We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Welcome Melbourne to your Saves list
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   265 - 281 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booker
Ranked #102 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth
1 review
“Fantastic service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Excellent service in this very central and easy to find hotel. I had a lovely (if a little small) room, which was comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet was spacious and very tasty, and the staff service impeccable and very helpful. My only complaint was one of access – there was only one elevator working, during the time I was there, which was often very crowded with long waits. As I was travelling with an infant and pram, we couldn't use the stairs even had we wanted to. I was attending a convention at the hotel and the convention rooms had limited lift access (only by staff elevator), which surprised me, as did the fact there were NO baby change facilities in the hotel reception or convention area!

Relatively minor complaints, almost entirely made up for by the excellent service and location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    403
    1,201
    957
    321
    165
See reviews for
499
1,132
423
484
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Morwell
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Easy to get to from public transport and by car
It is clean however one of the lifts are being repaired. Taking a very long time. So request a bed as close to ground floor as possible. Stairs are far quicker than lift so don't want to have to climb too many. Also you must ask for things included in the package things like the daily paper that is included but unless you specifics ask it won't be delivered even if you are a regulars guest

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We found this hotel good value and it was really convenient when the city sales were on. The only negative was the breakfast special price that I had printed on my booking was not given to me as I was an Accor member and apparently members had to pay the full price. It is interesting to note that you are encouraging special prices for non-members and would penalise the thousands of people that pay their fees upfront which entitle them to cheaper meals. This also happened to me the night before with dinner at Mercure Spring Street. So twice in a row was disappointing. Our Accor membership seems to be getting eroded away in these tight fiscal times. The little things count.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Another fantastic stay at the Mercure Welcome in Melbourne last weekend! As always the staff of friendly and efficient, not to mention eager to work out any wrinkles in your booking/keys/stay. The slight problem of lift availability on the weekend (1 out of 2 being out of service) was handled excellently and my meals, room, room servicing and check in and out experiences were great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

There was only 1 lift in service which meant you have to continually use the stairs - even with your bags and not good if you are on the 8th floor!
The noise with doors continually banging was annoying and hard to sleep during the night - early morning.
The rooms are so small as an Accor member I would have thought they would look after members and give you a decent sized room, especially when you have stayed there on 4 previous occasions! I don't think I will bother staying again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Mercure Welcome is very conveniently located in the Melbourne CBD. It is close to number of city movie theaters, entertainment facilities and through the combined entry arrangement with other Mercure Grand, effectively has a Swanson Street tram stop outside the front door. It is only a short distance from Federation Square & Flinders Street railway station. Whilst the Mercure Welcome is the more budget priced accommodation it is more than adequate when what you require is a bed for a few nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Every time I travel to Melbourne I stay at the Mercure due to the location which is excellent - next to shops, transport, restaurants and nightlife.

The hotel looks very run down internally and externally with only 1 lift operating over the course of the weekend (long busy weekend), not to mention the state of the hallways!!

The hotel expectations thoroughly have gone down and I was very very disappointed with the quality of the room, cleanliness, housekeeping services were very very poor this time round.

Every time I phoned housekeeping it would take them over half an hour to attend to our request.

The standard of cleanliness and cleaning of the room was very poor.

I'm sad to say that my stay in Melbourne this time round was very disappointing

I travel to Melbourne every year and I will rethink my accommodation next time.

If it wasn't for the location - its definitely not value for the money we paid for the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Address: 265 - 281 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where the staff go further so you can enjoy your stay. The Mercure Hotel Welcome Melbourne features self and valet parking. Cafes, restaurants and bars are close by and cater to all budgets and tastes and there is an onsite tour and information desk divulging Melbourne's best-kept local secrets. This is great-value accommodation in a great location – shopping precincts and historic theatres are all within walking distance, while sporting venues are a simple tram ride away. This is a 100% non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Welcome Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.