We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Postion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Welcome Melbourne to your Saves list
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   265 - 281 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Mudgee, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Central Postion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Rooms are quite small but adequate you are only there to sleep. No power points to boil the jug unless you put it on the carpet, had to get extension lead. Light & shelf space in bathroom is poor expecially for shaving.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Owner at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Lynn C,

Thank you for your review.

I have personally addressed your valid concerns to our General Manager for his consideration when we are doing another 3 floor of bathroom refurbishment this year.

WE hope to see you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    443
    1,303
    1,024
    343
    180
See reviews for
537
1,216
460
529
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ballart
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The service by all staff encountered was very courteous and helpful. The room whilst showing its age a little was comfortable and clean. The location was perfect for our needs being central for theatres, shopping and medical facilities.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear Mark S,

Thank you for your great review. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed our fantastic location and that you found our staff to be helpful & courteous.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Smack bang city centre, Swanston & Little Bourke, next door to Bourke Street, DJs, Myers etc. Wonderful location, great concierge, friendly staff, bit faded but doesn't matter. Adequate buffet breakfast, ~$18 if not included. Value for money, took 15-20 mins. walk Rod Laver Arena along the Yarra. Captn Cook's cottage, bit further (Fitzroy Gdns). Easy walk if arriving by train. Highly recommend this hotel (actually two Mercure together, one cheaper, so check). Would return. Had no problems with my room, no smells, no light probs. etc. Small fridge.

Room Tip: inward facing room away from street, but seemed quiet anyway
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi G, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear 4Rob,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed our location & services provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.0 mi away
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#92 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
0.6 mi away
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
#66 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Address: 265 - 281 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where the staff go further so you can enjoy your stay. The Mercure Hotel Welcome Melbourne features self and valet parking. Cafes, restaurants and bars are close by and cater to all budgets and tastes and there is an onsite tour and information desk divulging Melbourne's best-kept local secrets. This is great-value accommodation in a great location – shopping precincts and historic theatres are all within walking distance, while sporting venues are a simple tram ride away. This is a 100% non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR and Venere so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Welcome Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.