We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful family outing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Zoo

Melbourne Zoo
Elliot Ave | Parkville, Melbourne, Victoria 3052, Australia
1300 966 784
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$24*
and up
Melbourne Zoo General Entry Ticket
Ranked #55 of 308 Activities in Melbourne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Journey through a world of wildlife in the heart of Melbourne. Over 320 species from around the world can be found in a beautiful natural setting just five minutes from the city centre. Stroll through the lush Asian and African rainforests, where tigers roam and monkeys swing from tree to tree. Then take the time to stop and see eye to eye with Orangutans in their special elevated exhibit. Explore the Trail of the Elephants and the unique native wildlife in the Australian bush setting. Head into the underwater world at the Wild Seas exhibit showcasing penguins, seals and more! Don’t miss: Growing Wild: Discover our new interactive exhibit filled with animals, sculptures and tunnels for kids to play in. Meet the Keeper: Hear our expert keepers give daily talks about the animals in their care. Behind the Scenes Encounters: Head behind the scenes to meet and help look after your favorite animal. Close-up Encounters: Book a close-up encounter with one of our animals for a great photo opportunity.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Berwick, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A wonderful family outing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The zoo itself was wonderful. After purchasing our tickets on-line (no booking fee), we did not have to line up at the end of a long queue but walked straight in. We were given a map which showed the layout and walked through lovely tree lined paths to find the animals. The highlight was seeing the baby elephant, born in January. It was a busy day as it was school holidays and children are free then, so there were lots of families but never too crowded. The only negative was finding the place. We are locals and had a map book but the signage was so poor, we drove right around the block looking for an entrance. Foreign visitors would have even more difficulty.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,214
    696
    207
    50
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

There was something about this zoo that I can't identify that made it fantastic. It was friendly, it was clean and so well run, but it all seemed so effortless. We went on Good Friday when it was so busy but it was a pleasure and the best zoo we have ever visited.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coburg, Australia
1 review
“I, Animal; A complete rip-off”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our first negative experience began as soon as we purchased our tickets. On the Zoos website it claims the tickets are for sale for $39 plus a booking fee (per ticket! even though if you buy three at once it is sill one transaction). We decided to forego this pathetic attempt by your company to make us give you money for nothing. At the door we were surprised to learn that the tickets were 45 dollars (never mentioned anywhere on the website, because of course we would have bought the web) This is pure dishonesty and established in my mind what I have already felt...you are nothing but dishonest greedy hucksters.

The tour was complete emotional schlop. Served up to a discernment-free audience. If you are going to charge 45 dollars then make it at least the length of a freaking movie. It wasn't even magical, unless you count the carousal playing the sountrack to the Breakfast Club.

This tour represents a genuinely worrying trend in Australian capitalism. The idea you pay a lot of money for something and get nothing in return. The tour didnt even go for the full hour, there were no drinks provided ( i wan to repeat that we just forked over 135 dollars and they think it is appropriate to sell 8 dollar beer out of milk crates). There weren't even toilets (they told us the lights were off).

Even the emotional highpoint with Silva the seal was a con, as they overbooked the penguin tour and half the group werent able to participate and they didnt even mention that Silva has passed away! When people fork our this much money you have to be on top of it. Unbelievable

The Melbourne Zoo crowd will claim this is help fighting extinction, but it is not. They are lining their own pockets and ripping off the public. Where were the batteries on all those iphones sourced from? How many Chinese fingers or eyesights were put into extinction so you could have your tour and make a bucket load of money.

The designers of this tour are nothing more than greedheads and should hang their head in collective shame.

The Zoo is nothing but hucksters.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne-Zoo, Marketing at Melbourne Zoo, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi Lawrence, we are really disappointed to hear you were unhappy with the experience. Thank you for this feedback which we will pass onto the I,Animal team to address. Kind regards, Zoos Victoria.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Melbourne zoo is an amazing way to spend a day. Keeps you busy for hours with wonderful enclosures and beautiful animals. Zoo was very clean and well maintained. Best part of my day was the seal show very impressive and informative. All zoo workers are friendly and are happy to talk to you.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“great zoo, so big! got lost.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

loved the zoo, loved the animals. some zoos are a bit boring but this one wasnt, there was always something to see and something to watch. had a great time. took us approx 3 hours to take a nice slow stroll around.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melbourne Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Melbourne Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melbourne Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.