We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, however a bit tired” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure to your Saves list
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston) (Melbourne CBD)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good location, however a bit tired”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Better can be found in Melbourne for the money. Decor and rooms look circa 15 years old, past time for a make-over. Bathroom was 2-3 star with the added benefit of a chair in the shower! - just in case I was in a wheelchair or 80 yrs old - both of which I'm not. Average and reliable if you can't be bothered looking for better, however certainly not the "upscale apartment" their website describes it as, I expected a little more from a Grand Mecure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    459
    804
    341
    71
    38
See reviews for
446
581
179
288
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

How more central can you get? Staff are very friendly and helpful. Great for business travellers. Power points everywhere. Desk, good lighting. Bed comfortable. Restaurants and bars are ok but could do with an upgrade.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This is a really good hotel right in the heart of Melbourne. It is great as you can walk to so many areas of interest. Great shopping, museum, art gallery, lovely food and best of all, lots of theatres are in walking distance. The rooms are a generous size and I love the twin doubles. One of the best features is that the rooms have DVD players, microwave and toaster as well as fridge. Friendly staff and excellent room service. We ordered dinner three times in our room on our recent stay, and each time the food was generous, good quality and delivered in a good time frame.

The bathrooms are looking just a little worn now, with some age stain marks on the ceilings, but the cleanliness is fine. I still think that this is a very good value hotel considering it is in the heart of the city. If you can get a good rate, I certainly would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle heights
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Not sure if "Grand" should still be in the title for this hotel as Grand is not a description I would use. Our room, a superior King Size, was a good size with a very small bath room, but was very basic. No mini bar, furniture that would be good at a back packers hotel, and really quite noisy from surrounding rooms and people in the corridor. In saying that though, the room was comfortable and clean. The staff were excellent, curtious, helpful, and friendly. ( I might suggest that porters and Valet parking staff, or any one else coming into your room or car be issued with deodorant) Breakfast was adequate and check out and check in very efficient and speedy. Location is ideal if you are visiting Melb as it is centrally located, close to Chinatown and trams. Good value for money though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We were lucky enough to get this hotel on a 40% off deal. A friend and I caught up with our two 8 yo daughters. They had a ball in the pool, and the location meant we could go on mini shopping trips in the day (and Chinatown meals at night) without being too far from their Monster High games in the room! Clean with great service. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Having stayed at the Swanston Hotel a few times , I find its location so central to the main food and shopping areas of Melbourne, its comfortable, quiet and the staff are extremely helpful!! For a quiet drink or a special breakfast the Cocoon Bar is the spot to go to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shepparton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Every time I stay at 'The Swanston Mercure" Melbourne I feel like it's my home away from home. I love the comfort of my favourite room - 1206 - the staff who book us in and everyone we come in contact with are always so friendly and nothing is too much for them.....YAY!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Hotel Swanston is in the heart of the city, close to restaurants, theatres, nightlife and Melbournes best shopping. The hotel features 200 spacious, well appointed rooms and a restaurant on the 15th floor which overlooks the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.