We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mecca of Cricket” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)

Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)
| Yarra Park, Jolimont, Melbourne, Victoria 8002, Australia
+61 3 9657 8888
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$83*
and up
Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne, Australia
Ranked #1 of 284 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) is Australia's largest, oldest and most popular sporting venue. The MCG has hosted plenty of international cricket, including the first-ever Test and the 1992 World Cup final, countless VFL/AFL Grand Finals, the 1956 Olympic Games and 2006 Commonwealth Games. It also hosted the final of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. Other sporting spectacles include FIFA World Cup soccer qualifiers, rugby league home and away matches and State of Origin and international rugby union clashes. Apart from its sporting events, the MCG has also witnessed many blockbuster music concerts, and even Pope John Paul II held a mass there when he visited Melbourne in 1986. The MCG has a total capacity of 100,024 people, comprising 95,024 seats and 5000 standing room spaces. The stadium also houses the National Sports Museum, which includes some of the most priceless pieces of memorabilia in Australian sporting history.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mecca of Cricket”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Did a guided tour of the MCG. Had a chance to walk on the field as well as through the stands / players rooms as well as the private boxes. One the highlights of the MCG is its sports museum. We spent a lot of time in the cricket section of the museum which has some great historic photographs, bats and trophies of display. Key highlight of the tour was a 10 minute Share-Warne audio visual presentation. It is a 3D rendition where Sharne Warne takes you through some important moments in his cricketing career. Amazingly real...not be missed

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hareesh_Tibrewala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Possibly of interest to non Sports fans !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The MCG is now a wonderful sight. An absolutely massive stadium with plenty of history and for a sports fan lots to see. The guided tour was given by an MCG volunteer and apart from her determination not to complete the tour "late" meaning she was nearly running at times, she managed to give us an interesting and knowledgeable tour.
The separate Sports Museum is great. It has sections for a number of sports, Rugby, Cricket, AFL, Olympics etc with a large interactive area where you can try your skills (or lack of them). A little surprised that the AFL information told you nothing about the rules or techniques of the game - regretted by us foreign visitors for this unique Australian sport, but did give a flavour of the support in localities for such clubs.
We spent a couple of hours here and could have spent far longer. A number of our friends also visited and enjoyed very much.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

HAd a great day at the sports museum at the MCG. Great tour by a volunteer and then spent 2 hours in the museum. Need to go back when its not school holidays thought so I can have a good look without kids running around everywhere. Well Done Trevour our tour guide.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Great layout, great stadium, great atmosphere, and über easy to get to and from ... Make it a priority to get to a sporting event there, you won't be disappinted

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dellcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
300 reviews
93 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was extremely impressed with the MCG, I had not been there since the old days when the seats were wooden benches, what a change! Extremely clean, and organised, we went to the Collingwood v Carlton match and it was a sell out, and surprisingly it did not feel crowded! The seats are quite roomy, a pull down style with no arms. We actually went with Auskick and so it was majorily exciting that our son was going to actually play on the ground. It was so well organised and the children were well looked after.
The toilets were clean. The eating sections well set out, there is really nothing I could fault.
I loved watching the spectators more than I did the actual game (apart from when the kids were on of course).
Parking was even very reasonable, $10 flat fee to actually park within the MCG, we had to meet at Gate 6 for Auskick, so we parked in Gate 6, thinking that the both we be one, be careful and leave enough time to walk because they are not the same. All the same not that long a walk, possibily 1/3 of the size of the MCG to walk to the other gate. Otherwise catch the train, very close to were you get off the station. Hope this helped all the Auskick families.
Truly a fantastic night.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LissyL0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing