We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel gem, well hidden” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 7 more sites!
Adelphi Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Book Direct-Free Dessert!
Ranked #7 of 172 hotels in Melbourne
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
“Nice hotel gem, well hidden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked the hotel based on a friends' recommendation and had not been disappointed.
It had been renovated recently and is quite stylish.
The rooms are spacious and comfortable and nice perks like the free mini-bar and free movies are complimentary.
Really nice for Melbourne is the free and very good in room WiFi that allows for remote working if necessary.

We liked the hotel so much that we decided to extend the stay a second week.
All over: a very recommendable hotel with very helpful and friendly staff.

Room Tip: There is a open air pool on the top of the building that extends over the edge of the roof with a tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    14
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
46
1
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My husband and I have been fortunate to spend time in many lovely hotels around the world. After settling back into Melbourne (after our most recent overseas posting in Vancouver), we decided to get a babysitter for the night and be a tourist in our own city.

Shortlisted was Crown Metropol and The Adelphi, however after calling the latter and hearing there was only one room left, I took it as a sign and booked in for a Saturday night stay.

The outstanding customer experience started from the booking call, and filtered through every touch point. At no point were we disappointed, every expectation we had was well and truly surpassed.

We are still talking about the incredible desserts at OmNom, our son is wildly jealous that we swam at *that* pool and the service was impeccable.

As a proud Melburnian, it's with great pride I can say my city does it best with the Adelphi.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

From the Complementary drink on arrival to the lovely macaroons before bed everything was perfect due to quality service from all the smiling staff - nothing was too much trouble. Very comfortable bed and funky bathroom

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here for work and was very impressed. I stay alot in Melbourne for work and mostly at the big hotels - this was a great experience. LOVED the lollies and the great decore. The service was impeccable and I thought it represented good value. Will definately try to stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I needed a treat before facing major dental surgery the next day and the Adelphi came up trumps on all scores. The complimentary welcome drink in the bar with an antipasto started the evening off perfectly.The comfy king room was spacious and tres groovy, the breakfast delicious and the staff attentive and genuine. Special thanks to Ricky.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This week I had my second stay at the Adelphi Hotel - the first in January for the tennis and this week for work. The service was great both times, friendly, helpful and professional. The room was perfect, beds great, only desire would be tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms for my first morning hit. The pool in January was a big hit with my son and so were all the lollies! It's like entering a magical world - a bit Alice in Wonderland… will be back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I chose this hotel based on the reviews which are outstanding. However on checkin I was a bit dissapointed. I booked for 4 nights from wed to sunday. It is true to say that the staff are very very nice, very welcoming and very sweet, no pun intended. As you enter the lobby, there is quite a sweet smell revelation; which im sure it is meant to engage our sense, from the the dessert restaurant Om Nom, but this was too much for me. Im enering a hotel and not a chocolat and sweet factory! The rooms are ok, quite big which is nice vor a longer stay, but there is plenty of little details that made me lean to think that refirbishment should now be planned by the corporate body of this industrial contemporary little hotel. As an exemple, the air conditioning was 'way' to noisy to leave on during the night and the carpet; nice design but in real need for a deep dry clean!. The Adelphi Hotel has had a great idea, has a great service, and has a well worth a try fantastic restaurant but for the money there is better quality hotel closeby. y clean! t

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Melbourne
Address: 187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#18 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#36 Family Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelphi Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Hotel presents an extraordinary palette of temptations. Swinging couches, signature desserts, cocktails, candles and a pillow scent menu are merely the entree. Discover thirty-four sumptuous rooms, world-class amenities, our serene foyer, function areas and famous pool, as well as Ezard restaurant, Mon Bijou cocktail bar and the new Om Nom dessert restaurant and bar.Centrally located moments from Federation Square, yet tucked away on Flinders Lane,our guests enjoy the sensation of escape. Give in to rare indulgence. Let your eyes take in the colour and the light. Lose yourself in luxury, in texture. Absorb the subtle scents and soft sounds, the whispers, laughter and music. Dig in to experience delectable taste like never before. Settle in for the sweetest of dreams. Dive in, to be enlivened.Adelphi Hotel offers a variety of rooms and suites, catering to differing needs, occasions and budgets. All accommodation features contemporary styling and amenity, brand new plush carpets, modern LED strip lighting and bedroom vanity units. Relax with the in-room entertainment system and 40-inch flat-screen LED Smart TV. Enjoy our large, well-ventilated bathrooms and Appelles Apothecary bathroom treats. When required, work away at a writing desk with additional power points for laptops, mobile phones and iPods, plus bedside iHome docking station/radio alarm clock and universal connections for all audio devices including iPhone 5. Double beds are king-sized, with an additional rollaway bed for each room available upon request. Room rates include Wifi access, free local phone calls, a range of delicious in-room snacks and refreshments, and a welcome drink at the bar. The Infinity Room at Adelphi makes an impressive setting for boardroom meetings and small-scale business events for up to 12 people. Located on the 8th floor, with north-facing windows overlooking Flinders Lane, it is bright, spacious and well appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelphi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Adelphi Hotel to your Saves list