We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pullman Melbourne Albert Park

Save Saved
You added Pullman Melbourne Albert Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pullman Melbourne Albert Park
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Queens Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Sebel )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early booking offer
Ranked #44 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Ok stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We have spent 3 nights in tower 1 room as my girlfriend was attentding a business conference.

From the reception, the hotel looks trendy and well decorated. Same impression when we opened the door of our room.

So in general, it looks good.... But scratching a little deeper, world is not as rosy:
- tired lift... (that is fine, not spending the night there)
- lack of water pressure in the bathroom
- Air vent just in front of my face in the bathroom (and it hasn't been cleaned for a while)
- room was noisy. We could here the motorway (double glazing would have been a must)

The staff was very friendly and helpful (you can buy the tram ticket from the reception).

The hotel is located close to nice restaurants. The tram stop is just behind the hotel and it is very convient to get to the CBD (20 mins).

I don't think we will be returning to the hotel, unless much cheaper than any others located in the CBD

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelCitigateAP, General Manager at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for your review on your stay at The Sebel & Citigate Albert Park. I was very disappointed to hear that there were a number of issues that affected your overall experience with us, however I am glad to hear our staff were very friendly and helpful during your stay.

Thanks again, and we hope to be provided with another opportunity to welcome you back to The Sebel & Citigate Albert Park Melbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    257
    114
    53
    34
See reviews for
102
215
41
263
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Could not have asked for more. Service at all the places (reception, restaurant, hose keeping.....) were very good. Food was excellent. Room was clean and spacious. Very good location. Overall very good experience.
So many visits to Melbourne in the past 4 years and I curse myself for not choosing this hotel in the past.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel as we were attending the Grand Prix Out hotel room was spacious and comfortable. All staff were very helpful and friendly. The Friday and Saturday night seafood buffet is a must!! The whole experience was a very pleasant surprise. Returning customers for sure!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

The most pleasing aspect at this hotel, which made our experience enjoyable, was the people who work within it!!! We booked over the web direct with the hotel in September 2011- easy process. One month before arrival we received a phonecall from Trish who was so kind, welcoming and polite and processed the deposit payment. This was our first trip to Melbourne and we planned it to coincide with the March 2012 Grand Prix. As we wanted to experience all that is Grand Prix at Albert Park,we chose this hotel and the Excutive King Lakeview Room because of its location (right across the road from the Lake and track). Everyone from Sebel were so nice and professional. Vaughan at Concierge was at our car before we could step out of it and he took care of our luggage. Bronwyn checked us in quickly and efficiently and took care of our dinner reservation too.

Our room was spacious (exactly as shown in the hotel photos) and it was clean on arrival and serviced by Housekeeping daily. The room had a mini fridge stocked of mini bar items and a tea and coffee making facilities (which did not include a toaster). Room Service was delivered by a cheerful and professional staff member.

On our 3rd day,we noticed a decline in the TV reception, We mentioned it to Andy and he promptly advised Tuan and his maintenance team that our TV reception was fuzzy (interference from next door - all sorted quickly). Tuan was amazing -he quickly got our reception and channels back but didn't settle until the TV reception was at optimum. We were able to purchase Tram metcards from Concierge. Also at Concierge was the ability to complete online airline checkin and print boarding passes. Concierge staff were so friendly and every time we passed by the lobby, they always smiled, asked us how we were doing and if they could assist us in any way. Kim activated our late checkout request (cost was $25 per hour no part thereof) and the next day also processed our check out so quickly and efficiently too. The Staff at Windows restaurant were amazing making us feel important (the meals were good value, presented well and so very tasty). We felt spoilt during our entire trip.

When we weren't at the Grand Prix event or eating at the hotel restaurant (Windows) we were boarding a tram on St Kilda Road and heading to the CBD, Prahran, Richmond etc. The trams ran frequently and on the Grand Prix days there were extra staff from Yarra Trams at all the stops on Swanston St and St Kilda Road assisting people and ensuring every one and everything continued to run smoothly during such a busy time.The St Kilda/High St tram stop is about 200 metres from The Sebel.

If we return for the Grand Prix again, we will have no hesitation in booking to stay at The Sebl and will recommend it to family and friends.

We had our own wireless internet connection but for those who don't it's important to note that this hotel didn't offer free internet - there were about 8 computers in the foyer for public access at a cost of $8 for 30 minutes. There is highspeed broadband available in the rooms but in order to access it you need to purchase an internet package from Reception. Federation Square in Flinders Street is the largest wi-fi hotspot - so that's another option to consider or when out and about in the cbd there are a number of internet cafes which may offer better deals.

