We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personal, central and styley boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Adelphi Hotel to your Saves list
Adelphi Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
1 Free Breakfast Daily
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Auckland,NZ
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Personal, central and styley boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I recently spent 4 nights at the Adelphi during the Australian Open. We loved the friendly and helpful staff - thanks Ricky and Lea especially - who did their best to make you feel an honoured guest, remembering your names (a very effective technique!) and details about your stay which made the whole experience so much more personal. The very best has been made of an inner Melbourne old building with creative and artistic detailing and furnishings giving what could have been a dark, chilly cavern a comfortable, modern twist. there is a pleasant cocktail bar, and we can thoroughly recommend the dry martini cocktails mixed by Fletcher. Our room was a good size with interesting furnishings and the bathroom enormous. As in most hotel rooms, the lighting was for effect rather than bright enough for aging eyes! But that is a small gripe. No view, but that was to be expected from the location. We overlooked the side alley and have to say that we did not notice any street noise, even though we were only on Floor 4. Lovely touches such as the welcoming message on the mirror and the tempting, complimentary goodies in a beautiful glass jar. To be highly recommended. We will be back!

Room Tip: Room 402 has a large bathroom and overlooks a side alley which we found quite quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    44
    20
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
132
9
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The hotel is in a great location in the CBD of Melbourne, itself a buzzy, exciting city.
Adelphi is very near the hub, easy walking access to shops and great restaurants.

The staff were smart and courteous and helpful. The little chocolate macaroon by the beside and personal, welcome message scribbled on the lounge mirror nice touches.

The air con was quiet. The room was quiet.

One star is witheld because the bathroom designed with stainless steel reminded me of a hospital washroom... and bec it was also not butted up to the back wall meant that your small items fell off easily behind. But its a small detraction.

The rooftop swimming pool was pleasant enough for an evening day on the hottest days of our 3 week stay in the city. We were at the hotel two days.

All in all a very nice hotel.

Room Tip: Perhaps one in the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed for 5 nights and was looking forward to the style and swank of this "recently" renovated boutique hotel. I booked a plush room on the 6th floor. Did the hotel deliver....well not really. There were some exceptional moments like when I was stranded for dinner reservation and the wonderful front desk gals escorted me to a nearby "hot" restaurant and arranged a table. But on the down side..the place is looking tired, the beds not that comfortable, inability to open a window to get fresh air, lack of help with luggage, limited dining options and so on. I want to stay in the hotel shown on the website....but alas I stayed at a different one. Location however is great.

Room Tip: Most rooms no view. Rooms near the lift well can be very noisy. Street noise on level 6 was OK but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We decided at the last minute to get a room at the Adelphi Hotel on the Australia Day long weekend, after seeing it listed on the Design Hotels website.

I haven't thought about the hotel for years but the new candy themed makeover was cute and matched the idea of having a 'decadent' weekend - all rules were out.

The hotel suite was cool - lots of chocolate brown and flashes of candy colours and a huge chevron patterned rug. I also liked the little touches like the little log coffee table, the stainless steel sheet hiding the fridge and backlit circular mirror. I liked the old windows and the myriad of blinds covering it.

We got a Flinders King which faces Flinders Lane, so there was noise late into the night. We were aware of this so had brought our own earplugs so it didn't bother us at all. We both had a fantastic nights sleep.

The king size bed was very comfy. People on this site always complain about the pillows being too soft but I liked them. All my favourite hotels overseas have them so people should get over it. We had trouble with the lighting, it took half an hour to work out how turn all the lights off.

On the day we checked in there was a poolside BBQ with cocktails. The BBQ food was delicious and cocktails in the sun made everything woozy. The whole scene was a bit intense - so many lager swilling British nationals here for the tennis taking never-ending selfies and dry humping in the pool. The vibe was a bit sexual - next to us a pan-european backpacker in a g-string, bobbed her tramp stamped butt up and down, everything pushed up and out as she perched on the pool ladder. As I scanned the vista I noted there were also some families and older people and that kinda chilled it out a bit.

To be honest the whole thing seemed a bit ramshackle - as if their marketing was off kilter and the wrong people had turned up. Having said that maybe that's what made it fun?

