We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient location, good value with spacious room and good hotel staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Save Saved
You added The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #62 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very convenient location, good value with spacious room and good hotel staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Right in the middle of Melbourne city, surrounded by eateries and shopping centres, this is a very good location for a hotel catering for tourists who need basic comfort and convenience. On the surface this hotel would be considered mediocre but we grew to like it a lot because the hotel staff were very efficient, friendly and courteous. Above all, the cleaners were very honest: we accidentally left a gold wedding ring behind on checking out but was able to recover it two hours later.
The standard room was very clean. It had a comfortable queen-size bed. The room was spacious but the sofa provided only seated one person, making it necessary for the second person to sit on the bed when watching TV.
Full buffet breakfast was good with cooked-to-order eggs provided. Also catered to Asian taste.
The hotel has a gym and swimming pool but we didn't use either.
Our only complaint: The sound insulation between rooms was inadequate; we could hear the plumbing noises from adjoining rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,596 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    425
    755
    320
    64
    32
See reviews for
416
549
170
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The staff were wonderful at this motel, always polite and helpful but two things will stop me using this motel again for travel. 1. I was put on a floor that stank of cigarette fumes and when I complained I was told that "yes they had a lot of airline staff staying who had been given permission to smoke"
I have ended up with a bad case of asthma and I don't get asthma - I also got terrible headaches - the stench of tobacco was really that bad and filled my room.
2. My room was never cleaned until after 2pm in the afternoon and I needed clean and tidy to work in.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Great value for money.The choice to stay for short business trip or holiday. Convenient and centrally located. Food choices are plenty and nearby. Tramps conveniently infront. Breakfast at your option and reasonable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for 3 nights. The hotel is located in an excellent position right in the centre of Melbourne with easy access to shops, restaurants (particularly Chinatown) and transport. Check in was efficient and staff were friendly. The room was clean and spacious with all of the amenities that you would require. The décor was somewhat outmoded and the hotel is tired and in need of an update. The downstairs bar with the poker machines was crowded and loud however the upstairs bar was comfortable. In terms of value for money, the three nights for the price of two offer was particularly good value. If you are not going to spend of lot of your time in your room, I would recommend this hotel for a stopover or short stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I found the Swanston Hotel in Melbourne to be an excellent central location. The staff were very helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable, all at a reasonable mid-range price. I have no hesitation in staying again at the Swanston when next I'm in Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Gambier, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My mum and I stayed here for 2 nights. It is on the same block as the mall so we were able to drop our shopping back to our room and have a drink in the middle of our shopping. The beds were comfy. The bathroom was modern and had an amazing showerhead and luxury shampoo/ conditioners. The swimming pool was lovely and had great views over the city. The staff were really friendly. We definitely recommend and will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Not having spent any time in Melbourne before, we were keen to have central location from which to enjoy our stay. The Swanston proved to be perfect for that purpose and we were able to access all our targets with ease. Spending most of our time " on the go ", we didn't stay in the building a lot, however it was a very pleasant place to come back to at the end of the day.
Would have no hesitation in returning for future stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#53 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#62 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Hotel Swanston is in the heart of the city, close to restaurants, theatres, nightlife and Melbournes best shopping. The hotel features 200 spacious, well appointed rooms and a restaurant on the 15th floor which overlooks the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.