We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good price, average room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Mercure Welcome Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   265 - 281 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location, good price, average room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Chinatown and shopping is on the doorstep as are plenty of good CBD restaurants. The hotel itself feels kind of rundown and rooms are small and in need of some work. If you just need a place to crash in the heart of it all, then this is a good option.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,637 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    1,051
    839
    276
    136
See reviews for
432
983
389
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Loved staying here - the location is perfect! City central and the staff are fantastic. The lovely gentleman on check in asked us why we were in town and when I told him it was our anniversary he gave us a complimentary bottle of champagne! So lovely. It is located above Haighs chocolates which is quite handy for a little treat. The room had everything we needed. Bathroom was spotless and shower was REALLY good. Bed was a little hard but that is just my taste - prefer a softer bed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our stay at the Mercure Welcome was lovely and we enjoyed ourselves. The only thing wrong with the trip is that the hallway leading to our room (1028) smelt quite bad - like stale vomit or cheese and wasn't very pleasant when walking to or from our room.

Other than this it was a pleasurable experience and I would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The location of this hotel is truly excellent and the staff are very helpful for any question you ask them. The rooms are clean and well finished, the only slight drawback to my stay was across the street from my room was a huge building construction site which was at times a quite noisy other then that i would happily recommend this hotel to others i dont think they will be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent location, room was small. Rubbish (cups and food bags) were left under the bed from the previous occupant. Great service from the staff who worked there, they were very helpful and made our stay worthwhile.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Location is great being right on Swanston & Little Burke. Staff were very friendly and helpful. While breakfast cereals were great I thought the cooked breakfast in regard to bacon left a little to be desired with several rashes stuck together, which meant they were cooked that way.
I really appreciated the staff finding me a soft pillow as I have a neck problem, which is exacerbated by hard inflexible pillows, so thanks to that gesture I had great sleeps and no sore neck issues. Laundry was also excellent with items returned as advised the next day. I would stay there again.

Cheers

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapiti, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We booked a standard room on a special deal and although the room was quite small it was enough for the two of us and it was a pretty good deal. Given the hotel's location there is plenty of incentive to not hang around in the hotel room anyway. During this 5 night visit we found the room servicing staff did an excellent job with the room looking consistently good when we returned in the afternoon. The reception and concierge staff were also very helpful. All in all a good experience to go with the location smack bang in downtown Melbourne with all transport - trams, trains, river ferries - in easy reach. With Melbourne being a very walkable city this central location was fantastic.
I would also like to mention the quality of the Cocoon Bar, just upstairs from the lobby. The bar staff were great and the atmosphere quite cosy. A nice place to relax after a long day following my wife through the shops!

Room Tip: Not too much road noise given this location so anywhere well away from the lifts!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne
Address: 265 - 281 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where the staff go further so you can enjoy your stay. The Mercure Hotel Welcome Melbourne features self and valet parking. Cafes, restaurants and bars are close by and cater to all budgets and tastes and there is an onsite tour and information desk divulging Melbourne's best-kept local secrets. This is great-value accommodation in a great location – shopping precincts and historic theatres are all within walking distance, while sporting venues are a simple tram ride away. This is a 100% non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Welcome Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.