We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Welcome Melbourne to your Saves list
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   265 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth
1 review
“Fantastic service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Excellent service in this very central and easy to find hotel. I had a lovely (if a little small) room, which was comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet was spacious and very tasty, and the staff service impeccable and very helpful. My only complaint was one of access – there was only one elevator working, during the time I was there, which was often very crowded with long waits. As I was travelling with an infant and pram, we couldn't use the stairs even had we wanted to. I was attending a convention at the hotel and the convention rooms had limited lift access (only by staff elevator), which surprised me, as did the fact there were NO baby change facilities in the hotel reception or convention area!

Relatively minor complaints, almost entirely made up for by the excellent service and location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank editormum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,529 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Morwell
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. Easy to get to from public transport and by car
It is clean however one of the lifts are being repaired. Taking a very long time. So request a bed as close to ground floor as possible. Stairs are far quicker than lift so don't want to have to climb too many. Also you must ask for things included in the package things like the daily paper that is included but unless you specifics ask it won't be delivered even if you are a regulars guest

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank saintlinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We found this hotel good value and it was really convenient when the city sales were on. The only negative was the breakfast special price that I had printed on my booking was not given to me as I was an Accor member and apparently members had to pay the full price. It is interesting to note that you are encouraging special prices for non-members and would penalise the thousands of people that pay their fees upfront which entitle them to cheaper meals. This also happened to me the night before with dinner at Mercure Spring Street. So twice in a row was disappointing. Our Accor membership seems to be getting eroded away in these tight fiscal times. The little things count.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank sunshine686
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Another fantastic stay at the Mercure Welcome in Melbourne last weekend! As always the staff of friendly and efficient, not to mention eager to work out any wrinkles in your booking/keys/stay. The slight problem of lift availability on the weekend (1 out of 2 being out of service) was handled excellently and my meals, room, room servicing and check in and out experiences were great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank SJBSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

There was only 1 lift in service which meant you have to continually use the stairs - even with your bags and not good if you are on the 8th floor!
The noise with doors continually banging was annoying and hard to sleep during the night - early morning.
The rooms are so small as an Accor member I would have thought they would look after members and give you a decent sized room, especially when you have stayed there on 4 previous occasions! I don't think I will bother staying again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank VanoPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Greater Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Mercure Welcome is very conveniently located in the Melbourne CBD. It is close to number of city movie theaters, entertainment facilities and through the combined entry arrangement with other Mercure Grand, effectively has a Swanson Street tram stop outside the front door. It is only a short distance from Federation Square & Flinders Street railway station. Whilst the Mercure Welcome is the more budget priced accommodation it is more than adequate when what you require is a bed for a few nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Phillip101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Every time I travel to Melbourne I stay at the Mercure due to the location which is excellent - next to shops, transport, restaurants and nightlife.

The hotel looks very run down internally and externally with only 1 lift operating over the course of the weekend (long busy weekend), not to mention the state of the hallways!!

The hotel expectations thoroughly have gone down and I was very very disappointed with the quality of the room, cleanliness, housekeeping services were very very poor this time round.

Every time I phoned housekeeping it would take them over half an hour to attend to our request.

The standard of cleanliness and cleaning of the room was very poor.

I'm sad to say that my stay in Melbourne this time round was very disappointing

I travel to Melbourne every year and I will rethink my accommodation next time.

If it wasn't for the location - its definitely not value for the money we paid for the weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Bella581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Central Business District
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
Tune Hotel - Melbourne
#65 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pensione Hotel Melbourne - by 8Hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Oaks On William
Oaks On William
#26 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Address: 265 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #108 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the city's most popular business and shopping precincts, theatres, galleries, bars and restaurants, the 3.5-star Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel is located in the very heart of Melbourne's CBD and offers guest affordable budget accommodation and a base from which to explore all the attractions and events in Melbourne. Shopping meccas like Emporium Melbourne, Bourke Street Mall and H&M are right on the doorstep of the Mercure Welcome Melbourne hotel, plus other attractions like Federation Square, Southbank, Her Majesty's and Regent Theatres, Queen Victoria Markets and Melbourne Central Shopping Complex are just a short stroll away. Guests can conveniently also take advantage of the free CBD tram service, with a tram stop just metres from the entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, ACCOR and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing