We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds and a real blast from the past” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rippon Lea House & Gardens

Rippon Lea House & Gardens
192 Hotham St | Elsternwick, Melbourne, Victoria 3185, Australia
03 9523 6095
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 161 Attractions in Melbourne
Type: Historic Sites, Gardens, Cultural
Attraction details
Melbourne
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful grounds and a real blast from the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My partner brought me here for a birthday. I thought the grounds were beautiful and the house was/is a museum. Well worth a visit and the admission fee. Bring a picnic, lovely on a sunny spring or summers day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    56
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bundaberg, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just as I remembered”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Beautiful historic home and gardens. Allow around and hour for the tour of the house, and extra time to explore and gorgeous gardens and lake. I visited this estate as a child and loved it then and after returning many years later I appreciated things I didn't as a child. Stunning place to take photos.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“theatre in the gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

the gardens are a beautiful . I sat one night and watched a theatre production under the beautiful star filled sky with my picnic dinner and good friends. It was a perfect setting. A very enjoyable evening.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We love the wonderful gardens of Ripponlea. Each year it is a family ritual to attend the events in the gardens by the various theatre companies. We always attend Alice in Wonderland and find it fantastic each year. It is the highlight of our summer. Lady chatterly's lover is also good to see in the evenings, however best to leave the children at home for this one.

The mansion is divine and the glasshouse etc is lovely. I can only think about how wonderful it would to hold your wedding here. Magnificient.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A must - hire a car and take a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Once of Melbournes best and hidden sites. The Mansion is amazing and the grounds better - shame the ABC stole some land 50 odd years back, the Estate would be much grander with this land. In saying that it is grand and you can spend many hours relaxing on the lawns. The Peacocks are good also and make sure you visit the grotto.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rippon Lea House & Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Rippon Lea House & Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rippon Lea House & Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.