We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalized service, all inclusive, walk to everything” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Adelphi Hotel to your Saves list
Adelphi Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
1 Free Breakfast Daily
Ranked #5 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
global sailor
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Personalized service, all inclusive, walk to everything”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We've visited Australia a few years ago, but this was our first visit to Melbourne. Traveled w/my 17 year old daughter, who needed a place within walking distance to Australian Ballet and Melbourne City Center Theater. From initial contact via online reservation to check-out after a 5-day stay, every element of service was personalized. Our morning check-in happened sitting at a lobby table over delicious complimentary lattes. Room was immediately cleaned and we were able to dump our stuff, freshen up and explore the city before lunchtime. Daily water bottles, salty and sweet snacks and juices were all included as well as free wifi in our room. Surrounding the property are tons of restaurants, cafes, free public trams, museums, pretty much everything you'd want within a 3 minute walk from the front door. The customer service here was far superior to the run of the mill treatment we rec'd in Sydney at a big chain hotel. The cleaning staff noticed our habits and enhanced our stay by leaving clean bowls and spoons for our early morning yogurt/muesli. And when our 6:45am arranged airport cab was not at the front door at check out, the front desk agent ran multiple blocks, in heels, to hail us a taxi immediately. All with a smile on her face. We were smiling too, every time we came or went, because we were greeted by first name and asked how our day was going or if we needed any assistance. We'd absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    55
    22
    3
    4
See reviews for
29
153
9
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed for eight nights at the Adelphi Hotel and loved every minute of it. The staff are so kind and warm, the location is right in the heart of an area brimming with street art and great restaurants, and the hotel itself has a personality all its own. I was on a business trip, and it was a huge relief not to stay in a typical corporate-business hotel. Going back to the hotel after meetings felt like going back home. There is an emphasis on design, comfort, aesthetics, originality, and friendliness. I look forward to staying there again!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Had a wonderful 2 nights in this hotel. Funky decor and fittings. Bed was very comfortable though a touch on the soft side. Excellent choice of pillows. Room was large even though we only had a basic room. Great location, close to some really good restaurants, easy walking to shops and the Art Gallery.
Free lollies, water, soft drinks and wifi are added value, as are the welcome drinks and the macaroon turn-down service.
Pleased that the hotel has increased the lighting in the lifts.
The staff were very friendly and accomodating of our requests.
Only down side was the noise from the pool party on the Sunday afternoon. Our room was directly beneath the pool and the music was intrusive.
Despite this we would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at this establishment to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We wanted somewhere a little different, and with a personal touch. Adelphi did not dissapoint in those aspects. Greeted with a warm welcome from Kim, who escorted us to our room to show us and explain the amenities. Included was a the "Happy Lab", movies and wifi. Was greeted with a lovely message written on our mirror, and a chocolate love heart on the bed with a card from the staff. Major downfall which really disappointed our experience was the noise heard inside the room when other guests were walking past. The bed is also very hard. Otherwise this rating would have been close to 5 out of 5. Staff must have also been aware of this (not from us) as on the 2nd night we had a pair of earplugs left on our bedside table. A nice touch was receiving a macaron placed next to the bed when turn down had been completed. Room service from Om Nom was lovely - a gorgeous lemon tart.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms near elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Canberra, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The staff at the Adelphi were just wonderful. My partner and I were offered champagne on arrival and the staff couldn't do enough. Fabulous location too. The only down side was the rooms are noisy which is a given way when you see the complimentary ear plugs by the became! I'd still go back.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elena-Adelphi, Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Marina_BG71

It was an absolute pleasure hosting you and we appreciate your significant comments regarding the sincere effort provided by our staff and your constructive response with respect to the environmental variables associated to the proximity of our Hotel, within the lively heart of Melbourne City.

Please contact us directly for any impending visits to Adelphi, so that we may assist in concerting every effort to ensure your next stay surpasses the latter.

Best,
Elena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My husband and I just got home from a wonderful and relaxing stay at the Adelphi for our 10 year anniversary. The location, the rooms and the decor are great, and the free minibar, drinks and movies are a nice touch. The best part is definitely the service though. We felt very welcomed and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. Lea helped me arrange a massage, and they sent up welcome drinks when we checked in. We were also given a heart chocolate with a card handwritten from the staff congratulating us on our anniversary. But the highlight was definitely the coffee we ordered from room service both mornings - it took less than 10 minutes, was actually hot and proper espresso. And the soy was Bonsoy - unheard of in a hotel! V impressed.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our Christmastime stay at the Adelphi was great, the staff were friendly and helpful and the room was excellent. The added extras like sweets in the room, free movies, bedside macarons and rooftop pool make any stay more interesting, but the quality setting and brilliant location provide more than enough reasons to recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Address: 187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelphi Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Hotel presents an extraordinary palette of temptations. Swinging couches, signature desserts, cocktails, candles and a pillow scent menu are merely the entree. Discover thirty-four sumptuous rooms, world-class amenities, our serene foyer, function areas and famous pool, as well as Ezard restaurant, Mon Bijou cocktail bar and the new Om Nom dessert restaurant and bar.Centrally located moments from Federation Square, yet tucked away on Flinders Lane,our guests enjoy the sensation of escape. Give in to rare indulgence. Let your eyes take in the colour and the light. Lose yourself in luxury, in texture. Absorb the subtle scents and soft sounds, the whispers, laughter and music. Dig in to experience delectable taste like never before. Settle in for the sweetest of dreams. Dive in, to be enlivened.Adelphi Hotel offers a variety of rooms and suites, catering to differing needs, occasions and budgets. All accommodation features contemporary styling and amenity, brand new plush carpets, modern LED strip lighting and bedroom vanity units. Relax with the in-room entertainment system and 40-inch flat-screen LED Smart TV. Enjoy our large, well-ventilated bathrooms and Appelles Apothecary bathroom treats. When required, work away at a writing desk with additional power points for laptops, mobile phones and iPods, plus bedside iHome docking station/radio alarm clock and universal connections for all audio devices including iPhone 5. Double beds are king-sized, with an additional rollaway bed for each room available upon request. Room rates include Wifi access, free local phone calls, a range of delicious in-room snacks and refreshments, and a welcome drink at the bar. The Boardroom at Adelphi makes an impressive setting for boardroom meetings and small-scale business events for up to 10 people. Located on the 8th floor, with north-facing windows overlooking Flinders Lane, it is bright, spacious and well appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelphi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.