We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff were amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adelphi Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adelphi Hotel to your Saves list
Adelphi Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
1 Free Breakfast Daily
Ranked #4 of 171 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“The staff were amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at the Adelphi as a birthday treat, we wanted something close enough to walk to both AAMI park for the rugby and Her Majesty's theatre the next night for a show, the Adelphi met both criteria! We were made welcome from the time we walked up the steps 'til the moment we returned to our car. Every member of staff that we encountered was cheerful, and honestly really happy to be there. The desserts were divine and the breakfasts to die for, the wait staff especially Daniel, Marco and Sinead were really helpful. The duty managers on all shifts were also really friendly, sorry I can't remember all of your names! Felt like being in a guest in a home rather than just a face in an hotel. Will definitely stay again...brilliant!

Room Tip: It's a boutique hotel right on flinders lane, pretty sure all the rooms would be great...also do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear 19Terri62,

Firstly you guys rather upset the team when you left. They were rather distraught to see you leave. While you can't remember all of the guys names they will certainly remember you both. It was an absolute pleasure having you. I will pass on your feedback to the team as I am sure they will be ecstatic to hear your kind words.

It's great that you found a home in Melbourne and we all can't wait to see you again for the next Rebels game.

Thanks for sharing,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    37
    16
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
116
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This is my first time time to write a review and this hotel deserves a few words. I had been researching for months for a boutique hotel experience for a 3 night stopover for my husband and I to enjoy Melbourne once again after 14 years. The Adelphi Hotel was perfect. The rooms, the service, the rooftop pool and the great location on Flinders Lane (a beautiful street walking distance to the finest restaurants, coffee and wine bars that Melbourne offers). The staff were knowledgable, helpful and their recommendations were spot on for us.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Hi RichelleW508,

Thank you for writing your first ever Tripadvisor review about your special stay at Adelphi. We are so glad you enjoyed your visit as much as you did. I am sure that as you travel in the future you will experience many wonderful stays both when returning to Adelphi and elsewhere and be inspired to share again. Tripadvisor is a great tool and your feedback is very much appreciated.

Thanks again and we hope to welcome you back to Melbourne in the near future.

Kind regards,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Adelphi for a long weekend. We'd definitely stay here again - excellent location right in the heart of Melbourne, spacious very comfortable room with all the appointments that make for a relaxing stay and friendly staff. Cocktail bar and restaurants in the hotel all of a high standard that reflect the personalised service that only boutique hotels can master. Thanks for an awesome stay - we'll be back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Hi Leisuretravel007,

Glad you had an awesome stay and thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to welcoming you both back soon.

Kind regards,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

You could almost walk straight past the Adelphi on Flinders Lane as it has a narrow frontage and seems modest and unassuming. That all changes when you step inside and the first thing you see is a large, modern sculpture of a horse dominating the reception area. The staff were immediately attentive and efficient when we got there. We were able to check into our room straightaway, despite our early morning arrival. The friendly staff member who showed us our room explained that the drinks -coke, orange juice and water - were free of charge, along with the contents of a large glass jar which included, nuts, popcorn, chips and fairy floss. He positively encouraged us to eat and drink as much as possible with the assurance that stocks were replenished daily. It made a pleasant change to have complimentary bottled water as hotels often charge for this. Tea and coffee making facilities are available on request and include a plunger with Lavazza coffee (not instant coffee which is the norm in most hotels). The rooms are a good size and the term 'comfy king room' is pretty accurate. They are furnished in a modern, eclectic style while still retaining the essential items such as hanging space and drawers. My one slight regret was the lack of bath but the showers are very spacious and work really well. The breakfast was really delicious. Ours was included in the price and we could order whatever we wanted from the menu. It's an a la carte service, rather than a buffet service and everything was cooked perfectly. The breakfast area doubles up as the cocktail/dessert restaurant and seems a little dark and brooding in the morning but it comes into its own at night with amazing array of sumptuous sweet dishes and exotic cocktails. Actually I do have a slight headache this morning but it was definitely worth it! Overall, this is a great weekend getaway. It's really close to everything, and offers comfort, cleanliness and style in a friendly, slightly quirky environment.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Penny-W1103,

The only thing better than a positive review is a very constructive one such as yours. Thank you for taking the time to provide such specific feedback. This is of great help to not only those looking to visit Adelphi but also to us here at the hotel.

