleaning habits for the rooms. A bad attention to detail that reflects overall on the hotels standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have just stayed at the Mantra on Little Bourke Street this past weekend. Although it is extremely central to the city and trams etc. it is not one of the best hotels I have stayed in although the staff are friendly.

The rooms are generously sized and the bed very comfortable. We had a king bed. My only gripe would be that the bath towels were way past their sell by date as they were grey and very thin and if you are bigger than a size 14 you will not fit in the shower door. The lighting in the room is not fantastic and not helpful that you cannot switch the room light on from the door as you enter. I think the whole hotel needs a revamp it is rather tired.

The restaurant downstairs did not seem to be open very often but there are loads of fabulous places around to get a coffee or food.

On the whole not bad and was good value as we had a flight and hotel package. We would certainly look at staying here again for just a weekend if we could get the same deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I booked one night at the Mantra as a gift to my partner (we live in the melbourne suburbs). We stayed in the executive suite with King Size bed. The room was surprisingly spacious and very clean. We didn’t spend a lot of time in the room, instead spending most of the evening on hardware lane which is very close by with lots of lovely restaurants and bars.
The service we received was excellent. The girl at check-in was exceptionally friendly and helpful (it was my first time booking a hotel!) and explained as part of the package I bought we would be entitled to two-for-one breakfast, which I was advised could be had as room service. At check-out a different staff member advised this wasn’t the case and had a bit of an attitude about not being able to do anything. This left me with a pretty bad impression of the hotel after having been so happy with all other aspects.
I left some feedback on the mantra website and was promptly contacted by a manager, Andre, who was incredibly kind and helpful, sympathised with my position and even offered to provide a refund for the breakfast.
All in all, I was very happy with my stay. Good location, nice affordable rooms, and as it turns out, service that goes above and beyond!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the mantra on little bourke street for a long weekend in late april. Everything within the cbd is within walking distance, including hardware lane where there were plenty of great brunch places. The rooms were huge, and look to have been renovated at some stage, but the rooms could be at risk of looking tired in the coming years. The wifi was extortionately priced which was a turn-off, otherwise an easly base for a great melbourne weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

It was our first stay at the Mantra and we were very pleasantly surprised.
Room was lovely, lighting a little bit poor, but bed beautiful and comfortable.
Very clean, staff pleasant, good position. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great stay and very helpful staff. We asked the concierge to print our boarding passes for our flight and it was done efficiently with a smile. He also kindly booked our taxi for the next morning. Great location for shopping, eating, and getting around. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Little Bourke

Address: 471 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Little Bourke 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Little Bourke Melbourne is truly Melbourne's best kept secret. Centrally located in Melbourne's CBD it allows guests quick, easy access to premium local attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a host of cultural experiences including the Melbourne Art gallery, Melbourne Museum and the landmark Federation Square. Offering a choice of spacious accommodation ranging from studio suites to two bedroom apartments, Mantra on Little Bourke boasts all the comforts of home including lounge and dining areas, kitchenettes, cable TV, in-house movies and air conditioning. Please note Mantra on Little Bourke has limited suites available with washing machines & dryers. Requests can be made at time of reservation, but cannot be guaranteed. Guests also benefit from a host of helpful hotel services such as 24 hour reception and room service, daily housekeeping, concierge assistance, valet service, undercover parking and more. Alibi Kitchen & Bar is located downstairs in Mantra on Little Bourke and offers exceptional food and service. Open seven days for breakfast and dinner and for lunch Monday to Friday. Corporate travellers will find Mantra on Little Bourke a comfortable and convenient base from which to conduct business. Universally famous for multicultural dining, vibrant night-life, boutique shopping and a thriving art culture, Melbourne is a popular destination, appealing to both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Mantra on Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On Little Bourke Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Little Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.