We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location! Average rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Little Bourke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on Little Bourke to your Saves list
Mantra on Little Bourke
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   471 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best location! Average rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011 via mobile

This is a fantastic spot for Melb. Close to everything, shops, restaurants, Melb laneway life, Brunswick St, St Kilda however rooms are dark and oddly set up. Our adjoining room, did not adjoin and the air con did not work for first 24 hrs of our visit.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaVerosaari, General Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip advisor. We are disappointed to hear that our room set up did not meet you expectations. I understand you experienced some problems with your room temperature on first day, but this was corrected during your stay. Thank you again for you feedback.
Kind Regards
Mika Verosaari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    176
    65
    20
    9
See reviews for
61
91
19
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed here in September while vacationing for a few days and we were very happy. It was my first time visiting Melbourne and was far enough away from the busy streets but close enough to everything. With a map in hand I easily found restaurants, shops and all attractions we wanted to visit. It is a short stroll (less than 5 minutes) to trams that took us everywhere and also Queen Victoria Markets. After such a great experience we have already booked to stay there again in January for the Australian Open.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaVerosaari, General Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
Dear Stacey Q,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay at Mantra on Little Bourke. I’m glad you took full advantage on our great location.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in January.

Kind Regards,
Mika Verosaari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I am very disappointed at the service at this hotel. It is now almost 4 pm and I am still waiting for my room to be serviced so I can get fresh towels and have my bed made. The worst thing is that I had to ring reception to request for my room to be cleaned. It that was bad enough, the young lady that took the phone call was snooty.

So what else is wrong with the hotel? The bed. I had an executive suite and the king sized bed was terrible. I could feel the springs in my mattress and hear them squeak whenever I turned in bed.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaVerosaari, General Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this review, November 20, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I’m disappointed to hear about lack of service you received during your stay. I’m pleased that you have broad this to our attention, as the best way for us to improve our services.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards

Mika Verosaari
General Manager
Mantra on Little Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannum
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

Great apartments that would cater well to traveling families with adjoining rooms. Tidy, with large bedrooms, bathroom and living area. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaVerosaari, General Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this review, October 29, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on recent stay at Mantra on Little Bourke.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed spacious apartments and looking forward to seeing you back soon.
Kind Regards,
Mika Verosaari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed here as we needed a two bedroom apartment, what we actually had was two suites joined with a common entrance hallway, two living areas, two bathrooms and two bedrooms, just massive space, but nice when travelling with family. The location is a little away from Bourke St Mall, and at the other end of Little Bourke St to chinatown, but easy walking and fabulous laneways along the way. I think it was Hardware Lane that had so many cafes etc just a couple of blocks from the hotel. We had dinner and breakfast at the hotel restaurant once and had no complaints, just standard sort of cafe food, but really good service from friendly staff. Valet parking no problems, however we did just park the car and leave it there until we left. We booked this at a fabulous rate and would definitely be back next time we need an apartment style hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaVerosaari, General Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this review, October 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Mantra on Little Bourke. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of our dual apartment’s option.

Thank you again for your kind words and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Best Regards

Mika Verosaari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

Stayed for two nights over a weekend. The room was spacious, kitchen had everything we needed. The place was fully booked so there was a bit of noise from other guests but it wasn't too bad. The location is perfect, close to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaVerosaari, General Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
Thank you for your feedback via Tripadvisor. We are glad that we have been able to meet your expectations regarding your stay and look forward to seeing you back soon
Kind Regards
Mika Verosaari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

I stayed at the Mantra for a work conference earlier this year. The location is very central and it only takes 5-10mins to walk into the heart of the city. The rooms were nice and clean and I had a kingsize bed. I didnt eat at the hotel resturant as it didnt look very enticing. I did however order room service one night which was a yummy chicken burger.

It was freezing when I stayed there and was very disapointed that all guests dont have access to a gym and pool. I hated not being able to excercise especially since I was there for work I would have excercised every night. It appears you can only gain access to the gym if your on the penthouse level. Bummer!

All and all it was a nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaVerosaari, General Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
As we continually endeavour to surpass our guest’s expectations, we are very happy that we have met yours. Your kind words will be passed onto our staff
Our gym is indeed on the Residents Penthouse floor, however available for all guests via lift from the 10th floor to utilize throughout their stay
Thank you again
Mika Verosaari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Little Bourke

Address: 471 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Little Bourke 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Little Bourke Melbourne is truly Melbourne's best kept secret. Centrally located in Melbourne's CBD it allows guests quick and easy access to premium local attractions including boutique shopping, famous restaurant strips and a host of cultural experiences including the Melbourne Art gallery, Melbourne Museum and the landmark Federation Square. Offering a choice of spacious accommodation ranging from Studio Suites to Two Bedroom Apartments, Mantra on Little Bourke boasts all the comforts of home including lounge and dining areas, kitchenettes, cable TV, in-house movies and air conditioning. Guests also benefit from a host of helpful hotel services such as 24 hour reception and room service, daily housekeeping, concierge assistance, valet service, undercover parking and more. Alibi Kitchen & Bar is located downstairs in the hotel and offers exceptional food and service. Open seven days for breakfast and dinner and for lunch Monday to Friday. Corporate travellers will find the hotel a comfortable and convenient base from which to conduct business. Universally famous for multicultural dining, vibrant night-life, boutique shopping and a thriving art culture, Melbourne is a popular destination, appealing to both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mantra on Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On Little Bourke Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Little Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.