We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very unique Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adelphi Hotel to your Saves list
Adelphi Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
New Express Lunch Menu
Ranked #6 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A very unique Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I chose the Adelphi Hotel in downtown Melbourne for its interesting design (photos online) and the great location. Other good reviews on Trip Advisor also helped me with my selection. It turned out to be a great choice. I had a room in the 7th floor, no view but very bright. The decoration and furniture was beautiful, so was the bathroom. Very quiet room! A very special feature is the free goodie jar (filled with chocolates and other yummy treats) and minibar. Never have seen that anywhere else. The staff, especially at the reception (Alex etc) was very friendly and helpful with giving directions, suggesting restaurants nearby etc. I loved the little roof top bar: enjoyed a glass of champagne sitting on the edge of the pool and cooling my eet in the water. An oasis in the middle of a big city! Loved my first stay so much that I returned for 2 more nights at the end of my trip.

Room Tip: upper floor, not too close to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    61
    26
    3
    4
See reviews for
32
176
12
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Griffith, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

From the moment we turned up, the service was the best I've ever had, we were greeted and our bags were taken, a complimentary champagne was given to my friends and I while we waited for our room to be done up, we were then escorted to our room and shown the apartment and where everything was. Everything was complimentary, coffee pods, bottled water, lollies and all! the rooms were also amazing, really funky, clean and modern. Awesome location! It was extremely close to everything in the CBD in Melbourne.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Adelphi is ideally located in Melbourne's Flinders Lane amongst some famous restaurants.
Most attractions are in walking distance or only a tram ride away.
The service is great and the rooms well appointed.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Adelphi certainly lives up to the true meaning of Boutique Hotel.. from the moment I went to left my bag up the stairs and was gently intercepted by an alert friendly Adelphi staffer to finding the macaroon placed next to my bed in the evening, to the expresso coffee machine in the room., to the delicious breakfast. Did I mention you are inn the Heart of Melbs... Gorgeous, Gorgeous, Gorgeous....can't wait to return.. Thank You, Adelphi...

Room Tip: possibly , higher floor if one smokes , as is a roof terrace and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This hotel is well located in Flinders Lane if you want to get to the MCG or the other laneway food and shopping that only Melbourne can offer. The service was pleasant and efficient and the room clean and accommodating. However it was noisy at night and at $900 for two nights we really did expect more luxury than what was on offer.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Plush Room. This hotel is really all about its great location, so the extra room cos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Adelphi is conveniently located right in the centre of the CBD. It's an easy walks to laneway cafes, Bourke St Mall, Chinatown and attractions including Federation Square and NGV.

We booked late so got the Comfy King which comfortably fits an extra single bed. Impressively the rollaway bed has a proper mattress not one of those with a kink in the middle from being folded in half all the time.

The all inclusive movies, mini bar (non-alcoholic) and snacks were a fun treat. Linen and toiletries all excellent.

All the staff were lovely with some being exceptional.

Negatives - the shower was crazy. The water changed from scalding hot to freezing cold and back again seemingly of its own accord. Milk in the mini fridge was past its expiry date (a replacement was promptly procured). We had some noisy neighbours who decided to hold midnight gossip sessions in the hallway but happily couldn't be heard anymore once they actually went into their own rooms.

Overall, really loved it and will definitely stay again.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed at the Adelphi for our anniversary and they make it such a personal experience. We arrived at the hotel just after midnight and were greeted with champagne sent up to our room, macaroons next to the bed and a gorgeous chocolate heart with anniversary well wishes from all the staff. In addition to this they congratulated us with a little note on our mirror as well! We loved all the little touches including free lollies, mini bar and movies. I had read a few reviews on the hotel and suggestions previous guests made had quickly been implemented ie shower cap, ear plugs etc. It was very obvious Adelphi staff take great pride in their hotel and the experience they can provide for all who stay. It was a little bit loud at times as we were only on the 3rd floor, but the bed and pillows were so comfy that we slept incredibly well. Initially my husband and I were considering staying at the Crown Towers, Intercontinental or Hilton but decided to try boutique and we will continue staying at the Adelphi for our Melbourne choice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Address: 187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelphi Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Hotel presents an extraordinary palette of temptations. Swinging couches, signature desserts, cocktails, candles and a pillow scent menu are merely the entree. Discover thirty-four sumptuous rooms, world-class amenities, our serene foyer, function areas and famous pool, as well as Ezard restaurant, Mon Bijou cocktail bar and the new Om Nom dessert restaurant and bar.Centrally located moments from Federation Square, yet tucked away on Flinders Lane,our guests enjoy the sensation of escape. Give in to rare indulgence. Let your eyes take in the colour and the light. Lose yourself in luxury, in texture. Absorb the subtle scents and soft sounds, the whispers, laughter and music. Dig in to experience delectable taste like never before. Settle in for the sweetest of dreams. Dive in, to be enlivened.Adelphi Hotel offers a variety of rooms and suites, catering to differing needs, occasions and budgets. All accommodation features contemporary styling and amenity, brand new plush carpets, modern LED strip lighting and bedroom vanity units. Relax with the in-room entertainment system and 40-inch flat-screen LED Smart TV. Enjoy our large, well-ventilated bathrooms and Appelles Apothecary bathroom treats. When required, work away at a writing desk with additional power points for laptops, mobile phones and iPods, plus bedside iHome docking station/radio alarm clock and universal connections for all audio devices including iPhone 5. Double beds are king-sized, with an additional rollaway bed for each room available upon request. Room rates include Wifi access, free local phone calls, a range of delicious in-room snacks and refreshments, and a welcome drink at the bar. The Boardroom at Adelphi makes an impressive setting for boardroom meetings and small-scale business events for up to 10 people. Located on the 8th floor, with north-facing windows overlooking Flinders Lane, it is bright, spacious and well appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, TravelClick, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelphi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.