We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Met my needs perfectly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Welcome Melbourne to your Saves list
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   265 - 281 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #101 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Met my needs perfectly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2009

I was in Melbourne for only one night and needed clean, comfortable, central and affordable accommodation. Mecure Welcome was perfect! The staff were extremely polite and helpful (young man on Concierge desk on morning of 6 Dec 09 handled my requests so efficiently, and his customer service skills were excellent).

Our room was large and the bed was so deliciously comfortable! Cleanliness was of an excellent standard.

The food I had whilst there was hot and tasty, and a hop-skip-jump down the road was Chinatown!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    1,181
    954
    317
    164
See reviews for
492
1,120
417
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
gurgaon
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

This was my first stay at this hotel & i must say i was pleasantly surprise by the general ambience.

I landed very late at Melbourne & was not sure if i will find anybody at the reception but staffs were not only very courteous but also very helpfull.

Room was absolutely cleaned & ready for my stay with good communication networking.

Mini bar was properly stocked & room service was very efficient.

Location of this hotel is perfect & most of the important destination around CBD is at walking distance.

All in all i will definately stay here again when i visit Melbourne next.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2009

Having read recent reviews with regards to this hotel I can't understand why the stale smell of the carpets has not been mentioned. Downstairs in the reception area and attached coffee house it smells very much like the carpets have become really wet recently and have not been dried out propery. (Flooded?)
Up on the floors the smell is no better. By the way if you suffer from claustrophobia avoid this hotel. The rooms are very small.
I have to say however, that the staff were very good and very helpful. Apart from, that is, a security guard in the attached coffee shop/cafe that had a go at my wife who, after a very long flight, happened to close her eyes, whilst sitting in the premises. She was approached and told that 'Sleeping was not allowed' !!!
The previous comments with regards the location are correct. Right in the middle of town. If the location is right for you it might warrant some further research on nearby hotels until they get the damp smell sorted out.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2009

The best about the hotel was its location, being near tram stops and within walking distance of other sights, such as Chinatown, Flinders street station etc.

Breakfast was very good offering a wide choice and quantity. I dined out at night so cannot comment on the restaurant service.

I found reception staff very helpful in every way, and they were pretty busy at the times I was there, so a big plus for them !!

The only very slight downside was that the corridors from the lift to the room is decorated in a dull grey colour, a bit depressing when you first encounter it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

The hotel is in a good location, close to Chinatown and Bourke Street Mall but that is the only thing going. Rooms are very tiny, very dated. I couldn't tell you when these rooms have been updated. Drinks expensive. We were there for a reunion and the functions were held at this hotel and the hot food at the cocktail party was cold. For the formal function on the Saturday night they have too many people packed into the room. This hotel needs to be totally rennovated.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

I stayed in the Mecure Welcome for two nights in October. As a frequent visitor of Accor’s Ibis chain, I was looking forward to experiencing the higher level Mecure hotel. What I will say is that this hotel and the Grand Mecure to which it is connect (but should not be confused with) are in an excellent location. You can easily walk throughout the CBD and there are a lot of restaurants in the area to choose from. However, we were really disappointed with the hotel.

The room was small and overlooked a “courtyard” where the HVAC equipment was located. The window also faced all of the other rooms and so you had to keep your blinds drawn for privacy from your neighbors. The room was tired. The TV was antiquated. There were hangers for clothes but no drawers. The refrigerator was so loud that I unplugged it at night so that I could sleep. Parking is available for $15 per day, but a block away and down in the basement of a mall. This means you have to walk a way to get to your car with your bags. The Welcome does not have a gym but you can PAY to use the Grand Mecure’s gym.

In summary, a great location, but a disappointing hotel. There are other hotels in the area by the Accor chain which could be better.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Could not complain.

Great location and worth every cent (and not many of them!!)

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Address: 265 - 281 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where the staff go further so you can enjoy your stay. The Mercure Hotel Welcome Melbourne features self and valet parking. Cafes, restaurants and bars are close by and cater to all budgets and tastes and there is an onsite tour and information desk divulging Melbourne's best-kept local secrets. This is great-value accommodation in a great location – shopping precincts and historic theatres are all within walking distance, while sporting venues are a simple tram ride away. This is a 100% non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Welcome Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.