Sorry about your slight headache. We have chocolate that fixes that :)

See you again soon,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

It was my husband's birthday so I booked at the Adelphi, telling them about our celebration. They couldn't have been nicer, a birthday message was on the mirror in our room - and a chilled bottle of Champagne awaited us. The service from everyone at the hotel was excellent. The decor of the entry and room was fun & quirky.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear DiOz10,

We love special occasions here at Adelphi so thank you so much for choosing to share your husbands birthday with us. Any excuse to spoil an unsuspecting visitor :)

See you for 'your' birthday soon and thanks for sharing your stay,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Recently refurbished, a bit of Art Deco softening whilst retaining elements of the edgy 90's DCM design, Adelphi is still a great value place to stay if you want an urban location close to the Paris end of Collins Street. The service was exceptional, the team very responsive to my requests. No tea coffee in the room, not a problem, they sent a well stocked tray up straight away, as you do need to ask for this, although complimentary, it's not part of the standard kit.Room service was good for a Sunday night. TV was having issues and the team swiftly attended to it. Definitely will be back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear happydaysSydney,

Thank you for the great review of your stay and your promise to return. It is all about our guests coming back and for this to happen you need the right 'softened' product and the right service. I'm glad you appreciate that these are where we have certainly focused our efforts.

And the more we get to know you, the more likely that tea & coffee tray will already be in the room when you arrive.

See you again soon,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Quite refreshing to get some nice friendly service in Melbourne.
Staff are more than happy to let you store you bags and register for check-in early in the day - even happy to hold a suit jacket on an warm day. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Nice to have a complimentary mini-bar and wifi as well as a free drink. A complimentary Peroni at the end ofthe day goes down a treat

Breakfast is great too - baked eggs are fantastic.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LanceLagudi, Operations Manager at Adelphi Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hi iain I,

Thank you for taking the time to share you recent Adelphi visit and in particular your kind words regarding the service you received from the team. We are very aware that the only real way to set ourselves apart is through the individuals delivering our product and I firmly believe we have the best team in Melbourne.

Couldn't agree more on the baked eggs and Peroni either. Two of my favourite things. Like yourself though, I don't have them together at breakfast :)

Thanks again,
Lance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adelphi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adelphi Hotel

Address: 187 Flinders Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#13 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adelphi Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelphi Hotel presents an extraordinary palette of temptations. Swinging couches, signature desserts, cocktails, candles and a pillow scent menu are merely the entree. Discover thirty-four sumptuous rooms, world-class amenities, our serene foyer, function areas and famous pool, as well as Ezard restaurant, Mon Bijou cocktail bar and the new Om Nom dessert restaurant and bar.Centrally located moments from Federation Square, yet tucked away on Flinders Lane,our guests enjoy the sensation of escape. Give in to rare indulgence. Let your eyes take in the colour and the light. Lose yourself in luxury, in texture. Absorb the subtle scents and soft sounds, the whispers, laughter and music. Dig in to experience delectable taste like never before. Settle in for the sweetest of dreams. Dive in, to be enlivened.Adelphi Hotel offers a variety of rooms and suites, catering to differing needs, occasions and budgets. All accommodation features contemporary styling and amenity, brand new plush carpets, modern LED strip lighting and bedroom vanity units. Relax with the in-room entertainment system and 40-inch flat-screen LED Smart TV. Enjoy our large, well-ventilated bathrooms and Appelles Apothecary bathroom treats. When required, work away at a writing desk with additional power points for laptops, mobile phones and iPods, plus bedside iHome docking station/radio alarm clock and universal connections for all audio devices including iPhone 5. Double beds are king-sized, with an additional rollaway bed for each room available upon request. Room rates include Wifi access, free local phone calls, a range of delicious in-room snacks and refreshments, and a welcome drink at the bar. The Boardroom at Adelphi makes an impressive setting for boardroom meetings and small-scale business events for up to 10 people. Located on the 8th floor, with north-facing windows overlooking Flinders Lane, it is bright, spacious and well appointed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Adelphi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adelphi Hotel Melbourne

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adelphi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.