We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“could of been better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure to your Saves list
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 173 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“could of been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

what can i say about this hotel in the heart of melbourne great location.... very friendly staff on arrival we arrived a little earlier but our room was ready so we were very happy great room nicely kept and bathroom spotless could not of asked for more..this was a special weekend as my young son had won this weekend away at school so he was very excited at staying in a big hotel .... we spent hours in the pool not a pool to swim but nice to relax and cool off as melbourne was going through a heat wave... we thought we would go to the down stairs to bar and get a soft drink before going some where for dinner the bar is beautiful relaxing and very child friendly which is great.. talking to some fellow travellers staying at the hotel we decided to stay in and have some yummy pizza's from the menu.. they came out and smelt so very yummy moving the garnish to the side i find a big green caterpillar crawling over my pizza disgusting!!!! i gave it back to the waiter and i was given a new one really was not to keen on eating it .there was no offer of giving me money back which i find very wrong would i stay again i don't think so this just ruined a perfect weekend away but one thing i would to say is there is a lovley lady named helen who works there she truly is an asset went above and beyond her means in making us feel very welcome at the pool or chatting with us in the lift

Room Tip: 12 floor really quiet very enjoyable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    858
    368
    81
    42
See reviews for
476
626
187
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stay was very enjoyable. Was very hot in Melbourne and the air-conditioning in the room was very efficient. Also the extra thoughtfulness as it was a special occasion for us as a couple was much appreciated. The location to the shops is excellent. Our interaction to different staff was helpful and satisfying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. We found it had all we required right at our doorstep. It is a great place to stay when we have the children with us and is also good when we are without the kids.The Cocoon bar was great for a light meal and a few quiet drinks and we also enjoyed breakfast there. I would recommend this to our friends as we found it to be family friendly. We love it and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moama
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

great location, service very much average, reception was under-manned, but overall it was good given the location and the price.

Next time though, I will pick somewhere else, nothing to make it stand out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel was booked primarily for its location to city centre & easy access to main departmental stores.Although this hotel has 4 1/2 star rating I think that it was perhaps over rated but to be honest there was little to complain about. We had a very spacious room with x2 double beds, very clean, & quiet
The only gripe that I have is that the hotel in general is grubby (lobby) in need of a big refurbishment, colours dark & drab.
However it suited us as we only used the room to sleep & we were in the hub of all the activity
We did not use any facilities at the hotel as there were lots of restaurants to go to all in walking distance

Room Tip: Although I stipulated a room without airconditioning units I was still allocated with a room with an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Room nice and clean , hotel staff very friendly and knowledgeable about area
will look after luggage for you when you check out
Did not eat at hotel , lots of food choices outside of hotel

Not keen on melbourne as a place , but would stay at this hotel elsewhere

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra Headland, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

Room was ready at 9.30am which was a huge bonus, Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Our bathroom ceiling started leaking during the night and we were very quickly allocated another room. The louden restaurant was very noisy, not a great choice for a buffet brecky. Staff more interested in cleaning up and making lots of noise with dishes. Go to the little restaurant next door called the Crown Cafe.
Overall it was great. will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Hotel Swanston is in the heart of the city, close to restaurants, theatres, nightlife and Melbournes best shopping. The hotel features 200 spacious, well appointed rooms and a restaurant on the 15th floor which overlooks the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.