We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location Comfortable Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Save Saved
You added The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #64 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Canberra, Australia
1 review
“Great Location Comfortable Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I found the Swanston Hotel in Melbourne to be an excellent central location. The staff were very helpful and the rooms clean and comfortable, all at a reasonable mid-range price. I have no hesitation in staying again at the Swanston when next I'm in Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,650 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    442
    774
    332
    68
    34
See reviews for
430
566
172
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gambier, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My mum and I stayed here for 2 nights. It is on the same block as the mall so we were able to drop our shopping back to our room and have a drink in the middle of our shopping. The beds were comfy. The bathroom was modern and had an amazing showerhead and luxury shampoo/ conditioners. The swimming pool was lovely and had great views over the city. The staff were really friendly. We definitely recommend and will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Not having spent any time in Melbourne before, we were keen to have central location from which to enjoy our stay. The Swanston proved to be perfect for that purpose and we were able to access all our targets with ease. Spending most of our time " on the go ", we didn't stay in the building a lot, however it was a very pleasant place to come back to at the end of the day.
Would have no hesitation in returning for future stays.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hobart
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Right in the CBD and one of the few hotels with two double beds in the one room. Reception and other staff excellent, rooms spacious. It's a very good hotel. Only negative is buffet breakfast which is shared with welcome inn. Feeding time at the zoo! My advice is to go to the other restaurant for breakfast in the hotel or buy it from one of the many other places nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

From the time we pull up in the car to the time when drove away the service was second to none. The staff were friendly and helpful. The location was excellent. Right in the center of the city with Burke St Mall a 30 second stroll away. The food was delicious and the room was spacious, clean and very comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Whilst the location of the hotel is fantastic, I was really disappointed with the cleanliness of the room this stay. Disappointing because I always stay at this hotel and have never experienced this problem before. The bathroom was not very clean, with stains on the toilet seat and rim of the bath very unpleasant. The bathroom floor was sticky to walk on. The dinner ordered (after being hung up on three times) for room service was not at a good quality, with the chicken pink and undercooked and the non existent sauce that didn't arrive. The dinner arrived at a 'just warm' temperature.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel was fine & in a great location in the centre of the shopping area. But the room was noisy from the street below. Plenty of towels etc. Staff were friendly & helpful but the breakfast buffet was dreadful! I asked for poached eggs & they were under cooked - cut into them & the whites just ran clear. My son asked for fried eggs & they were over cooked. The coffee was Nescafé from a machine eeew ! Disappointing on that front.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#37 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#64 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Hotel Swanston is in the heart of the city, close to restaurants, theatres, nightlife and Melbournes best shopping. The hotel features 200 spacious, well appointed rooms and a restaurant on the 15th floor which overlooks the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.