We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Normal room, perfect location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Welcome Melbourne to your Saves list
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #106 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Normal room, perfect location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of downtown, giving you access to a lively neighborhood 24/7. It's also very close to China town, so if you fancy some dim sum breakfast, this is the hotel for you.

The hotel is not on the main street so the noise level was reasonable. The room size was pretty standard.

All in all, nothing amazing about the service or the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    1,321
    1,030
    343
    182
See reviews for
539
1,226
463
537
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I have recently been travelling regularly to Melbourne for business. I usually stay at an Accor hotel and usually I have nothing but praise for the hotels I stay at.
Unfortunately, at my most recent stay at the Welcome, I was given a room that smelt like a smoking den. I left the a/c on for the 3 days I was there, and by the 3rd day, the smell was only just dissipating. In addition, I had "neighbours" that opened and shut their door every hour. Very noisy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The only down side was there was only one lift working as they were doing work on the other. My room was next to the lift well and they started working on it before 7am on week days - if I was there on holidays I wouldn't have been impressed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Our family stayed at Mercure Welcome hotel during our holiday in Melbourne from 9 to 12 June 2013. Prior to the trip, we did some research on the hotel's location and access to the shopping area around it, and also got some reviews of the hotel. We were extremely happy when we reached the hotel and found that Chinatown is just a traffic light away!

The hotel is conveniently located in the heart of the central Melbourne, and walking to the Flinders Street station is just 10 mins where we took the free city tram ride around the city! Adjoining to this hotel is the Grand Mercure Swanston hotel, and we exit and enter from this lobby daily. There are many eateries and shops on both left and right side of this door, in fact the duty-free shop is located on the right of this door.

We were delighted that porridge is served daily at the buffet breakfast counter. The food is replenished quickly once it is running low, and bacon and hashbrown are yummy. Somehow, the cinnamon raisin loaf thick slice is very tasty.

Rooms are slightly smaller, compared to those hotel which we have stayed previously. However, for tourists who are out most of the time for sightseeing, the rooms are neat and sufficient for a comfortable rest.

After checking out from the hotel, we strolled around and realised that David Jones and Meyer is just next door to the hotel. And the mini mart is located just opposite the hotel.

It was truly a very delightful stay for our family, we can probably come to Melbourne again and explore on our own and stay at Mercure Welcome again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.0 mi away
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
0.2 mi away
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#90 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
0.6 mi away
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
#63 of 158 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Melbourne Therry Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Address: 265 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #106 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where the staff go further so you can enjoy your stay. The Mercure Hotel Welcome Melbourne features self and valet parking. Cafes, restaurants and bars are close by and cater to all budgets and tastes and there is an onsite tour and information desk divulging Melbourne's best-kept local secrets. This is great-value accommodation in a great location – shopping precincts and historic theatres are all within walking distance, while sporting venues are a simple tram ride away. This is a 100% non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Welcome Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.