We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour was OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)

Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)
Yarra Park, Jolimont, Melbourne, Victoria 8002, Australia
+61 3 9657 8888
Website
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #4 of 204 attractions in Melbourne
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: The Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) is Australia's largest, oldest and most popular sporting venue. The MCG has hosted plenty of international cricket, including the first-ever Test and the 1992 World Cup final, countless VFL/AFL Grand Finals, the 1956 Olympic Games and 2006 Commonwealth Games. It will also host the final of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015. Other sporting spectacles include FIFA World Cup soccer qualifiers, rugby league home and away matches and State of Origin and international rugby union clashes. Apart from its sporting events, the MCG has also witnessed many blockbuster music concerts, and even Pope John Paul II held a mass there when he visited Melbourne in 1986. The MCG has a total capacity of 100,024 people, comprising 95,024 seats and 5000 standing room spaces. The stadium also houses the National Sports Museum, which includes some of the most priceless pieces of memorabilia in Australian sporting history.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tour was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

There was a game on which meant we couldn't access some areas that are usually visited on the tour. The guide was knowledgeable, and friendly. I wasn't expecting to enjoy the tour, and found it was OK. My father who is a cricket fan was really looking forward to it, but was disappointed.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,337
    419
    76
    16
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“A must visit for a sports fan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I attended the cricket One Day International, Australia v Sri Lanka at the MCG in mid January so my review is simply from watching a match there and getting there.

From the city centre (Flinders Street station/Federation Square) it is a nice 10/15 minute walk by the river or various trams will take you there. You get a great view of the ground from Princes Bridge, next to the station. It is perectly safe in my opinion to walk back into town after a match when dark if you are in the match crowds. I have done it enough times from the adjacent Rod Laver arena during the Australian Open tennis.

If you want a good view at an International match go for seat in the area behind the bowlers arm. It will cost you more but you will be much closer to the action. For most matches, the ground will not be full so you can wander round to most stands which I did. I was quite surprised that many seats are an awfully long way from the playing area and that is something worth considering if you are attending a popular match.

One of the iconic sports venues in Australia and very easy to get to and every sports fan should try and take in a match of some sort at the MCG.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, NSW
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“FIRST CLASS OVAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The MCG is picture perfect. Its a national iconic stadium as well as having fabulous function facilities & conference rooms. It gives me chills everytime I go here. Its just massive & the atmosphere is fabulous for a cricket or footy match. If you can get to Melbourne whilst something is on here you wont regret it

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good way to see the MCG and learn about Australian sports history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

If you are visiting Melbourne and love sports then this is a must do tour. MCG is a multi-purpose ground with the ground used for cricket in the summers and football in winters. It has also been used for some Olympic and commonwealth game events.

The tour is a great way to see the ground and learn about its history and the sporting greats who have played at the grounds. We had a great time on the tour which lasted for about 1 hr and 15 mins. The tour guide took us to the ground, the various stands, locker rooms, press room, the long room etc while giving us interesting snippets and statistics about the grounds. The guide also showed us some interesting landmarks around the MCG which could be seen from the grounds.

The visit to the sports museum was also very interesting; it has a lot of details and mementos about Australian sports history. You are given a headphone which gives a verbal commentary about the various items in the museum. One of the most fascinating things about the museum is a 10 min 3D show of Shane Warne - Australia's cricketing legend. There is also a separate area for the cricket museum. An interactive sports area in the Museum, allows you to try your hands at various sports like cricket, football, archery, basketball, soccer etc. We loved spending time in this area. The staff at the Museum is very friendly and helpful and would be happy to answer any questions you might have about the museum or the history of sports.

The tour alone costs A$20 per adult and an additional A$10 if you want to visit the sports museum as well.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Got to go and watch a game of cricket or AFL football”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

How can you visit Australia and not experience what all Aussies do. Watch the cricket (summer) and Footy (winter).

I recommend you take general admittance tickets which are the cheapest and sit up in the stands as it is generally under cover. Most of the time you can move around during the games to get a better seat. Think of where the sun may be in the summer if you are watching Cricket as you can get pretty sunburned if you are not prepared.

DO NOT SIT IN BAY 13 as it is for the "yobbos" - Definition of a Yobbo? Loud offensive, drunken etc etc - not the place for the family or visitors to Aus.

Cricket is a slow game so dont expect the hype of the Superbowl. But Aussie rules football is the opposite - fast, loud, action packed terrific to watch.

But dont be put off by me describing Cricket as slow. It is a gentleman's game with an exceptionally high level of skill. Try to imagine a base-baller catching a ball that is harder and travelling faster with his bare hands, (either in outfield or in a similar position as a short stop) and him hitting that same ball with a bat that is made from solid Oak, whilst wearing heavy Pads (Knee, Leg, Thigh, box and a helmet) - running about the same distance from home plate to first over 100 times flat out..... And then the bowlers running over 100 meters hundreds of times bowling at speeds faster again than baseball. Lastly they do this over a period of 6 - 8 hours. Get the picture. I hope you can enjoy the subtleties of Cricket.

I would recommend you attend a one day match or even a match called a 20/20. These games are shorter and more action packed and are only played at an international level at the MCG.

Dont be afraid to ask the people sitting next to you how the game works - generally most people would be delighted to explain the games to you.

Oh and structurally, it holds around 90,000 people and is spectacular sight to see in its own right.
Have fun.





Dont

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) also viewed

 

Been to Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) to your Saves list