We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Adelphi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A wonderful stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Everything at the Adelphi was wonderful, right from booking the room up until check-out.

Hotel staff were very friendly, patient and accomodating. We received a welcome drink at Om Nom upon arrival which was fabulous. The rooms were lovely, very clean, and the HappyLab minibar, free movies, and the goodnight macarons left at our bedside were really nice touches. Our dining experience at OmNom, below the hotel, was also superb. The creme brulee cocktail and the Chocolate souffle were delicious. The room was quite small, however it was very cosy and was all we needed, and had plenty of storage space. The only downside would be the bathroom. Difficult to shower without water splashing all over the floor under the shower door. Apart from that, the lovely touches at Om Nom will definitely have us back.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    30
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
88
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Staff were very helpful and polite. Funky atmosphere and beautiful rooms.
Lovely foyer. Location is superb close to great restaurants and the city.
Fabulous stay. We received a great welcome as we arrived.

Room Tip: all good. light and airy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tours
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a great boutique hotel, rooms are nice (bathroom could do with an exhaust) staff very friendly, and wonderful breakfast and coffee, free mini bar or goodies bar and free movies, you only need to walk across the road to the super trendy Supernormal for super asian delights or down the road to Chin Chin or Lucy Liu all wonderful restaurants, the only problem is of course some nights it was a little noisy but hey you're in the middle of the city and to be expected, highly recommended for that personal service type of hotel and walking distance to melbourne's hotspots

Room Tip: bring your swimmers and try the lap pool, it is heated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan juc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed on night one of our honeymoon and received a handwritten "congrats" note from the staff and a little extra treat. Staff were relaxed but attentive, more cool than stuffy. The complimentary candy was a great touch. Awesome location for the airport and surrounding restaurants (we went to Coda which was 2 minutes away, drool).

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As a single female traveller I highly recommend the Adelphi. The hotel is in an ideal location, with many iconic Melbourne cafes/restaurants on its doorstep, plus CBD shopping, Southbank, trains and trams close by. Upon arrival, the very friendly concierge spotted me with my luggage outside on the footpath and came bounding down the steps to carry it up for me. I was then welcomed by a very pleasant young lady who suggested I sit down and relax while check-in was organised and my luggage taken up to my room. I was personally shown to my Comfy King room and all features and inclusions were clearly explained. So my first impressions of the service at this hotel were very good, and this high level of service continued throughout my entire stay. Both the bedroom and bathroom are spacious - very funky with minimal furnishings, although plenty of wardrobe space which is always a bonus. The bed is extremely comfortable and the blackout blinds keep the room really dark for a good night's sleep. The Appelles bathroom products are lovely and are available for purchase at reception. All of the inclusions in the room rate make this hotel quite exceptional - a complimentary drink at Om Nom, a selection of non-alcoholic drinks in the room, plus a huge lolly jar filled with sweet treats which are replenished each day. Also free Wifi and an impressive choice of movies. The breakfasts at Om Nom are delicious and reasonably priced, and make sure you treat yourself one evening to an Om Nom dessert - an experience like no other! Overall, a very memorable hotel stay!!

Room Tip: Stay on a high floor away from Flinders Lane for a quieter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great experience with Adelphi. We were greeted at the door and the service was excellent at every moment of the stay. The rooms (king room) are stylish, clean and spacious. The location is unbeatable and loved the night-time vibe on a Saturday night. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrnambool, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loveliest staff, such a central location and, most importantly, beautiful rooms!
Beds were really comfortable, free mini bar is always a perk!
Will be coming back!

(Only negative is the poor lighting in the bathroom, putting make up on was not easy.)

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Address: 187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelphi Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Hotel presents an extraordinary palette of temptations. Swinging couches, signature desserts, cocktails, candles and a pillow scent menu are merely the entree. Discover thirty-four sumptuous rooms, world-class amenities, our serene foyer, function areas and famous pool, as well as Ezard restaurant, Mon Bijou cocktail bar and the new Om Nom dessert restaurant and bar.Centrally located moments from Federation Square, yet tucked away on Flinders Lane,our guests enjoy the sensation of escape. Give in to rare indulgence. Let your eyes take in the colour and the light. Lose yourself in luxury, in texture. Absorb the subtle scents and soft sounds, the whispers, laughter and music. Dig in to experience delectable taste like never before. Settle in for the sweetest of dreams. Dive in, to be enlivened.Adelphi Hotel offers a variety of rooms and suites, catering to differing needs, occasions and budgets. All accommodation features contemporary styling and amenity, brand new plush carpets, modern LED strip lighting and bedroom vanity units. Relax with the in-room entertainment system and 40-inch flat-screen LED Smart TV. Enjoy our large, well-ventilated bathrooms and Appelles Apothecary bathroom treats. When required, work away at a writing desk with additional power points for laptops, mobile phones and iPods, plus bedside iHome docking station/radio alarm clock and universal connections for all audio devices including iPhone 5. Double beds are king-sized, with an additional rollaway bed for each room available upon request. Room rates include Wifi access, free local phone calls, a range of delicious in-room snacks and refreshments, and a welcome drink at the bar. The Boardroom at Adelphi makes an impressive setting for boardroom meetings and small-scale business events for up to 10 people. Located on the 8th floor, with north-facing windows overlooking Flinders Lane, it is bright, spacious and well appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelphi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.