We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The heart of Melbourne” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)

Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)
Yarra Park, Jolimont, Melbourne, Victoria 8002, Australia
+61 3 9657 8888
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$95*
and up
Sports Lovers Tours of Melbourne, Australia
Ranked #2 of 160 Attractions in Melbourne
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) is Australia's largest, oldest and most popular sporting venue. The MCG has hosted plenty of international cricket, including the first-ever Test and the 1992 World Cup final, countless VFL/AFL Grand Finals, the 1956 Olympic Games and 2006 Commonwealth Games. It will also host the final of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. Other sporting spectacles include FIFA World Cup soccer qualifiers, rugby league home and away matches and State of Origin and international rugby union clashes. Apart from its sporting events, the MCG has also witnessed many blockbuster music concerts, and even Pope John Paul II held a mass there when he visited Melbourne in 1986. The MCG has a total capacity of 100,024 people, comprising 95,024 seats and 5000 standing room spaces. The stadium also houses the National Sports Museum, which includes some of the most priceless pieces of memorabilia in Australian sporting history.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The heart of Melbourne”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

No better place to watch the footy and truly be immersed in the game! Delicious food, cold beer and an electric atmosphere! A must when travelling to Melbourne and experiencing Australian culture. Where I first any many others, fell in love with AFL.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,604
    518
    89
    17
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“MCG Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The MCG Tour is absolutely fantastic. We had a great guide who was very knowledgeable and friendly. We did all the interesting parts of the park - it was the right length also to keep the kids interested as well. Great value for money also, We also coupled this with the Sports Museum which was a great package.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Our amazing sporting precinct.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I live in Melbourne and go to the G many time during the footy season and I also do the Melbourne Marathon which finishes with a lap of the G. I thought though it was time to do the whole tour with my 12 year old footy mad son. Overall the tour is great and you get to see some areas that would otherwise be out of bounds of the ground and the history of the ground is fascinating. Unfortunately though we had a tour guide that was a major general and really put a bad taste on the experience. I stopped to take a photo of my son when we were on the edge of the ground and fell behind about 15 steps from the group. When we caught up I was berated by the guide in front of the whole group and told in no uncertain terms that there are 300 security cameras in the arena and security would take me straight out of the place if I strayed. I was very embarrassed with everyone looking at me. Tips for anyone going is to wait for a smaller group so you can take photos with out others in the group being in the shot (I had 15 people in my group and most of the time when you are stopped you are in a small space) and so you have time to ask questions of the guide. The Sports Museum is also fabulous with so much to take in. You really need to allow a minimum of 4 hours to really do both properly but parking close by is only 1 or 2 hours so be prepared for a walk from somewhere else if driving there. Ken was our MCG tour guide and in the NSM we encountered a lovely lady named Sue who was wonderful.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coolamon, Australia
2 reviews
“Bombers V Blues”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Weather for June was surprisingly good a cold but fine night for Friday night football. Had a long walk to get to the football from Downtowner Hotel on Lygon St. Found a good hotel on the return walk to enjoy a couple of beers to celebrate the Bombers victory.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Always awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Never disappointed at the MCG.
Footy isn't played at a better ground :) If you're going to attend a footy game while you're in Melbourne, the MCG should be your preference.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) also viewed

 

Been to Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.