We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Zoo

Melbourne Zoo
Elliot Ave | Parkville, Melbourne, Victoria 3052, Australia
1300 966 784
Website
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #22 of 209 Attractions in Melbourne
Type: Zoos, Gardens
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Journey through a world of wildlife in the heart of Melbourne. Over 320 species from around the world can be found in a beautiful natural setting just five minutes from the city centre. Stroll through the lush Asian and African rainforests, where tigers roam and monkeys swing from tree to tree. Then take the time to stop and see eye to eye with Orangutans in their special elevated exhibit. Explore the Trail of the Elephants and the unique native wildlife in the Australian bush setting. Head into the underwater world at the Wild Seas exhibit showcasing penguins, seals and more! Don’t miss: Growing Wild: Discover our new interactive exhibit filled with animals, sculptures and tunnels for kids to play in. Meet the Keeper: Hear our expert keepers give daily talks about the animals in their care. Behind the Scenes Encounters: Head behind the scenes to meet and help look after your favorite animal. Close-up Encounters: Book a close-up encounter with one of our animals for a great photo opportunity.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Totally loved the zoo. They had such an extensive range of animals from Koalas to elephants and seals you will not be disappointed with a visit here. The children love it and the adults love it but beware the numerous souvenir shops scattered around

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,836 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,027
    582
    173
    42
    12
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great! Lot's of animals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Went today, took us a couple of hours to go around pretty much the entire zoo. It was well worth it though - lots of animals, including those native to Australia and more exotic animals like Snow Leopards and Bears. If you don't have time to go to Melbourne Aquarium and a wildlife sanctuary, I recommend going to Melbourne Zoo - it gives you a taste of everything, plus more.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinborough, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Things have changed but is it enough ?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I used to visit the Zoo in the 60's with my brother. We would skate board and roller skate around while our parents worked on a house nearby, and look at the lions, pacing up and down in their small cages, and think nothing of it. Now, as I return with my young adult children, I see that while the cages are bigger, the animals are still caged, and still bored. Hopefully there will be a time in the not too distant future when Zoos, like circuses, will realise that there is no good way to cage an animal and expect it to be happy.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne-Zoo, Marketing at Melbourne Zoo, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi Katherine, many thanks for visiting Melbourne Zoo and providing a review. It is always wonderful to know there are people out there who appreciate and care for the amazing animals we have as much as we do.

Caring for zoo animals is a complex science that requires an understanding of the normal behaviours of wild animals including the types of behaviours, social groups and amount of time spent each day resting, foraging, travelling and interacting with one another. Our animal care programs factor in all these requirements, as well as nutritional needs, and monitoring health of each animal. Daily routines are varied to avoid boredom and repetition. Just as we know the likes and habits of our close friends, family or pets and provide the best outcomes for them; our animal husbandry staff have close bonds with individual animals and can readily assess if an animal is contented, bored or perhaps needs a vet check.

I hope this helps ease your concerns. Kind regards, Zoos Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This zoo is really large and everything is spread out enough to not have everyone walking in great bunches. Like that they have the aquarium in the zoo also. Definitely better than our zoo here in Perth so we really enjoyed it!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I loved this zoo, it was really spread out. There didn't seem to be a method as to how the animals were placed but with enough time you can see them all. Wonderful time!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melbourne Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Melbourne Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.