We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Shopping” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure to your Saves list
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect for Shopping”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic inner city location, perfect for dumping shopping bags mid shop! Also walking distance to fabulous cafes and restaurants. My room had a comfortable bed and and adequate bathroom, although would have liked a bit of bench space for toilet bag near the basin. Even though the aircon worked well I found the room stuffy, but I come from the country and like having a window that opens....the doona was too hot unless I turned the aircon temp right down (which, with individual controls, was an option) Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    822
    344
    74
    40
See reviews for
454
592
180
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The staff were helpful when I needed to fix things but would have neem good to not have to.The dressing gown and slippers were missing and the DVD library they advertise does not exist.

Noisy neighbours made for bad sleep.
great location.
comfortable room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We are a family of four recently stayed at the hotel for two nights. The hotel room is very big with two double beds (big enough), also comes with a baby bed although we don't need it. The room is very big. The location is even better, close to everything. I also found the hotel website very useful for my trip for all the sightseeing. We are all very happy with the hotel. The only downside was that the hotel pool was too small, maybe because it's in the middle of the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect location for shopping if you are staying in Melbourne with Bourke Street Mall just around the corner, very close to Melbourne Central and a short walk to Southbank and the Vic Market. The staff were very obliging and friendly. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Only downside was that our room overlooked Swanston St and you could hear people in the street and trams late in the night and then was woken up by more street noise in the morning. After checking out we were charged for items that we didn't usae in the mini bar but a quick call to the hotel and they assured me that they will refund those charges. All in all we had a great time at this hotel and even with the street noise we would still stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Spent two nights at the Swanston and I was worried on check in as I had stayed in the Mecure which is attached to the Swanston and hated the Mecure's small rooms, the lack of soundproofing and dingy hallways, but was I was very pleasently surprised with the Swanston, My room was next to the elevator... but the soundproof design ensured that there was no sound to be heard. The room was large, comfortable and well appointed, there was even a second door to the bedroom which you could shut and keep even more noise out. I really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Like everyone else the location was great. Our room was on the third floor 2 double beds. The room was large and comfortable. The beds were great not to hard and if you have read my other reviews I'm very particular about pillows and the pillows here were great to sleep on. The bathroom was a good size, it was a bath shower which was ok I just worry about slipping as it didn't have any non slip in the bath. I did find that there wasn't much room around the hand basin for toilet bags, toothbrushes etc. At night the air con would rattle off and on but was not to annoying. The first morning we were there I heard a large thud and couldn't work out what it was the next day my daughter said did you know the gym was next door. No I didn't but that was the thud just a suggestion maybe some sound proofing would do well. I only wish that hotels advise when checking in if you are going to be near anything like that and that includes lifts so you have the option to move rooms.
Overall I found the staff helpful and friendly and would recommend to stay if you want close to Burke Street Mall and the CBD you can walk everywhere from this hotel.
We didn't eat at the hotel as you had many options close by.

Room Tip: don't get room 306 as it is right next to the gym
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Better can be found in Melbourne for the money. Decor and rooms look circa 15 years old, past time for a make-over. Bathroom was 2-3 star with the added benefit of a chair in the shower! - just in case I was in a wheelchair or 80 yrs old - both of which I'm not. Average and reliable if you can't be bothered looking for better, however certainly not the "upscale apartment" their website describes it as, I expected a little more from a Grand Mecure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Hotel Swanston is in the heart of the city, close to restaurants, theatres, nightlife and Melbournes best shopping. The hotel features 200 spacious, well appointed rooms and a restaurant on the 15th floor which overlooks the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.