We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to the 70's” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bayview on the Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bayview on the Park to your Saves list
Bayview on the Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   52 Queens Rd., Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #126 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Back to the 70's”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

had one night here on way back to Sydney. whilst the foyer has been renovated, at least as far as the second floor is concerned that is where they stopped. The walls in the hallway either had pieces out of it or had been filled but not painted over. the skrting boards were coming away. whilst the room was clean it was very old and dark. the bathroom was the same. the bed sagged on one side where someone must have jumped on it. the dedside light switch was missing. the shower had no screen only a curtain. the base of the shower was a metal strip running around the tile. whilst it was a room that was obtained on the internet it was very old and outdated. hopefully other rooms on other floors have been modernised

Room Tip: ask for a room higher up in building and maybe facing golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    204
    178
    64
    80
See reviews for
77
194
49
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

My husband and I required last minute overnight accommodation in melbourne and as many places were booked out or required minimum 2 nights Bayviews website was deceiving and offered views over the park and bay for very cheap rate. Our view - lovely - the car park.
The foyer and reception were acceptable but even though I knew we had paid for "standard twin" was not prepared for the less than 3 star quality of room , bathroom especially. What hotels still have shower curtains!! Rooms very noisy. Can hear everything in corridors and other rooms at 5 pm . What will it be like late in evening? Band playing at function !!!

Room Tip: Ask to see a picture of room and bathroom and request one on top levels at front .!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed in the hotel 3 nights in October, and were given a front room overlooking Albert Park (F1 fans)!! It was brilliant to sit by a huge wall completely made of glass...looking over the park. The facilities were modern and very clean with comfy beds and plenty of space. Equivalent to a 4* hotel...but only just. Photos hopefully to follow

Room Tip: Ask for a front room overlooking the park 3 floors up or more...excellent to sit and relax watching...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We checked in on a premier room, a standard double and a standard twin room for 2 nites. ALL rooms are in such a terrible state and the mattress sinked in the middle. The rooms were so dark even with all the lights on. the bathrooms were worst than that of a public toilets. The snacks on the bar was EXPIRED!! The coffee and tea organiser are full of dust. Service are really bad. for the 2 days stay, each time we tried to call the housekeeping, no one ever answer the call and the front desk lady was not honest with the money as we pay in cash. If you decided to pay in cash, please make sure you confirm and reconfirm the amount that they received. For a four star hotel, this one definately cannot make it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Haven't tried the restaurant, so I cannot attest to the quality of the food. What I can say is;

- Room is terrible. Sets off my asthma and allergies more than being outside on the 5 lane highway in rush hour.
Fittings are iffy - bathroom hand-towel rail falls out every time I try to dry my hands.
Room is tiny - much smaller than equivalently priced rooms in New Zealand. I can't say for sure if this is just this hotel, or more common in Australia.
Chipped paint on the doors / wood panelling etc. Have seen this on other doors in the hallways also.
Some of the food on the minibar has a visible expiry date of early August 2011 (it's now late October 2011).
One free powerpoint.
In-Hotel Internet access is expensive ($18AUD per night - not sure if there are data caps) - considerably cheaper to buy a prepaid mobile SIM card from Telstra and charge it with $40 credit and 1.5G 3G data, and use as a wifi hotspot.
Surprising amount of street noise even on the third floor on the side that's not on the highway.

- The biggest problem though is that the staff service is appalling.
Initially there was some confusion over reservation credit card authority from my company (they do not charge the credit card until the guest arrives and expect you to have it on you - not sure how many companies do this, but mine sure doesn't), which could have been dealt with much much better than it was. Instead, staff were incredibly nonchalant about whole affair - they couldn't care less, with no apologies and no attempt made whatsoever to improve the situation even after having to pay myself for a couple of nights and a bond. Was told I could have a refund immediately upon receiving a new authority - but neglected to inform me that they actually meant a) when I checked out, and b) the money would not go through for 5 days. Will have to eat the currency conversion I expect.
Also a bit lax - I've had to pay a couple of nights of bond + room fees, and have had to make sure they've reactivated my card after getting back to my room and finding it locked in spite of having just paid.
Email authorisation sent received by hotel at 8:23am (at email address originally provided for said authority) was not noticed - had to have a conversation and forward it again. (And make sure my room was unlocked again, so that I could even get to my passport and computer.)

In favour of the hotel I will say that the room service / restaurant menu, while very expensive - does have gluten free and vegetarian options for those who require these diets.

Room Tip: For the love of all you hold dear - pick a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

stayed there for business at the start of Septemeber, and whilst it is reasonably clean the decor and furnishings are very dated

we arrived lat on Sunday and headed around the road for dinner, however by the time we returned @ 9:30 the bar was shut

the rooms picked up a lot of noice from the halway and adjoining rooms, and the aircon also had an annoying rattle in the vent

we were staying for the week and didn't eat dinner in the restaurant, however we did have breakfast included that offered the same options every day which became a little tiresome

all in all i would look elsewhere next time

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bairnsdale, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We arrived at this hotel and from the moment we check in we were greeted with a very surly gentleman (very loosely).
Once we parked in a car park designed for a mini cooper we were then confronted with rubbish all over the stairwell and carpark.we got to our room (which was a suite - supposedly) only to find the bath so small and old (my partner 6ft) could not stand up in the shower. The room was so shabby (faded furniture, grotty tiles). Our supposedly poolview was of the aircon units and carpark (well I suppose there was water dripping out of them so maybe that was the poolview).
One good thing I can say was the restaurant - great service, great food.
We have just had a discrepancy on the credit card so I rang to query this and was told 'I do not have time for this' and promptly hung up on (maybe it was the surly reception staff)
I would really advise to think long and hard before you stay at this hotel !!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayview on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview on the Park

Address: 52 Queens Rd., Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#102 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bayview on the Park 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bayview On The Park is situated on Queens Road opposite Albert Park Lake and Golf Course and is in the heart of Melbourne's St Kilda Road business district. Melbourne's city centre, South Yarra shopping area, Crown Entertainment Complex, St Kilda Esplanade and Port Phillip Bay are all only a short tram ride away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Bayview on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayview On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Bayview On The Park Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayview on the Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.