We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great art!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Gallery of Victoria

National Gallery of Victoria
180 St. Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 8004, Australia (Southbank)
61 3 8620 2222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 160 Attractions in Melbourne
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened in 1861, this is Australia's oldest art gallery.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great art!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great Art place ( regardless what is on show).Has a unique culture atmosphere and feeling.
We spent almost 3 hours and had a nice coffee in the coffee shop!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    905
    370
    55
    9
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Monet's Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A lovely exhibition, with some paintings I'd never seen before, and a very informative interactive display.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orbost, Victoria, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Monet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

So nice to see the real thing. Easy access. Close to other sights. Loved the water feature wall at entrance.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“the water wall is amazing!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I went to the NGV with friends to see an exhibition in June 2013. I loved the water wall - anyone of any age could spend ages tracing the water with their hands. I've been blind since birth and there wasn't an awful lot to feel - so I wouldn't recommend it to anyone with a visual impairment.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Some good exhibitions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Go to the winter masperpieces, usually very good. Occasionally visit the restaurant - food is always good. Good location for other restaurants and venues like concert hall

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Gallery of Victoria also viewed

 

Been to National Gallery of Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Gallery of Victoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.