Room Tip: Executive King Lakeview room - guaranteed a room on top 2 floors (8 &9) on the Queens Way side o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

The staff at this hotel were courteous polite and helpful at all times which makes any stay more pleasurable. We were given a room on the rear of the hotel which we like because it was quiet (the front could be noisy), spacious, well equipped and clean.
Breakfast was comparatively expensive but there are several cafes etc. within a fifteen minute walk if you prefer.
The tram stop for the city (CBD) was a two minute walk from the hotel, and Albert park is right opposite.
Would use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Room at the rear could be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012

We had a work event for the night so I decided to take advantage and stay the night with my wife. I found a great deal on the website offering valet parking and buffet breakfast for 2 which I'm still talking about but will get into that shortly. Staff were friendly and always smiling which I liked, our room was spacious, clean, modern and even offered a sofa couch. We had a good night sleep on the comfortable bed and impressed with thick drapes which blocked the morning sun. I was really looking forward to the buffet breakfast and couldn't wait to grab a plate. With so much variety to choose from like eggs, toast, mushrooms, beans, croissants, pan cakes, fruits, yoghurt, juice, cereal and so much more. All I can say is you will be happy and won't need to have lunch. On our checkout we had a very happy concierge ask us if we needed any assistance and he organised to pick up our car from Valet. Had a great night and want to thank all the team at the Sebel. Another thing to mention......I even had the General Manager ( Craig ) help us get a great deal for our 3 night stay at The Sebel in Cairns in May for our anniversary. Thanks Craig.

Room Tip: All rooms would be great just depending if you want to have the view of Albert Park which didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelCitigateAP, General Manager at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you very much for your comments and we are glad to know that you enjoyed your time at The Sebel & Citigate Albert Park Melbourne. Your comments regarding the breakfast buffet will be shared with my food and beverage team, as I know they take pride in the quality, variety and presentation of the buffet and enjoy receiving feedback from our guests.

It was my pleasure to help you with accommodation at The Sebel Cairns, I hope you enjoy your stay there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

I've just stayed in this hotel for the first time since the late 70s, when it was an entirely different establishment). I was underwhelmed but I'm struggling to know exactly why. My room was recently refurbished, reasonably spacious and comfortable. There was excellent desk space and more than adequate lighting. The public areas are modern (though refurbished) and reasonably stylish. Front desk staff were efficient and courteous. Yet I feel a little negative overall aqbout this hotel.

So what didn't work for me. Just lots of niggly little things....

Firstly, soundproofing between rooms is poor. The couple next door seemed to be having a lovely night together, but I was certainly getting too much information about it for far too long into the evening!

Due to poor planning on my part (undoubtedly), I had to participate in a teleconference which ran from 9pm to around 10pm. I could not help but wonder how much confidential business information was being shared through the somewhat porous walls.

The bed was not all that comfortable. It wasn't uncormfortable but I did not get a good night's sleep in it.

The shower was in the bath - something I hate. The toiletries supplied were mediocre. Oh - and the TV took far too long to move between channels (5 to 10 secs each time...)

I was short of time, so ate in the hotel's restaurant, Windows. Ambience and service were excellent. The food choice however was fairly limited and the portions were small enough to be considered mean. That was a pity really - the food, quality of cooking and presentation and the attentiveness and professionalism of staff were all excellent.

Overall, the Sebel left me vaguely dissatisfied. There's a lot to like about the hotel - location (especially if you have business round the middle of St Kilda Rd), gym, indoor pool, pleasant and efficient staff - so they really need to remove the irritations that really wrankle on a hectic business trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SebelCitigateAP, General Manager at Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review The Sebel & Citigate Albert Park. I am disappointed to hear that your experience has fallen well short of what we strive to aim throughout the hotel. We hope you choose to stay at The Sebel & Citigate Albert Park again in the near future, so we can provide you with the service and experience all our guests deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pullman Melbourne Albert Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman Melbourne Albert Park

Address: 65 Queens Road, Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Sebel )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Melbourne
#23 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#38 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#41 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pullman Melbourne Albert Park 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pullman Melbourne Albert Park is located opposite Albert Park Lake, just minutes from Melbourne’s CBD and St Kilda’s beaches. The hotel offers 379 spacious guest rooms featuring LCD TV's, on demand movies, satellite television and internet access, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, mini-bar as well as tea & coffee making facilities. The hotel also features a gymnasium, indoor pool, spa and sauna as well as three dining outlets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Pullman Melbourne Albert Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sebel & Citigate Albert Park Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
The Sebel And Citigate Albert Park Melbourne
Sebel Albert Park Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pullman Melbourne Albert Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.