We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An all-inclusive stay with service to boot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Save Saved
You added Adelphi Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Book Direct-Free Dessert!
Ranked #4 of 171 hotels in Melbourne
Cairns, Australia
1 review
“An all-inclusive stay with service to boot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Having stayed in many hotels from luxury 5 star to budget the Adelphi is by far one of the best I have experienced. The staff are all attentive, personable and friendly. The fact that everything is included in your room price is such a refreshing change and the attention to detail is amazing. Delicious breakfast and a funky, sophisticated environment to enjoy Melbourne!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    104
    24
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
14
72
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Traralgon, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The enticing smell and warm ambiance of the hotel foyer lived up to the expectations set by the Hotel Manager during the booking experience... until the point of check-in everything was perfectly lovely.

Unfortunately once we reached our rooms the keys wouldn't work. Doubt crept in whilst we waited in the hostel-like corridor for this to be rectified. This was followed by dismay when the doors were finally opened to reveal our suites which were sold to us as supposedly similar to a suite at Crown. The reality was they were in fact cheaply furnished connecting rooms, without even tea and coffee facilities. Whilst the bathrooms featured quality toiletries, the mould in the shower recess proved quite a distraction.

We were on a night away with the girls and had opted to pay an increased rate for the more the expensive suites because amongst other things, they included a complimentary mini bar and full breakfast. To a perfectly reasonable person, the term mini-bar would normally include an alcoholic beverage... but no, only orange juice and coke. The included sweets were a nice touch, but a glass of wine would have been more appreciated. And as for the lovely hotel breakfast? Forget it... a small menu was available and whilst ok, it certainly wasn't what one would normally expect from a 4.5 star hotel.

The biggest problem with staying at the Adelphi is the expectation that is set from the Trip Advisor reviews and the accommodation sales staff. More honesty would enable guests to make an informed decision where to stay for what rate and the hotel really should be sold for its great location as that is about all we could rave about.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for a suite as it still resembles an upmarket backpackers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Had 4 nt stay at the Adelphi. It lived up to earlier reviews of amazing customer service , stylish rooms, free mini bar, food treats and movies ! Excellent location and would stay there next time. Gretchen & Libby

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Very impressed with this hotel and really like the theme of being the place to go (and stay) for the best Desserts in Melbourne. As you walk into the well appointed foyer, you are greeted by a sweet smell of a dessert you are not going to be able to say no to. The front of house staff are excellent. Our room was of good size with comfortable.bed and furniture. Big bowl of lollies was a great addition and the bathroom is also good size. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

What an amazing experience! The staff were wonderful especially Michael. They were Very professional. Every request I had, they were always happy to accommodate.i had a prompt response from room service or house keeping. The reception desk was always manned and were always available to help. I cannot fault this hotel. I highly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Adelphi is great. We had good service, there is free wifi, mini bar and Happy Lab candy. Rooms are stylish with an industrial accent. I really liked the shower pressure. Didn't use the pool and it wasn't an amazing price but I would recommend.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My husband and I had a wonderful one night stay at the Adelphi . Really friendly, helpful staff who love what they do and go out of their way to help. Comfortable beds and furniture (although G likes a firm pillow), lolly bar (aka the happy lab) a fun touch and interesting reading material to browse over. Some reviews had mentioned street noise being a problem but we did not experience this but ear plugs were provided just I case and others reported no tea and coffee making facilities - we asked if this could be provided and a plentiful supply was there on our arrival. We were upgraded to another room as the bathroom light switch was faulty and also given a free breakfast for the "inconvenience". Loved the quirky furniture, the coffee table books. Location is wonderful. Didn't get to use the pool as we had other things to do. Mostly though it was the lovely staff who ensured we were happy that made the Adelphi experience one that we would love to repeat for a longer stay next time . Loved everything about it - felt like a kid in a lolly shop!

Room Tip: I am sure the staff would be very happy to discuss individual requirements. We mentioned our concern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Address: 187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelphi Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Hotel presents an extraordinary palette of temptations. Swinging couches, signature desserts, cocktails, candles and a pillow scent menu are merely the entree. Discover thirty-four sumptuous rooms, world-class amenities, our serene foyer, function areas and famous pool, as well as Ezard restaurant, Mon Bijou cocktail bar and the new Om Nom dessert restaurant and bar.Centrally located moments from Federation Square, yet tucked away on Flinders Lane,our guests enjoy the sensation of escape. Give in to rare indulgence. Let your eyes take in the colour and the light. Lose yourself in luxury, in texture. Absorb the subtle scents and soft sounds, the whispers, laughter and music. Dig in to experience delectable taste like never before. Settle in for the sweetest of dreams. Dive in, to be enlivened.Adelphi Hotel offers a variety of rooms and suites, catering to differing needs, occasions and budgets. All accommodation features contemporary styling and amenity, brand new plush carpets, modern LED strip lighting and bedroom vanity units. Relax with the in-room entertainment system and 40-inch flat-screen LED Smart TV. Enjoy our large, well-ventilated bathrooms and Appelles Apothecary bathroom treats. When required, work away at a writing desk with additional power points for laptops, mobile phones and iPods, plus bedside iHome docking station/radio alarm clock and universal connections for all audio devices including iPhone 5. Double beds are king-sized, with an additional rollaway bed for each room available upon request. Room rates include Wifi access, free local phone calls, a range of delicious in-room snacks and refreshments, and a welcome drink at the bar. The Boardroom at Adelphi makes an impressive setting for boardroom meetings and small-scale business events for up to 10 people. Located on the 8th floor, with north-facing windows overlooking Flinders Lane, it is bright, spacious and well appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelphi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.