We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its the central location that makes this Hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure to your Saves list
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Its the central location that makes this Hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel has alot going for it, but overall the location is what makes it. Centrally located within the Melbourne CBD it offers reasonable value for money and friendly service. The rooms are a little old in terms of the building, however they are fit out in a modern way, and are very comfortable. The bed was very comfortable, however the bedroom was a little noisy at night as our room was located directly above the the air conditioning/hotels extraction fan system. The room was very spacious, and nice however the bathroom was quite old and looked as though it was starting to show it's age and in need of a refurbishment. We also utilized the city parking deal that the hotel has with the local parking lot. It's a short walk across the road to the underground parking lot, and its a little expensive overnight, but its what you've come to expect from Melbourne city parking. Overall I would recommend it for anyone looking to stay in the CBD however I would only stay if you get a great deal compared to other hotels.

Room Tip: Choose a high level room, not facing Swanston St if possible to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    858
    368
    81
    42
See reviews for
476
626
187
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Perfectly fine. Great location, surly check in, long wait for check out, perfectly fine rooms for the price, over-priced wi-fi (it's 2013 people - wi-fi should be standard). Just your average ho-hum large hotel chain stay. Perfectly fine, but nothing stand out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Great location if you're on foot/public transport (though a hard spot if you have a car). Its a very short walk to the shopping strip of Bourke St Mall and you are surrounded by eating places wherever you turn. China town is also right on your doorstep and bars & nightlife is everywhere you look within a stones throw.

However, the proximity to great nightlife also can come at a slight cost - you give up a certain level of piece & quiet. I suggest asking for a room on a high floor & also not overlooking Swanson St.

The rooms themselves are quite nice & also quite spacious, though in places (particularly the bathroom) they are starting to feel quite tired.

Staff are always friendly &. Helpful. I've stayed here many times & have always been happy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

My husband, I & friends have been staying at the Swanston when we visit Melbourne, for many years. The reason we choose this Hotel is the location; a few steps away to Bourke Street Mall, Trams to the footy, tennis, casino, shopping precincts/DFO'S. Close to Chinatown and many great pubs & restaurants. The Grand Mercure Swanston does cost a bit more than some other Hotels, but we have found the rooms to always be clean & well presented, and Staff very capable and friendly. Highly recommend this Hotel if you are looking for accommodation in Melbourne City.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Excellent service, polite and friendly staff, good meals and reasonably priced. Rooms were very quiet, [quite a change from some], neat tidy and comfortable, definatly stay again and have recommended to friends already.Thanks Mercure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

The location of this hotel is everything..the rooms are old with withered carpet...but the location makes up for everything..we could walk everywhere...and the tram station was right outside...the airport shuttle also drops till outside the hotel

Room Tip: Front facing rooms are better and sunnier
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Food, Mucus, Semen.. - I wouldn't have a clue exactly what it was but it was absolutely disgusting and it was on both the bed runner and throw cushions in our room along with black hairs on our pillows.

The room carpet was equally as disgusting and felt a sort of sticky underfoot. The carpet was stained with what I can only presume was a previous flood in our room as it trailed out of the bathroom and followed the wall throughout our room.

The bath was dirty, the toilet was dirty, and the tv cabinet was poorly constructed and falling apart.

Our room had the worst view I have ever experienced and it was only complimented by the layer of scum built up on the outside of the window.

When I booked this hotel I got the early bird special of $188 which I was absolutely thrilled about. But after having stayed here, I would have to say a more reasonable rate would have been maybe 50% of what I actually paid.

I will say though that the Bell Service staff were both friendly and helpful, as was the staff member (Ricky) who checked us in.

All in all, I would not book here again, or recommend it to others.

Room Tip: 702 is a NO GO. Refuse the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#59 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#68 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Hotel Swanston is in the heart of the city, close to restaurants, theatres, nightlife and Melbournes best shopping. The hotel features 200 spacious, well appointed rooms and a restaurant on the 15th floor which overlooks the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.