We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inner city comfort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Little Bourke

Save Saved
You added Mantra on Little Bourke to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra on Little Bourke
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   471 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Inner city comfort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A great location and space to burn in this suite hotel - ideal for longer stays than my one night. Friendly staff - and a cosy bar and restaurant if the nearby options to drink and eat (and there are many) don't lure you out despite the cold!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    151
    58
    20
    9
See reviews for
54
82
18
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Overall room clean and comfy and staff polite but air conditioning terrible....hot hot hot even after we rang to have it fixed which it wasn't .
Also our suite was at the end of the hall tucked away behind the cleaners room/ storage area and there was an disused water fountain that was extremely dirty and rusty and as a cleaner must have passed it every day and never cleaned it then perhaps that reflects on the cleaning habits for the rooms. A bad attention to detail that reflects overall on the hotels standards.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We have just stayed at the Mantra on Little Bourke Street this past weekend. Although it is extremely central to the city and trams etc. it is not one of the best hotels I have stayed in although the staff are friendly.

The rooms are generously sized and the bed very comfortable. We had a king bed. My only gripe would be that the bath towels were way past their sell by date as they were grey and very thin and if you are bigger than a size 14 you will not fit in the shower door. The lighting in the room is not fantastic and not helpful that you cannot switch the room light on from the door as you enter. I think the whole hotel needs a revamp it is rather tired.

The restaurant downstairs did not seem to be open very often but there are loads of fabulous places around to get a coffee or food.

On the whole not bad and was good value as we had a flight and hotel package. We would certainly look at staying here again for just a weekend if we could get the same deal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I booked one night at the Mantra as a gift to my partner (we live in the melbourne suburbs). We stayed in the executive suite with King Size bed. The room was surprisingly spacious and very clean. We didn’t spend a lot of time in the room, instead spending most of the evening on hardware lane which is very close by with lots of lovely restaurants and bars.
The service we received was excellent. The girl at check-in was exceptionally friendly and helpful (it was my first time booking a hotel!) and explained as part of the package I bought we would be entitled to two-for-one breakfast, which I was advised could be had as room service. At check-out a different staff member advised this wasn’t the case and had a bit of an attitude about not being able to do anything. This left me with a pretty bad impression of the hotel after having been so happy with all other aspects.
I left some feedback on the mantra website and was promptly contacted by a manager, Andre, who was incredibly kind and helpful, sympathised with my position and even offered to provide a refund for the breakfast.
All in all, I was very happy with my stay. Good location, nice affordable rooms, and as it turns out, service that goes above and beyond!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the mantra on little bourke street for a long weekend in late april. Everything within the cbd is within walking distance, including hardware lane where there were plenty of great brunch places. The rooms were huge, and look to have been renovated at some stage, but the rooms could be at risk of looking tired in the coming years. The wifi was extortionately priced which was a turn-off, otherwise an easly base for a great melbourne weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Launceston, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

It was our first stay at the Mantra and we were very pleasantly surprised.
Room was lovely, lighting a little bit poor, but bed beautiful and comfortable.
Very clean, staff pleasant, good position. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great stay and very helpful staff. We asked the concierge to print our boarding passes for our flight and it was done efficiently with a smile. He also kindly booked our taxi for the next morning. Great location for shopping, eating, and getting around. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mantra on Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Little Bourke

Address: 471 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Little Bourke 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mantra on Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On Little Bourke Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Little Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.