We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the heart of the city but bring your earplugs.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Welcome Melbourne to your Saves list
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great location in the heart of the city but bring your earplugs.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2010

I stayed at this hotel recently with my husband on a 2 day shopping trip to Melbourne.
This hotel provides you with a small but clean room in an ideal location to explore the Melbourne CBD. It is within walking distance to Chinatown, Myer, GPO and the trams. Lygon st is also not too far, as is many cafes, restaurants and bars.Parking is available for a fee and small toiletries are also provided. (mini soaps & mini shampoo).
My only gripe is that we can hear absolutely everything in the adjoining rooms!
The first night we were there, the people in the room next door, decided to stay up until 4am having wrestling matches with one another. There was a lot of yelling and laughing and banging into walls. We could also hear conversations in the hallway, showers being taken, water running down the pipes in our room, elevator doors opening, and appliances being plugged in. I can't understand how hotels are allowed to be built with just fibro walls instead of brick! My advice: if you are a light sleeper - bring ear plugs!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    1,323
    1,031
    343
    182
See reviews for
539
1,230
463
537
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

Very friendly, efficient and helpful check-in staff. The room we stayed in (room 742) was quite small and the two single beds were also on the small side. You'd struggle if you were much over 6 feet tall. Despite this, the rooms were quite comfortable and clean. The hotel is right in the middle of the city within walking distance of most attractions. TVs have Foxtel channels as well as on demand movies. The best thing about the Mercure Welcome is undoubtedly the price. It is a bargain hotel without the frills but just what we were after for a trip to the Boxing Day Test. Would stay here again and recommend it for an affordable stay in Melbourne. Do not stay here if you are after a luxury hotel or a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

The location of the hotel is perfect as it is easy walking distance to shops, transport and restaurants. The rooms were clean and well maintained. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Due to all of these factors we found the hotel to be great value for many and would highly recommend the hotel for a business or leisure stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

I was in Melbourne for only one night and needed clean, comfortable, central and affordable accommodation. Mecure Welcome was perfect! The staff were extremely polite and helpful (young man on Concierge desk on morning of 6 Dec 09 handled my requests so efficiently, and his customer service skills were excellent).

Our room was large and the bed was so deliciously comfortable! Cleanliness was of an excellent standard.

The food I had whilst there was hot and tasty, and a hop-skip-jump down the road was Chinatown!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

This was my first stay at this hotel & i must say i was pleasantly surprise by the general ambience.

I landed very late at Melbourne & was not sure if i will find anybody at the reception but staffs were not only very courteous but also very helpfull.

Room was absolutely cleaned & ready for my stay with good communication networking.

Mini bar was properly stocked & room service was very efficient.

Location of this hotel is perfect & most of the important destination around CBD is at walking distance.

All in all i will definately stay here again when i visit Melbourne next.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

Having read recent reviews with regards to this hotel I can't understand why the stale smell of the carpets has not been mentioned. Downstairs in the reception area and attached coffee house it smells very much like the carpets have become really wet recently and have not been dried out propery. (Flooded?)
Up on the floors the smell is no better. By the way if you suffer from claustrophobia avoid this hotel. The rooms are very small.
I have to say however, that the staff were very good and very helpful. Apart from, that is, a security guard in the attached coffee shop/cafe that had a go at my wife who, after a very long flight, happened to close her eyes, whilst sitting in the premises. She was approached and told that 'Sleeping was not allowed' !!!
The previous comments with regards the location are correct. Right in the middle of town. If the location is right for you it might warrant some further research on nearby hotels until they get the damp smell sorted out.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

The best about the hotel was its location, being near tram stops and within walking distance of other sights, such as Chinatown, Flinders street station etc.

Breakfast was very good offering a wide choice and quantity. I dined out at night so cannot comment on the restaurant service.

I found reception staff very helpful in every way, and they were pretty busy at the times I was there, so a big plus for them !!

The only very slight downside was that the corridors from the lift to the room is decorated in a dull grey colour, a bit depressing when you first encounter it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.0 mi away
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#90 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
#63 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Address: 265 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where the staff go further so you can enjoy your stay. The Mercure Hotel Welcome Melbourne features self and valet parking. Cafes, restaurants and bars are close by and cater to all budgets and tastes and there is an onsite tour and information desk divulging Melbourne's best-kept local secrets. This is great-value accommodation in a great location – shopping precincts and historic theatres are all within walking distance, while sporting venues are a simple tram ride away. This is a 100% non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Welcome Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.