We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great art!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of National Gallery of Victoria

National Gallery of Victoria
180 St. Kilda Road, Melbourne, Victoria 8004, Australia (Southbank)
61 3 8620 2222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 284 things to do in Melbourne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Opened in 1861, this is Australia's oldest art gallery.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great art!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great Art place ( regardless what is on show).Has a unique culture atmosphere and feeling.
We spent almost 3 hours and had a nice coffee in the coffee shop!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank gonski9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Monet's Garden”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A lovely exhibition, with some paintings I'd never seen before, and a very informative interactive display.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cathhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orbost, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Monet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

So nice to see the real thing. Easy access. Close to other sights. Loved the water feature wall at entrance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cruisin07cruising137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“the water wall is amazing!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I went to the NGV with friends to see an exhibition in June 2013. I loved the water wall - anyone of any age could spend ages tracing the water with their hands. I've been blind since birth and there wasn't an awful lot to feel - so I wouldn't recommend it to anyone with a visual impairment.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Some good exhibitions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Go to the winter masperpieces, usually very good. Occasionally visit the restaurant - food is always good. Good location for other restaurants and venues like concert hall

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank catandmagpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Gallery of Victoria also viewed

 

Been to National Gallery of Victoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing