We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Save Saved
You added Mercure Welcome Melbourne to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   265 - 281 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“Pretty expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have never been to Melbourne before, so I thought it pretty expensive for a very small room looking out on to an alleyway. That said, the bed was comfortable, breakfast average, and the staff pleasant and helpful

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,850 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    372
    1,127
    904
    299
    148
See reviews for
467
1060
412
448
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I constantly visit Melbourne for concerts that are on in the city. Mercure Welcome has a great central location for business in the CBD and exceptional prices. Staff are friendly and very helpful and accommodating. Rooms are a little on the small-side, but perfectly adequate for someone like myself. I always stay there when i visit Melbourne city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Having satyed at Accor and mercure hotels for several years, I found the Mercure Welcome in Melbourne very disappointing and not up to Mercure standard. the reception staff were very good - apart from that the hotel was dirty and run down, and did not appear to be maintained. Every door, handle and surface, cupboards, lifts had dirty hand prints, it was not generally clean. No minibar, paper thin walls. You heard the toilets in other rooms, the lift was noisy. It felt more like a university dorm than an hotel. The coffee maker and cups were on the floor of an open desk, in a dusty room

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed here on a work trip. On the positive side the service was great, location great, and rooms well cleaned. However, the room was small and marks on the wall and cracked basin suggested a bit of a makeover is required. Ideal for those on holiday not wanting to spend too much time in their room. Business travellers would suit a larger room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We booked a room for one night, basically to escape the heat wave. Online, we found a room at this hotel for $129. I arrived before my gf (we both work in the city) and checked in. Upon entering the room (and checking out the bathroom) I simply turned around and walked back out. It was tiny, dingy (the bath had two little 'cracks' in it that obviously weren't - but reminded me of - bulletholes) and overall it just had a bit of a unpleasant feel about it. I know it was only $129 for a CBD stay, but - just for fun - my gf and I do try a different Melbourne hotel about once a month and this was easily the least attractive room I have seen. I immediately went back and upgraded to a $219 per night king size room. Maybe my expectations were too high, but this room was massively underwhelming. I have stayed in much bigger, better laid out, 'suites' at far cheaper rates. The main problem though, was that we were there to avoid the heatwave, and by the time my gf arrived, an hour later, the air con still hadn't cooled down the main area properly, and (although there appeared to be a vent in the bedroom) hadn't reached into the bedroom AT ALL. I found it totally unnacceptable that you can charge $219 per night for a king size room with essentially no effective airconditioning in the sleeping area. After waiting for another hour or so and having nothing change temperature-wise, we rang reception and requested to be downsized to a queen room ($189), where the air-cnditioning was in the same room as the bed. We were obliged and this room was very good. We were actually given a room for people with disabilities (as it was the only queen room left, I was told) which meant having modified shower facilities. No problems at all with that - except the shower connection was faulty and kept stopping and starting like a kinked hose. I finally worked out how to keep it flowing (holding it at a certain angle) but I did wonder how someone with restricted movement might cope. Anyway, the room was VERY cool, clean and comfortable. We ordered a little bit of food which was good. Went upstairs and had a swim, which was also good - I liked the fact that towels were provided poolside which is not always the case. At all times the staff were excellent - friendly, efficient and keen to help. No problems there whatsoever. If planning staying here though, I would recommend only the queen room, but even then, there are nicer places around the city for less money if that is a factor for you.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turners Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Chose the hotel because it was close to the theatre where we had booked tickets (had also stayed there 4 years before). When entering the room my husband noticed that the ceiling was full of dust / dirt from the air conditioner. The basin in the bathroom was that old that a multitude of cracks were showing through the ceramic (or whatever it is made from). The door in the bathroom also needed a good paint (paint at bottom completely worn off) as well as the walls in the main room. The carpets had obviously not been washed for a long time. There was no TV/movie guide or hotel information in the room. it may be that this room is only used when the hotel is at capacity, but for the $169 we had to pay for the first night I believe it was extremely poor value and pushing it for even the $139 we paid for the 2nd night. When remarking on this to the team member at check-out the only comment we got was "Did you report it when you first went into your room" and that "the rooms are old and we're doing them up". Well, next time, perhaps they might charge more appropriately for the condition of their rooms, though for us there will not be a 'next time'.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We only stayed in this hotel as we needed a place to stay for 1 night and it was in the middle of the Grand Prix, we were not disappointed with the Mercure welcome at all. The location was excellent on Little Bourke Street close to Swanston St, so in walking distance to everything but very quiet compared to others I have stayed in inner Melbourne. The shower would have to be one of the best I have had in a hotel anywhere, instant hot water and great pressure. Bed comfy but suffered the line breakdown the middle as 2 beds pushed together. Staff were friendly and helpful which was good in one of their busiest weekends of the accommodation year. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: in inner Melbourne so best to ask for a room on high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Address: 265 - 281 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where the staff go further so you can enjoy your stay. The Mercure Hotel Welcome Melbourne features self and valet parking. Cafes, restaurants and bars are close by and cater to all budgets and tastes and there is an onsite tour and information desk divulging Melbourne's best-kept local secrets. This is great-value accommodation in a great location – shopping precincts and historic theatres are all within walking distance, while sporting venues are a simple tram ride away. This is a 100% non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Welcome Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.