We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generous Hotel where the Guests come first” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Adelphi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Book Direct-Free Dessert!
Ranked #3 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Limassol, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Generous Hotel where the Guests come first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed at The Adelphi at the end of a trip to Melbourne for two nights. We researched a few hotels in the area & also consulted a local friend.

We decided on the Adelphi because it stood out as being different & the style of the hotel along with the amenities sold it to us. We were not disappointed!
I'll list what we thought was great about this place:

Central location

Very friendly & helpful staff

Spacious, comfortable & stylish rooms, good quality furnishings & very comfortable bed = good sleep quality.

Extremely generous complimentary mini bar (softs) and Sweetie jar by Happy Lab (replenished every day).

Free movies! (Yes, free).

Great restaurant (Om Nom).

Heated roof top swimming pool.

I loved the leather clad lift.

Generous breakfast with coffee up to my exacting standards!

The staff allowed us a late check out with absolutely no indication of this being an inconvenience.

Normally we write a few things that we think a hotel could improve on but in this instance (apart from perhaps investing in a ramp for the few stairs at the front for guests that may have mobility difficulties) there's nothing else that The Adelphi could improve on.

To sum up. This hotel is in our all time top five ever!

Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    119
    27
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
16
82
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a two night stay at the Adelphi so that we could indulge ourselves at Vue de Monde and Ezard (both excellent). As the latter is in the basement of the Adelphi it seemed a natural choice. The location is one of my favourite parts of Melbourne as there always an interesting shop or cafe or bar around Flinders Lane. The Adelphi was recently renovated and it showed. For a hotel which has now been around for a while the room had a fresh modern feel and was very spacious. The front desk service was very attentive and the bar at the back was a lovely place for a pre or post dinner drink. Free mini bar in the room including very cute sweets was an added bonus. We couldn't fault anything and had a wonderful time. If staying here a meal at Ezard is a must.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My first stay at the Adelphi, having lived in Melbourne in the past my experience with the hotel was more with the restaurant below (Ezard, excellent) and the fact that the pool up the top jutted out over Flinders Lane. Needing a hotel for a two night business visit I decided to give it a try.
Booking was straight forward and efficient.
Arrived very late evening, no problems at all with this, greeted at reception, check in was effortless and the complimentary welcome drink was catered for even though the bar was in the process of closing up.
Room was excellent, no issue with noise (although given the location I could see that this may be an issue for some on certain nights), well presented and comfortable, The free lollies (candies) was a nice touch as was the free mini bar (although pretty sparse in terms of just water, Coke and orange juice). Very modern feel to the room and bathroom but felt very homely. The double curtains were good for blocking out the light from the many windows (my room overlooked Flinders Lane).
Service during the stay was excellent, very friendly and attentive staff.
Had a light breakfast at the bar area, this was fine also.
I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Room Tip: Can't comment on other rooms but my room facing Flinders Lane was a nice room and I'd ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We chose to stay at the Adelphi because we were going to have dinner at Ezard which is right underneath the hotel.
It was very nice - but it was less than we expected for the price we payed. Perhaps we should have shopped for a better price.
The room was all right but the outlook on to an old dirty wall was not good.
The heating was all over the place and the bathroom - which looked all right in its concept - was cold and didn't really work.
The best thing about the hotel is it's position

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I had an opportunity to stay at Adelphi hotel for only one night but it turned out to be a memorable experience for me, my younger brother and his friend. The service is just top-notch. The room is very cozy and clean. Room service lady was very helpful and pleasant, I think her name is Lilly(Sorry if I'm wrong, she's originally from Philippine). The front desk staffs are faultless, I can't ask for more. As you know, the location is just perfect and the parking at Wilson car park is convenient(plus not expensive).

We also had some desserts at the Om-Nom restaurant and successfully met the Executive Chef Christy Tania + had a few photos with her. The staff at the Om-Nom are so lovely and friendly. The desserts there were creative and phenomenal. I would definitely go back there again during my next visit in Melbourne.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a fantastic weeks stay. Location is very central.
Parking discount was very useful as some days I didn't use the car.
Breakfast was served by a polite and helpful team.
Rooms could use a bit more lighting and the bathroom a heater

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hopefully this review gives you guys some guidance and understanding from what we experienced in our stay.
The good....
1. Great and friendly staff
2. Location location location
3. Clean and modern
4. Free drinks on arrival (we booked online)


The bad...
1. Free mini bar... But don't pass on lunch as there are only a bunch of lollies, water and oj included. (No chips, chocolate or alcohol here)
2. Desert from the Om Nom restaurant. Looked fantastic. Tasted so so. Price expensive. Portion tiny.
3. The price we paid was Similar to a night at crown with breaky, so all in all a bit over priced and the breaky was nothing to get excited over.

The ulgy...
1. The pool! Looked like it had not been maintained in months it was full of dirt and random things.

2. Ear plugs? In our room we were left with ears plugs on our side tables.. We had a giggle over why we needed these. Then came the 1am wake up call as in screaming and rowdy people (either from side street or pent house) these nosies were soooooooooo loud, they woke us up was the worst part of the night! 0 peace and quiet the walls are not sound proof!

This is our honest opinion and hope this helps you plan your stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Address: 187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelphi Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Hotel presents an extraordinary palette of temptations. Swinging couches, signature desserts, cocktails, candles and a pillow scent menu are merely the entree. Discover thirty-four sumptuous rooms, world-class amenities, our serene foyer, function areas and famous pool, as well as Ezard restaurant, Mon Bijou cocktail bar and the new Om Nom dessert restaurant and bar.Centrally located moments from Federation Square, yet tucked away on Flinders Lane,our guests enjoy the sensation of escape. Give in to rare indulgence. Let your eyes take in the colour and the light. Lose yourself in luxury, in texture. Absorb the subtle scents and soft sounds, the whispers, laughter and music. Dig in to experience delectable taste like never before. Settle in for the sweetest of dreams. Dive in, to be enlivened.Adelphi Hotel offers a variety of rooms and suites, catering to differing needs, occasions and budgets. All accommodation features contemporary styling and amenity, brand new plush carpets, modern LED strip lighting and bedroom vanity units. Relax with the in-room entertainment system and 40-inch flat-screen LED Smart TV. Enjoy our large, well-ventilated bathrooms and Appelles Apothecary bathroom treats. When required, work away at a writing desk with additional power points for laptops, mobile phones and iPods, plus bedside iHome docking station/radio alarm clock and universal connections for all audio devices including iPhone 5. Double beds are king-sized, with an additional rollaway bed for each room available upon request. Room rates include Wifi access, free local phone calls, a range of delicious in-room snacks and refreshments, and a welcome drink at the bar. The Boardroom at Adelphi makes an impressive setting for boardroom meetings and small-scale business events for up to 10 people. Located on the 8th floor, with north-facing windows overlooking Flinders Lane, it is bright, spacious and well appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelphi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.