We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Melbourne Gaol

Old Melbourne Gaol
377 Russell Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)
03 8663 7228
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$36*
and up
Melbourne City Bike Tour Including Yarra River...
Ranked #15 of 283 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Step back in time and walk the road to the gallows in a 19th century prison, be arrested in a modern-day Police Station or put yourself on trial in court.Home to Melbourne's oldest prison, historic Magistrates' Court and former Police City Watch House, Russell Street has been at the heart of crime, law and order in Melbourne since the 1840s. Most of Australia’s infamous characters, including iconic bushranger, Ned Kelly and notorious gangster Squizzy Taylor have spent time within the walls of this amazing precinct. A ticket to the Old Melbourne Gaol Crime & Justice Experience grants you visiting rights to the past, present and future of crime and justice in Australia.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator
townsville
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I think it was about $40 for our family to get in. Totally worth it,so full of history and lots of information available.You can go 40m down the road and get "arrested old style".

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank eternalquest23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    571
    132
    16
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
yorktown virginia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“for a fun as well as educationial experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Be prepared for a strange, great, interesting, bizarre, and original experience. this tour will make you laugh and cringe. The guides are excellent--and the after-tour displays are also excellent.

This is an important part of this city and Australia's history--and the historical interpreters make you feel like part of this and make you understand what was really going on here.

This might be scary for little kids, frankly, but it's well worth your time to come here.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Yorkriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Find Ned Kelly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Loved it. After a day spent in the hot sun, it was nice to take a break in the Gaol and get locked up with some "criminals" in a nice cool cell and an officer yelling at you LOL!!. My family and I had a ball here and learning more about Ned kelly's life was an added bonus. We would have loved to do the night tour if we had had more time but sadly we did not. Next time we will add it to our to do list.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank fazak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brings history to life”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

An interesting, but expensive, history lesson. Gives you a very good feel for challenges faced by the early "settlers" should they step on the wrong side of the law. Allow at least 2 hrs if you want to have the full experience.

Helpful?
Thank cqsj1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Amazing building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I had been here before many years ago and it hadn't really change but my husband had never been, so while in Melbourne we decided to go. It is such a beautiful yet creepy building to be in. It is very interesting to walk around and read all about the goal, although it is quite expensive for a self guided walk. Its something you have to do at least once while in Melbourne, if for the architecture alone.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Melbourne Gaol also viewed

 

Been to Old Melbourne Gaol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing