We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location - only stay if its on a cheap deal” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Welcome Melbourne to your Saves list
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   265 - 281 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #105 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good location - only stay if its on a cheap deal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Chose this hotel for a business trip on the basis its one of the Accor group, and it was on a bargain deal.

Positives:
- Located right in the centre of the city.
- Bathroom was a nice refurb job
Negatives:
- Pokey room
- View of a concrete wall
- Room had an adjoining room door (locked) through which you could hear everything from the next door room.
- Check-in was painfully slow

So worth staying if your travelling alone on a business trip and need a budget hotel in a good location. Otherwise avoid.

Room Tip: A cheap one without an adjoining door preferably.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    1,287
    1,016
    338
    179
See reviews for
526
1,208
454
525
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bright, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My husband and I had stayed at this hotel previously and were pleased with our rooms.
However this time I travelled with a friend and we were very disappointed with the room. Admittedly when we boked it we thought it was a great price but because I had stayed previously did not think too much more about it unti our arrival. The room was tiny, very out dated, aircon was noisy, plumbing noisy, window tiny and our view was looking at a another wall with tiny windows.....felt very closed in. The photo of the room on the internet did not reflect this room. The rooms were clean however I will be cautious next time and ask for a refurbished room.
The location of the Hotel fantastic - however be aware that the taxis outside the front door will refuse fares other than to the airport.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Right in the middle of the city,China Town directly opposite with excellent restaurants and so many to chose from .Rooms are large and very comfortable ,the breakfast buffet on the first floor is something not to go past $ 15. Really great value and has everything Would stay there again.

Room Tip: We just took what was given and were quite pleased with it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Walls were thin and i could easily hear tv etc next door. The room was small and pokey and bathroom very outdated. Carpet had stains on it. Aircon did not work until repair man fixed it. The phone had a permanent "you have message" light flashing but no actual message.
This hotel is in bad need of an upgrade!! Parking was at a parking station about 300 meters away.....crazy!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Hotel is close to Theatres and the Central Mall/Shopping District. Recommend a browse through Haighs chocolates in the foyer and a coffee at Brunettis in Swanston Street. Comfortable bed. Very clean. Friendly, helpful staff. Shame the hot water in the shower went from bearable to burning heat without warning or adjustment by the user. We will visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Mercure Welcome Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Welcome Melbourne

Address: 265 - 281 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Welcome Melbourne 3*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A place where the staff go further so you can enjoy your stay. The Mercure Hotel Welcome Melbourne features self and valet parking. Cafes, restaurants and bars are close by and cater to all budgets and tastes and there is an onsite tour and information desk divulging Melbourne's best-kept local secrets. This is great-value accommodation in a great location – shopping precincts and historic theatres are all within walking distance, while sporting venues are a simple tram ride away. This is a 100% non-smoking hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Mercure Welcome Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Welcome Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Accor Welcome Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Welcome Melbourne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.