We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but... not more than that” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview on the Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview on the Park to your Saves list
Bayview on the Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Queens Rd., Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #120 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice but... not more than that”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is the hotel our company sends their guests to. Probably because we are used to or may be, because it was once a better hotel.
The rooms are regular and not as comfortable as a business traveler will look for. Not enough electricity sockets, no internet logical port (in my room it is next to the bed...) and the cost of the internet is outrageous! 18 AU $ / 24 hours...

Room Tip: I was in room 311 and asked to change room because there was a terrible noise in the room each time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    192
    154
    55
    71
See reviews for
68
170
46
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

located near a lovely park and not too far from st kilda beach. easy tram journey to city center. the room was clean and all the facilities were great for the price but the highlight was the reception staff who really helped us out when we were rushing to a wedding. thank you so much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at Bayview for 2 weeks over Christmas. The decision to stay there was based on reviews, cost and location. Our room, which overlooked the park was large, comfortable and clean. The bathroom needed updating, and some of the furniture was showing signs of wear and tear. However, the star rating and cost was a fair indication of this being the case. The best asset for this hotel is it's staff, who were unfailingly friendly, helpful and accommodating. We made a couple of requests which could have been politely refused but were instantly and efficiently dealt with.The tram service is brilliant in Melbourne. We bought a weekly ticket for a set amount and used the trams as much as we liked without having to think about cost. Tickets are not available on the trams so buy from a local 7/11, some tram stops and stations. It was much cheaper to add tram costs to the hotel bill than to pay for a city centre hotel, and a central hotel would not have the view we had from our room. If we stay in Melbourne in again, we will definitely use Bayview on the Park.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Premier Queen room on the 5th floor. There was no noise from within the hotel or from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I would like to express my dissatisfaction at the experience I had at a recent stay at Bayview on the Park.
It was booked at least 3 weeks in advance, yet we received a phone call in the afternoon of the day we were checking in to advise that the package deal we had booked was not valid and that package was no longer run and should not have been advertised on the website, and that the movie ticket would not be provided, even though that was included in the price of the booking.
Further once we checked in to the hotel, we were advised that the package was actually only not valid for the night (being New Years) and that usually it is available. Further we then discovered that the pool and spa were closed at 7pm, although the advertised time is 11pm - and every other night it is open until 11pm. This then also meant that the cocktail bar (from which we had complimentary drinks with the package) was not open, so not only did we not get the movie tickets we paid for, but also did not get the drinks that were in the package.
The parking was terrible and only one space was available when we parked, and the front desk also tried to make us pay for that, even though our deal included parking.
We were very disappointed for the service.
Also there is still $100 pending on my credit card from the initial check in. This should have been cancelled the day we checked out.

Very old hotel, don't be fooled by the flash reception.

Only redeeming feature was the buffet breakfast - which was good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Lovely and quiet, and while the room was not the latest trendy style it was every bit as comfortable and actually a better sleep than a $391 5 star we stayed in a bit later in our holiday!
Staff were efficient and friendly
If I really wanted to be picky the only drawback is that the car has to be parked a considerable distance away, albeit in a secure park, so with the slow lifts its a 10 minute trip if you forget something!!
For the $99 Wotif special it was by far and away the best deal of our trip. Next time we need to stay in Melbourne we will be back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham, victoria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Old property that needs major work done in the rooms. Stayed in feb for 1 night. Cheap self parking and breakie but basic buffet. Restaurant staff friendly and helpful and great location.purchased a package and felt like I was walking the checkin staff through my checkin, ie. Advising what we purchased, where the restaurant was, breakfast times, pool. Maybe I just expect a lot from hotels but it didn't live up to my expectation. Would stay at Eden on the Park or Sebel on the same strip.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We picked this hotel off of the internet because of the location and room rate. I think this property is good value for money.
The staff were great in every way and as good as any 5 star hotel that I have stayed in!
We loved the spa but the 'heated pool' was quite cold. The room was comfortable but 1 of our beds sagged in the middle. The hotel is rated 4 star but due to its dated furnishings I would rate it 3 to 3.5 stars.
We would stay there again.
More attention to the general clenliness of the out door areas, bins not emptied in the car park so rubbish was everywhere and the towel trolley in the gym/ pool area needs to be changed on a more regular basis.
Overall we were happy for the price we paid.

Room Tip: We had a pool view room on the first floor, the r.oom was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bayview on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview on the Park

Address: 52 Queens Rd., Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#95 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview on the Park 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview On The Park is situated on Queens Road opposite Albert Park Lake and Golf Course and is in the heart of Melbourne's St Kilda Road business district. Melbourne's city centre, South Yarra shopping area, Crown Entertainment Complex, St Kilda Esplanade and Port Phillip Bay are all only a short tram ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bayview on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Bayview On The Park Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview on the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.