We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Adelphi Hotel to your Saves list
Adelphi Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
1 Free Breakfast Daily
Ranked #4 of 172 Hotels in Melbourne
Western Australia, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Central location to some excellent restaurants within walking distance. Train station only a 5 min walk.
The front office staff at the hotel were exceptional. Not only were they professional they were also a pleasure to speak to. I cannot remember staying in a hotel where the staff actually enjoyed bending over backwards to assist in making ones stay enjoyable. The location is perfect for getting to and fro around Melbourne. When back in Melbourne we hope we will be able to acquire a booking.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 6th & 8th floor which helps to reduce noise level from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    34
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
111
7
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for two nights on our first trip to Melbourne. First impression was a bit negative as the hotel entrance is up a flight of steps and there is no ramp, no bellman showed up until I had lugged my suitcases up. However receptionist was friendly and we got a great room on the top floor. The rooms are in a modern style, all aluminum washbasins, graffiti art etc so you need to like this. Also none of the rooms have a view to speak of (you look out to the next building). On the plus side they are huge, the building across the street seems abandoned so I wasn't too worried having the shades opened, and the rooms were quiet. As others have mentioned, the free mini-bar with great snacks and drinks is something special. The pool is tiny, on the rooftop. The location is amazing, right behind Fed Square (the Westin is next door) and we were able to walk to cool places like Movida, Cumulus, etc.

Pros:
Location
Friendly staff
Free snacks, movies and wifi
Large rooms
Great bathroom amenities
Large bathroom and nice shower

Cons:
Stairs to entrance, no ramp
Dark lift
Stark modern bathroom, insufficient hooks or storage area

Room Tip: Ask for the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Fantastic boutique hotel, very well positioned. The hotel staff could not have done more to help us and make our stay enjoyable. Staff even provided ear plugs when I mentioned that I had been waken up by noisy people leaving the function room . I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Adelphi has a fantastic location (Flinders Lane) and is a lovely place to stay.

The rooms are spacious, well designed and comfortable. The furniture is cool and the vibe is luxe. Probably the best thing about the hotel is its generosity: there is lots of room, free wifi and movies, the staff go out of their way to help and the snacks and soft drinks are complementary.

The only downsides are that the soundproofing isn't great and the towels were a little thin. But these really don't detract from the overall fabulousness.

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Everything about our stay was great - location is perfect. The hotel rooms are lovely - comfy beds, spacious rooms and of course the complimentary lolly jar that gets refilled every day is rather cool. Staff are friendly.
Only thing that was not so cool was the free wi-fi was a bit hit and miss - it seemed to keep dropping out which made it a bit difficult if we needed to do work. however the staff were extremely helpful in trying to rectify it.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Currumbin, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My self and my husband stayed one night and didn't want to leave.

From the time we checked in (12 noon) until we checked out (11am) we felt so welcome and relaxed!

This boutique hotel has it all..Rooms are spacious and clean, bed is super comfy, bathroom is large and amenities are organic and smell amazing!

The staff are all so friendly and engaging...we often stay at large chain hotels in Melbourne (and tend to have a less personal feel to them)but not any more...we loved it so much we are going back for our anniversary in Feb! We loved the happy lab (free) the mini bar (free) the wi-fi (free) and breakfast (included) was so yummy!

The roof top pool is amazing...it has a glass bottom up one end and you can look down on the street 9 floors down at people walking by!!!...and did I mention the (free) drink on arrival!

Easy walking to all things Melbourne.....I just cant rate the Adelphi enough!

Thank you Lance and your wonderful team, see you all in a few months!

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Fabulous stay. You won't regret your decision..

If you think good service is a thing of the past then stay here. The staff are very professional and friendly too. The rooms are funky and very spacious. There is a 'happy lab' lolly jar in the room that is complimentary and is replenished every day, and other additional touches that are a nice surprise...!!

The location is just perfect for a stay in Melbourne, in the heart of the city and near to some of the best places to eat, good shopping and a day spa. Restaurants, Movida, Chin Chin and Super Normal are in the same street and so is Endota Day Spa!

It is the small things that count in this boutique hotel such as the personal and friendly service but with the amenities of the big hotels such as a pool, Om Nom restaurant (excellent desserts!!), room service and nice toiletries etc...

Not surprised in the least that they have won awards! They are deserving of them...

You will love it!

Room Tip: I stayed with a friend but would not hesitate to return with my husband and 2 year old daughter, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Address: 187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelphi Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Hotel presents an extraordinary palette of temptations. Swinging couches, signature desserts, cocktails, candles and a pillow scent menu are merely the entree. Discover thirty-four sumptuous rooms, world-class amenities, our serene foyer, function areas and famous pool, as well as Ezard restaurant, Mon Bijou cocktail bar and the new Om Nom dessert restaurant and bar.Centrally located moments from Federation Square, yet tucked away on Flinders Lane,our guests enjoy the sensation of escape. Give in to rare indulgence. Let your eyes take in the colour and the light. Lose yourself in luxury, in texture. Absorb the subtle scents and soft sounds, the whispers, laughter and music. Dig in to experience delectable taste like never before. Settle in for the sweetest of dreams. Dive in, to be enlivened.Adelphi Hotel offers a variety of rooms and suites, catering to differing needs, occasions and budgets. All accommodation features contemporary styling and amenity, brand new plush carpets, modern LED strip lighting and bedroom vanity units. Relax with the in-room entertainment system and 40-inch flat-screen LED Smart TV. Enjoy our large, well-ventilated bathrooms and Appelles Apothecary bathroom treats. When required, work away at a writing desk with additional power points for laptops, mobile phones and iPods, plus bedside iHome docking station/radio alarm clock and universal connections for all audio devices including iPhone 5. Double beds are king-sized, with an additional rollaway bed for each room available upon request. Room rates include Wifi access, free local phone calls, a range of delicious in-room snacks and refreshments, and a welcome drink at the bar. The Boardroom at Adelphi makes an impressive setting for boardroom meetings and small-scale business events for up to 10 people. Located on the 8th floor, with north-facing windows overlooking Flinders Lane, it is bright, spacious and well appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelphi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.