We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Welcome Melbourne to your Saves list
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #107 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hotel is in just a perfect location, convenient if you want to have a taste of the heart of Melbourne. Chinatown is also just a footstep away, which is convenient if you want some late night supper after some drinks.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi-GM, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Jackycheng,

Thank you for your review & I am glad that you're making the most of our close proximity to Chinatown & other facilities right in the heart of melbourne CBD.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    1,323
    1,032
    343
    182
See reviews for
539
1,230
463
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

If you are booking a hotel to spend lots of time in your room, forget this hotel. If you are booking it for a bed, clean bathroom, and excellent service from the Concierge and front desk, and price then this hotel is for you. My wife and I stayed for a week. We were only in the hotel to sleep and shower and get changed for the next venue/restaurant/wine tour/exploration. The Concierge staff in particular Chris Pappas, are well versed in places to go and how to get there. They even book everything for you, and nothing was too much trouble. Even got a free bottle of wine on our anniversary night!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi-GM, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Darren,

First thing first, Happy Anniversary to you and your wife.

Thank you for your very thorough review of the hotel. Chris Pappas is one of our star employees and I will be sure to pass on your feedback to him.

Thank you again & we hope to see you both again very soon.

Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay there. The location was AMAZING, I loved being at the heart of the city and close to everything. The beds were really comfy and the bathroom was nice, clean and modern. Staff were lovely too. Highly recommended. The only thing was that the TV wasn't great quality.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi-GM, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear SheSaidTeAmo,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review & your high recommendation. Greatly appreciated.
I will be sure to get our Maintenance Manager to check the setting of the TC.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Very well located hotel in Central CBD at China Town. Rooms are clean and well serviced but modest. I did not try any of the restaurants.
Reception staff and concierge well very friendly and most helpful.
Rate was fare too expensive but was AFL grand final weekend so cant complain.
Would come back again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erdi-GM, Manager at Mercure Welcome Melbourne, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear RealRick,

Thank for your review, as a Senior Reviewer, we appreciate your honest feedback.

During the period of your stay, as it was during the AFL Grand Final which is one of the busiest weekends for the city, hotels in Melbourne were charging special event rates which are considerably higher then their normal day to day rates. Thank you for being so understanding of the spoecial event rates & we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards, Alex Mihardja, Operational Project Manager, Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.0 mi away
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#90 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
#64 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 555 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
#100 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Address: 265 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #107 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where the staff go further so you can enjoy your stay. The Mercure Hotel Welcome Melbourne features self and valet parking. Cafes, restaurants and bars are close by and cater to all budgets and tastes and there is an onsite tour and information desk divulging Melbourne's best-kept local secrets. This is great-value accommodation in a great location – shopping precincts and historic theatres are all within walking distance, while sporting venues are a simple tram ride away. This is a 100% non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Welcome Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.