We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Melbourne Gaol

Old Melbourne Gaol
377 Russell Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
03 8663 7228
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #25 of 212 Attractions in Melbourne
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Step back in time and walk the road to the gallows in a 19th century prison, be arrested in a modern-day Police Station or put yourself on trial in court.Home to Melbourne's oldest prison, historic Magistrates' Court and former Police City Watch House, Russell Street has been at the heart of crime, law and order in Melbourne since the 1840s. Most of Australia’s infamous characters, including iconic bushranger, Ned Kelly and notorious gangster Squizzy Taylor have spent time within the walls of this amazing precinct. A ticket to the Old Melbourne Gaol Crime & Justice Experience grants you visiting rights to the past, present and future of crime and justice in Australia.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities
townsville
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I think it was about $40 for our family to get in. Totally worth it,so full of history and lots of information available.You can go 40m down the road and get "arrested old style".

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    324
    308
    63
    11
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorktown virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“for a fun as well as educationial experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Be prepared for a strange, great, interesting, bizarre, and original experience. this tour will make you laugh and cringe. The guides are excellent--and the after-tour displays are also excellent.

This is an important part of this city and Australia's history--and the historical interpreters make you feel like part of this and make you understand what was really going on here.

This might be scary for little kids, frankly, but it's well worth your time to come here.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Find Ned Kelly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Loved it. After a day spent in the hot sun, it was nice to take a break in the Gaol and get locked up with some "criminals" in a nice cool cell and an officer yelling at you LOL!!. My family and I had a ball here and learning more about Ned kelly's life was an added bonus. We would have loved to do the night tour if we had had more time but sadly we did not. Next time we will add it to our to do list.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Brings history to life”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

An interesting, but expensive, history lesson. Gives you a very good feel for challenges faced by the early "settlers" should they step on the wrong side of the law. Allow at least 2 hrs if you want to have the full experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I had been here before many years ago and it hadn't really change but my husband had never been, so while in Melbourne we decided to go. It is such a beautiful yet creepy building to be in. It is very interesting to walk around and read all about the goal, although it is quite expensive for a self guided walk. Its something you have to do at least once while in Melbourne, if for the architecture alone.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Melbourne Gaol also viewed

 

Been to Old Melbourne Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Melbourne Gaol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.