We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable, but noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Save Saved
You added The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 170 hotels in Melbourne
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Reasonable, but noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our second stay, this time in one of the suites. Although we were on a high floor we could easily hear the noise from the street and the air conditioning from the building next door. Understand the cost but double glazing would fix this. Otherwise a good stay, old hotel but comfy rooms and OK for the cost. The bar and tapas were great, buffet breakfast ordinary.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,657 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    775
    333
    68
    35
See reviews for
431
569
172
273
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Weipa, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Location was perfect for our needs we did lots of walking.a few small things such as plumbing in bathroom needs attention, privacy and make up my room door signs should be a different colour making easy recognition for guests and staff . Beds were very comfy and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Got a great 2 night deal on-line through their website. We arrived just after 10am with the intention of leaving our bags to explore the city. The Concierge suggested we check with reception if our room was ready. I was very very sceptical & to my great surprise our room was ready. Check-in was super speedy & very very friendly. Welcoming smile very much appreciated.

When I booked the room I requested a higher floor as the kids love to look at the city lights. We were not disappointed. We were given room 1306...great views over the city & down to the trams on Swanston & Bourke Street.

Room had 2 Queen beds & it was still spacious enough for the kids to play on the floor with their toys. Extra pillows in the wardrobe would have been helpful but we managed. Sheets were crisp & fresh. Carpets looked newish. Bed was a little soft for me but no one woke with sore backs.

Bathroom was very clean. Bonus was having a bath for the kids. Lots of hot water & good pressure.

I do agree with others comments of the walls being very thin. On the first night the room next door had a crying child. Poor little one was still crying at 11pm. I felt sorry for the parents rather than being annoyed.

We didn't eat at any of the hotel options. Loved having Haigh's chocolate at the front door. Great for picking up a late night parents treat after a big day out.

Check out was super super quick. No waiting.

I would have to say that the staff here are THE best I've ever encountered. Everyone was very friendly & helpful. Always taking the time to chat with the kids which they loved. This will be our place to stay in Melbourne.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kuala lumpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

stayed there from 31 may 2013 to 4 june 2013.

pros
1.good location
2.good location
3.good location
4.housekeeping prompt.
5.acceptable room condition. but can improve further in terms of decors.

cons
1.luggage was left unattended in the middle of reception area when at time of leaving the bags after check in there, we were informed that it would be sent to our room as had to rush to return car rental. but to be fair the porter in attendance during check out which was at 6.30am on 4th june 2013 was very helpful.
2.lucky returned car rental as parking a no no (and NO need for it anyway).
3.was really a hassle to find the entrance when driving to hotel for check in purpose as the hotel entrance was through a back alley as no driving was permitted via main entrance as this was a tram route area (no indication that the small alley concern was the correct area for drop off/ hotel valet service). did contact hotel prior to arrival but they should have been more detailed in explaining in what to expect when driving there.

Room Tip: no cars necessary as it would be an inconvenience. public transport no problem at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We always stay at this hotel in Melbourne every time we come, great location, great service, nice rooms and yummy breakfast. We have stayed here for many years since we have been to Melbourne - always a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I have stayed here twice and both times wer last moment decisions an as a hotel worker i am happy to say that this is the place to be. quick easy check-in. friendly service an for the price rooms wer compfy an very clean. had a problem with the lights an key card 1st stay but problem solved just like that. if only the hotels i have worked in the past wer as good as this place.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed in an executive suite for four nights with our four year old who had a rollaway bed.. We were thrilled with the location, couldn't have been better. The service was good and they were very happy to move us when we complained about someone smoking in the room opposite. Rooms were cleaned well too. Can't wait to stay again!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#57 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#60 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Hotel Swanston is in the heart of the city, close to restaurants, theatres, nightlife and Melbournes best shopping. The hotel features 200 spacious, well appointed rooms and a restaurant on the 15th floor which overlooks the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, getaroom.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.