We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure to your Saves list
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
North East of England
Level Contributor
142 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Excellent Value and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stayed two weeks as part of a business trip. It all started with a confusion about my actual arrival date, which is not what you want to hear at 3am. But this apparently had nothing to do with the hotel, and staff did their best to find temporary accommodation in the hotel's annex (the 'Welcome', whose star rating is certainly lower) and checked me in the following morning. The room was truly excellent: spacious with the layout of a junior suite (separate living room with sofa and TV, another smaller TV in the bedroom), really ideal for an extended stay, and really good when you have to work. The hotel does not have free Internet access, but you have both wireless (10 AUD/24h) and LAN with different price plans (by the minute up to a maximum of 20+ AUD, by 24 hours). The restaurant is ok, so is the bar food and room service, but the natural choice is to eat in one of the many cafes and restaurants nearby. The hotel can get quite busy at times, which may be a problem if you need a late check-out for instance.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    897
    386
    86
    44
See reviews for
498
654
190
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ohope, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Excellent location, right in the heart of the city close to everything. Room was spacious and clean and there was no street noise so sleeping was easy.
Staff were helpful and friendly. Will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

I have stayed in the Swanston Hotel, on three occasions and the only reason I go back is because of the position, but I am definitely not going back next time as I realised how bad the facilities are, this is not a four and half star hotel, it is out dated and the beds and pillows are of the cheapest form ,worst sleep of my life. The receptionist that checked us in was very helpful the rest of them a lot to be desired. A smile costs nothing.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

It was very central to everything and the staff were very pleasent. Street noise was a slight problem but more to do with me as I'm a light sleeper.
Over all a very good eperience I ddn't eat in as I wanted to experence the varity of cafes with in the area .

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Hotel was great once checked in. Mix up with room availability to start. Not what you want after a red eye. Can live with room not being available at 7am although a nice perk as an Accor member when it happenbs but at 2pm (check in time) not as excited about having to wait. Staff were helpful at all other times. Concierges deseerve medals - they helped with ticket bookings, finding addresses etc. MAybe advertise more that tickets can be purchased from concierge as we only did this when we heard someone else doing it while arranging to get flight boarding passes. Main dissappointment is the credit card charge at end - no mention it was happening by staff member - noticed it when I got home. I still believe c/card charges should be built into the price - as would happen when one uses a credit card at the supermarket. You don't get charged extra.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Having stayed here a number of times over the years and raving about it to my friends I was very disappointed with my room this time. It was extremely noisy, in fact I could hear every single word said in the next room. Dispite a number of complaints made by me I was not moved. One night the person in the next room was smoking and when I complained I was given a bottle of wine and some chocolates but I was still not moved. I expected more.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

My Daughter and I found the hotel to be exactly what we were looking for as the position of this hotel was perfect for us for our shopping trip. It was location location location, with only a short walk to David Jones Myer and the Bourke street mall. Kelsey and I had dinner in the Hotel and found this to be very satisfactory. When we go back to Melbourne we will stay at the Hotel again as it was just what we were looiing for.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
0.0 mi away
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
Mercure Welcome Melbourne
#106 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 3,291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
0.1 mi away
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Melbourne - Flinders Street
0.2 mi away
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
#100 of 158 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure

Address: 195 Swanston St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Mercure Grand Hotel on Swanston)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#69 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Mercure Hotel Swanston is in the heart of the city, close to restaurants, theatres, nightlife and Melbournes best shopping. The hotel features 200 spacious, well appointed rooms and a restaurant on the 15th floor which overlooks the city centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Venere, ACCOR and EasyToBook so you can book your The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure Hotel Melbourne
The Swanston Hotel Grand Accor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.