We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crossley Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Crossley Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Crossley Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #47 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Gold Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Thumbs up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

As part of a mystery flight deal I had the standard room. Basic as the name would suggest, but appealing and very comfortable with everything I needed, and besides, who wants to hang out in their room when the location is so good? Walking distance to Chinatown and the Greek Precinct, more restaurants and bars than you could try in a month and a minute away from the free City Circle tram line you can use to check out museums, shopping, the Casino etc etc. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the rooms are amazingly quiet day and night. Can definitely recommend it and will be coming back again soon!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear J G,

Thank you for your recent 5/5 review.

I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. I'm glad you enjoyed the central location of the hotel, nearby to China Town and the Greek Precinct. There certainly is a huge variety of restaurants and bars to choose from nearby. It's also great to read that you found our staff helpful and friendly, I will be sure to pass this on to all of the team.

Thank you again for taking the time to post a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    243
    80
    25
    11
See reviews for
92
202
46
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

My daughters and I spent a week at Crossley Hotel. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Room was of a decent size and bathroom was very clean. The free wifi was a big plus. Overall, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Jenwong 2003,

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to read you and your daughters enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. I'm pleased you appreciated the use of the free wi-fi.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We stayed only one night at the Crossley on a recent weekend in Melbourne. The location was very handy being near Chinatown and the shops there. Staff were helpful at all times of night. We did not try the restaurant, but instead ate out at the establishments nearby, of which there are a good variety.

The biggest let-down for us was the tired decor, especially in the bathroom. While everything worked, we couldn't help the feeling that we'd stepped 20 years into the past. Another issue was the wireless internet system. While one of our devices was able to connect fine, the other two had issues and were basically unusable.

We had a corner room on the top floor.

If you get a good deal on one of the travel sites, and like a hotel that's not directly in the centre of everything where you can get a decent night's sleep, then the Crossley may suit you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear travelling_smurf,

Thank you for your recent review.

I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel's location in the heat of china town. It's also great to read that you found our staff helpful at all times.

I'm sorry to read that you found the hotel decor out dated, we appreciate your comments and feedback and will take this on board when planning our continual improvements and refurbishment program. I would also like to apologise for the issues that arose with the Wi-Fi connection in your room, I do hope you contacted reception and they were able to help you rectify the situation.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

While the hotel is fairly basic, it is in a great location next to Chinatown and only 20 mins walk from the CBD. We did not take breakfast or dine at the restaurant connected to the hotel, but chose to have breakfast in the city. There are lots of dining and drinking options nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Kevd112,

Thank you for your recent review.

I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for highlighting the central location of the hotel, you are right it is near by to lots of restaurants and other eateries.

Once again thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This has to be one of Melbourne's best kept secrets! Lovely accommodation in a superb position, central to the Theatre area, right at the beginning of China Town, and incredibly quiet at night!! The staff are lovely, nothing too much trouble. Definitely worth a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear ratter1942,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review.

I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm also delighted to read your positive comments on our staff, I'm glad you found your stay was hassle free and the staff were able assist you with any queries you had. I will be sure to let all the team know.

Thanks again for posting a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I enjoyed a two night stay in at the Crossley Hotel. It is so convenient to all the theatres, restaurants and gardens and a short walk down thru Chinatown to all the city shops. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was very pleasant with a handy kitchen area.
Looking forward to our next break in at the Crossley.

Lynne A.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Lynne A,

Thank you for your recent 5/5 review.

I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the Hotel's central location and found it close to theatres, restaurants and gardens. I'm also pleased that you found our staff friendly and helpful.

Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Clean and modern room, great spot and close to everything. the staff were very friendly and happy to help. There is also a restaurant on site and plenty more to choose from close by. Very reasonable rates too. Will definitely return! Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa T, Manager at The Crossley Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Vicki D,

Thank you for your recent 5/5 review.

I'm pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us. I'm glad you found the hotel clean and modern. It's also great to read that you appreciated the hotel's central location.

Thanks again Vicki, for taking the time to write a review and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crossley Hotel on your next visit to Melbourne.

Regards,

Melissa Terminelli
Property Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Crossley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crossley Hotel

Address: 51 Little Bourke St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Crossley Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary, boutique style accommodation ranging from Standard rooms to Executive Suites with kitchenette and microwave. Located in the heart of the entertainment precinct of Melbourne, the hotel is synonymous with comfort and convenience whether for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Crossley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crossley Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.