We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could of been better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on Little Bourke

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra on Little Bourke to your Saves list
Mantra on Little Bourke
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   471 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good but could of been better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed here in adjoining rooms with family. Family rooms were very large with a partition which was very handy to put a toddler down in her cot. Nice king size beds. Poor lighting. We also looked straight into an office building, which is fine, but be aware it made the room extremely dark. Excellent kitchen facilities. Not many TV channels. Large bathroom was good. Large hand basin and bath. Small shower. 2 hooks broken so not much hanging space. No phone numbers on phone so made it tricky ringing reception etc. We had a few miscommunications with housekeeping and reception (in the day- night was excellent) that was more trouble than it should of been. Great location if you don't mind walking a bit. Hilly for walking and a little away from trams. Good food and shops close by. Movida is next door and served food quicky and early for families (and is consistently great).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaVerosaari, General Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Mantra on Little Bourke.
I am happy that you found our Hotel spacious and convenient. As we strive to excel in our guest services, we are disappointed that there had been miscommunication between our departments. We apologise for any inconvenience caused and have taken all your comments on board to better our services and facilities.
We look forward to welcoming back in the near future.
Kind Regards
Mika Verosaari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    209
    75
    21
    9
See reviews for
76
107
23
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Hotel was fantastic - we were upgraded on check in to a more spacious corner room as we were staying for longer than a few days - staff extremely friendly and helpful - would definitely recommend as a quiet but central place to stay. Restaurants all close by.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaVerosaari, General Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this review, September 27, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay at Mantra on Little Bourke. We were pleased to note that you had enjoyed your stay and that found our team friendly and helpful, it’s always a great to receive positive feedback. Your comments will be shared with all of our team.

We hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards

Mika Verosaari
General Manager
Mantra on Little Bourke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We are a family of 6 and got a 2-bedroom "suite" which was actually 2 connecting studio units. The rooms are very spacious and the kids really appreciated the space to move and play around in (the parents appreciated the space to relax, too). The location is excellent, with plenty of great restaurants and cafes around the vicinity. Chinatown is 3 blocks away and the major shopping area is 2 blocks away. Loved the variety of great restaurants around the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaVerosaari, General Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this review, August 14, 2011
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us here at Mantra on Little Bourke. I am pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your recent stay with us. It’s always pleasing to hear that our guests took advantage of our hotels ideal location, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,

Mika Verosaari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Nice and close to the city, good lay out of room with separate bedroom area, two televisions and great kitchen area

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaVerosaari, General Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. The team at Mantra on Little Bourke is pleased that we met your expectations and you had a comfortable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Mika Verosaari
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Stayed here with my boyfriend for a few days while he was visiting and I was working in the city. Excellent location, large apartment, clean and very comfortable. Lifts were a bit wonky in that they would often 'jump' a little before settling when it reached each floor and would sometimes pause out of line with the floor. This was a little bit of a hazard but not exceptionally so. Both my partner and I had a lot of trouble getting reception for out internet dongles in the room.

The restaurant was being renovated when I was there so there was a bit of noise and fumes in the lobby, but it looked like the restaurant would be lovely when completed. However this is completely incidental since the location places it next to excellent dining options include Movida Aqui which is right next door and exceptional.

My partner checked out while I was at work and reception was quite happy to store my bag until I could pick it up after work.

Overall, a clean, large apartment with exception positioning in the city. Close to restaurants and shops. Not noisy at night. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaVerosaari, General Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind words. Unfortunately our restaurant was indeed closed during your stay, however I am very happy to announce that our newly renovated ‘Alibi Kitchen and Bar’ is open for business!
I’m also pleased to tell you that, as of October all our rooms will have WIFI accessibility.
Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back in the near future
Thank you and Regards
Mika Verosaari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

Nice hotel in a quiet location. We had a lovely room tucked away in a corner (possibly because I requested in advance for a quiet room on a high floor). Condition of the room was good and it was very spacious, with a living-dining area separated from the beds as well as a small kitchenette. Lighting was a little on the dim side but alright. Bathroom was nice and clean and the lemongrass scent of the comlimentary toiletries was wonderful. Hotel cafe was undergoing renovations, so we had breakfast delivered to the room. Staff were friendly and helpful. Internet kiosk and printer available at the lobby area at $1 per 10 minutes and 20 cents per page. Chinatown and Swanston Street were just a short walk away. Our family of 2 adults and 2 children enjoyed the stay and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaVerosaari, General Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor, as we strive to exceed our guests expectations we rely on all our guests feedback to continue and improve our services.
Our newly renovated ‘Alibi Kitchen and Bar’ re-opened in August and I can confidently say it has been a great success thus far.
I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon
Thank you and Regards,
Mika Verosaari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed here for a girls weekend in July. We stayed in a 2 bedroom connecting rooms. This was great as we had 2 bathrooms, 2 kitchens and 2 family rooms.
We couldn't fault the hotel and enjoyed every minute of it. The location is great and we could walk within 5mins to the cbd.
Great place to stay for a family or girls weekend. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikaVerosaari, General Manager at Mantra on Little Bourke, responded to this review, October 2, 2011
Thank you for your post on Tripadvisor. It is great to hear that our hotel and services met your expectations.
We look forward to seeing you again soon
Kind Regards
Mika Verosaari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mantra on Little Bourke? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on Little Bourke

Address: 471 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on Little Bourke 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on Little Bourke Melbourne is truly Melbourne's best kept secret. Centrally located in Melbourne's CBD it allows guests quick, easy access to premium local attractions including boutique shopping, famous eat streets and a host of cultural experiences including the Melbourne Art gallery, Melbourne Museum and the landmark Federation Square. Offering a choice of spacious accommodation ranging from studio suites to two bedroom apartments, Mantra on Little Bourke boasts all the comforts of home including lounge and dining areas, kitchenettes, cable TV, in-house movies and air conditioning. Please note Mantra on Little Bourke has limited suites available with washing machines & dryers. Requests can be made at time of reservation, but cannot be guaranteed. Guests also benefit from a host of helpful hotel services such as 24 hour reception and room service, daily housekeeping, concierge assistance, valet service, undercover parking and more. Alibi Kitchen & Bar is located downstairs in Mantra on Little Bourke and offers exceptional food and service. Open seven days for breakfast and dinner and for lunch Monday to Friday. Corporate travellers will find Mantra on Little Bourke a comfortable and convenient base from which to conduct business. Universally famous for multicultural dining, vibrant night-life, boutique shopping and a thriving art culture, Melbourne is a popular destination, appealing to both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Mantra on Little Bourke reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On Little Bourke Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On Little Bourke Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mantra on Little Bourke, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.