After dinner we made our pilgrimmage to the Adelphi's Om Nom Dessert Restaurant. We got the famous Raspberry Fields and the mango cake which we enjoyed so much we ordered a third dessert - the Black Forrest ice cream cake - the cherry jelly was amazing.

The service was at the Hotel was very professional. Everyone we dealt with was friendly even the poor night manager who we called upon to help us with the lights at 2am.

Finally, I have to say I loved the freebies - the candy was swiftly eaten and the Aesop-esque toiletries (by Appelles Apothecary and Lab) were a luxe treat. The bath caviar managed the feat of smelling earthy, clean and rich - what a lovely surprise.

The hotel's candy theme which may seem odd was actually very effective in communicating the idea of fun - which help create a romantic and memorable stay. I would stay at the Adelphi again and I would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room choose one toward the back of hotel, Flinders Lane can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My husband and I have just returned from a 2 night getaway for our 5th wedding anniversary. Amazed would be an understatement.

From the moment we arrived, we felt that the staff genuinely cared about making our time there special. We checked in early without any fuss at all. The beautiful plush King suite was bright and cheery, with special little touches that just make it something out of the ordinary.

The mini bar which is included in the price was delicious. The roof top pool lots of fun. The location unbeatable. We did not eat at the restaurant due to limited time but would love to next visit as it looked amazing. The room was immaculate, including the bathroom!

What more can I say than we were impressed from check in to check out and would definately stay there again, hopefully soon!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial Park
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of this hotel couldn't get much better. It is surrounded by fun, good quality restaurants and bars and a (very) short walk to Bourke St Mall, Flinders St station, the MCC, Capt Cooks Cottage etc etc. The service was great, very friendly and very courteous. My only complaint is the pillows were too soft and therefore uncomfortable.
I would definitely stay here again. Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My 5-point criteria rates the Adelphi a solid 4 stars. On the helpfulness criteria it scores 1/2 - the staff did there best but I was surprised that they didn't have more information on-hand about the top restaurants in the area. On cleanliness it scores 1, no problems here. On bed comfort it scores 1/2 - they were too soft for my liking and the pillows too large. It wasn't noisy for us but I did note that they provide earplugs (our room was on low level, street facing). The Lavaza in room coffee machine ensures it scores 1 for morning coffee quality, although we didn't have breakfast so can't vouch for the breakfast coffee. Now let me see, this hotel scores well on wow factor but I'd have to say that there was something I didn't like about the candy theme. But that's purely subjective, so I'm still gonna give it 1 point for wow factor.

So four points it is!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Address: 187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#8 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelphi Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Hotel presents an extraordinary palette of temptations. Swinging couches, signature desserts, cocktails, candles and a pillow scent menu are merely the entree. Discover thirty-four sumptuous rooms, world-class amenities, our serene foyer, function areas and famous pool, as well as Ezard restaurant, Mon Bijou cocktail bar and the new Om Nom dessert restaurant and bar.Centrally located moments from Federation Square, yet tucked away on Flinders Lane,our guests enjoy the sensation of escape. Give in to rare indulgence. Let your eyes take in the colour and the light. Lose yourself in luxury, in texture. Absorb the subtle scents and soft sounds, the whispers, laughter and music. Dig in to experience delectable taste like never before. Settle in for the sweetest of dreams. Dive in, to be enlivened.Adelphi Hotel offers a variety of rooms and suites, catering to differing needs, occasions and budgets. All accommodation features contemporary styling and amenity, brand new plush carpets, modern LED strip lighting and bedroom vanity units. Relax with the in-room entertainment system and 40-inch flat-screen LED Smart TV. Enjoy our large, well-ventilated bathrooms and Appelles Apothecary bathroom treats. When required, work away at a writing desk with additional power points for laptops, mobile phones and iPods, plus bedside iHome docking station/radio alarm clock and universal connections for all audio devices including iPhone 5. Double beds are king-sized, with an additional rollaway bed for each room available upon request. Room rates include Wifi access, free local phone calls, a range of delicious in-room snacks and refreshments, and a welcome drink at the bar. The Boardroom at Adelphi makes an impressive setting for boardroom meetings and small-scale business events for up to 10 people. Located on the 8th floor, with north-facing windows overlooking Flinders Lane, it is bright, spacious and well appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelphi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.