We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop on our visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)

Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)
Yarra Park, Jolimont, Melbourne, Victoria 8002, Australia
61 3 9657 8888
Website
Update attraction details
Book a Tour

Ranked #2 of 189 attractions in Melbourne
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) is Australia's largest, oldest and most popular sporting venue, with a history that compares favourably with any other stadium in the world. The MCG has hosted plenty of international cricket, including the first-ever Test and the 1992 World Cup final, countless VFL/AFL Grand Finals, the 1956 Olympic Games and 2006 Commonwealth Games.Other sporting spectacles include FIFA World Cup soccer qualifiers, rugby league home and away matches and State of Origin and international rugby union clashes.Apart from its sporting events, the MCG has also witnessed many blockbuster music concerts, and even Pope John Paul II held a mass there when he visited Melbourne in 1986.The MCG has a total capacity of 100,018 people, comprising 95,018 seats and 5000 standing room spaces.The stadium also houses the National Sports Museum, which includes some of the most priceless pieces of memorabilia in Australian sporting history.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great stop on our visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stopped of here on our visit loved the statues and learning the history of the game and it is on the free bus route ride

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,599 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,156
    363
    64
    15
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Greatest sporting venue in Australia!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The MCG is definitely hallowed ground and by far the most amazing arena. I have been here hundreds of times for AFL games, cricket games and music concerts and nowhere else comes close. Ample facilities and very family friendly. The tour is also amazing and well worth doing.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“MCG.....good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Very well organised, big numbers of people are not a problem at all. I went there for the big Carlton-Richmond game (80.000 people) and everything went smoothly.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Even if you aren't a sports fan the tour is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I am not a sports fan but my boyfriend wanted to go here and I have no regrets. The guides are all helpful and very informative, and ours was also wonderfully entertaining. You get to see right into the stadiums working and also the MCC areas. We also did the museum which is definitely worth having a look at if you have ever watched sport as its well presented and has a great interactive bit

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I am not a sports person, but you can't help loving the sound of a sold out crowd at the MCG during the footy season. would strongly encourage anyone visiting during the season to go to a match just to experience the atmosphere. Even if you don't understand the game it's a great time! Make sure you have a four and twenty pie!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) also viewed

 

Been to Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.