We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for White Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure to your Saves list
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Geelong, Australia
1 review
“Great location for White Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed here for the White Night Festival and it was a great location. It was surprisingly fairly quiet considering how many people were in Melbourne that night. The room and bathroom were a good size especially for two young children. We had breakfast in the Louden Restaurant and it was reasonably priced, kids ate for free and there was an adequate amount to choose from. The only negative was staff were slow to clear tables so it took a while for us to find a table large enough for the four of us. The only other thing that was not ideal was the valet parking setup, its down a laneway off little bourke st and it is tiny, there's barely enough room for two cars to squeeze past, but the parking staff do a great job in a not ideal situation. All in all I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    822
    344
    74
    40
See reviews for
454
592
180
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Recently I had spend a few weekends away in Melbourne and was recommended by friends that Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure is the hotel to stay. Location of this hotel is excellent. Walking distance to most places of interest. The superior King room are good but every time I check in they always put me in the corner room which is a lot smaller then the rest. I stayed in this hotel on the 23rd of Feb again and when booking on their website I had precisely written down "No corner room" and yet again they have given me room 1109. Breakfast is good but due to shortage of staffs the tables are dirty and we had to get someone to clean it up as it was a weekend and was pretty busy. I am a member of the Accor club and would say that service and attentiveness of staffs in this hotel is below average.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for a weekend whilst away for work. The location is great and central, close to restaurants and shops, the room itself is clean and comfortable and the staff are courteous. The downsides were that the bathroom door handle was broken and I got locked in the bathroom, lucky my husband was there. The wifi is not free and a $10 voucher is only good for one day. The television is hooked up to this mega annoying energy saver that even if you switch off will still turn the television off at random and irritating intervals and the late checkout policy is annoying - no 6PM for half room rate but $20 per hour after midday up to 4 PM.

Too many annoyances for me to consider returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Check-in and staff fabulous. Facilities equate the 4.5 star (gym, restaurant, pool); the hotel does need a refurbishment though.
Location great. Accessible to all that Melbourne has to offer.
Room was very hot however, and despite the maintenance staff 'fixing' it by dialing down the temperature to 12 degrees celsius, the room remained hot. Uncomfortably so.
I am sure there are other hotels in good locations that would meet the need and the budget better, when looking to accommodation in Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Hotel Swanston is in the heart of the city, close to restaurants, theatres, nightlife and Melbournes best shopping. The hotel features 200 spacious, well appointed rooms and a restaurant on the 15th floor which overlooks the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.