We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My most enjoyable stay at the Swanston Hotel Grand Mecure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure to your Saves list
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Write a Review

1,751 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    822
    344
    74
    40
See reviews for
454
592
180
296
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dandenong, Victoria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed overnight with friends. Great base to experience Melbourne CBD. Right in the middle with short strolls to Chinatown, shopping, trams and trains. Located on a mall, it is not easy to park and would recommend to people travelling without a car. We had superior rooms on level 10. Located at the front of the hotel, there was noise from the street. Liked the view though. Hotel was very clean and staff were nice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

the room is really nice and big, the bed is very soft and tender, the staff is nice and also the hotel is located in the middle of a great street which you can find big shop and also nice restauran along it. love this hotel so much and deffinetly going back to this hotel.
but for the breakfast is a so so breakfast nothing really special
in the afternoon sometimes you can find singer and people playing magic that is nice to make your day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I've stayed at this property on numerous occassions when visiting Melbourne for work. It's not a flash property by any stretch, but is conveniently located within the Melbourne CBD, and for chocolate fiends, it shares an arcade with the Melbourne Haigh's store. It's a very short walk to Chinatown, and within a short walk, there is a great selection of restaurants to choose from. Location is by and far this property's number 1 asset.

Whilst the rooms are a little tired and plain in decor, they are large and serve their purpose well. I imagine more could be done with the rooms should some renovations be undertaken.

A value for money hotel, if you're looking for a simple, well-located hotel in the Melbourne CBD, this is a reasonable option.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Well had another fantastic stay at this hotel. When we arrived we were welcomed back. Because we were returning guests they asked if we drank wine which we didn't so chocolates were fetched as a special little arrival gift. The young blonde girl on reception/check-in(sorry forget her name) asked us why we were in Melbourne which I told her to shop and browse and she immediately pulled out a map to show us the main shopping districts and areas. I went this time with my daughter so had a double room with 2 double beds. Our view was of the church, Eureka sky deck and Bourke St mall. I was sooo happy with this. Everything was clean. We had our rooms made up each day when we left to go shopping and found them made up by lunch time. One morning there was no water for a good 4 hours which for me was a bit of a buggar but was the only glitch in out 4 night stay. My husband and I are booked for April to watch some footy and do some tours so can't wait to return. The noise of the street below is not that bad it actually reminded me I was on holiday and smack bang in the middle of the best place I love to visit - Melbourne. Pokey machines off the foyer are great to have 5 minutes in. Breakfast was great for me but my daughter expected croissants and muffins which there were none. So many cake and coffee shops around so a good breakfast with bircher muesli fresh fruit bacon eggs and toast and juices was by far enough for me. The best place we found to shop was left out of the hotel and a 5 minute walk to Melbourne Central Station (opposite the uni) It had 3 levels of the best shopping and another floor of movie theatres. Turning right out of the hotel it's another 5-10 minute walk to Flinders St Station. Just behind it are a set of stairs that take you down to the Yarra River (stay to the left of the station - don't go into it). When you get a little way up you can cross a bridge so you are on the left side of the river. Walking approx. 20-25 mins brings you to South Wharf DFO. You will pass Eureka Sky Deck and Crown Casino along the way. So many nice restaurants at the Casino including Cervo. There's also a food hall right at the end with a lot of variety and gelato.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#58 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Hotel Swanston is in the heart of the city, close to restaurants, theatres, nightlife and Melbournes best shopping. The hotel features 200 spacious, well appointed rooms and a restaurant on the 15th floor which overlooks the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.