We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Melbourne Zoo

Melbourne Zoo
Elliot Ave | Parkville, Melbourne, Victoria 3052, Australia
+61 1300 966 784
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Recommended
$23*
and up
Melbourne Zoo General Entry Ticket
Ranked #12 of 283 things to do in Melbourne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Journey through a world of wildlife in the heart of Melbourne. Over 250 species from around the world can be found in the beautiful setting of Melbourne Zoo, just five minutes from the city centre. Stroll through the lush Asian and African rainforests, Australian bushland and even underwater! Walk where tigers roam and monkeys swing from tree to tree. See eye-to-eye with the Orang-utans in their special elevated exhibit, explore the Trail of Elephants and then head down the bush track to see unique Australian wildlife including koalas, kangaroos, wombats and emus. Submerge yourself in our underwater world to see Victoria's iconic Little Penguins, Australian Fur Seals and more! Don't miss: Lion Gorge, our new lion experience which will have you come face-to-face with our magnificent African Lion bachelor group. Meet the Keeper: Hear our expert keepers give daily talks about the animals in their care. Close-up Encounters: Book a close-up encounter with one of our animals for a great photo opportunity.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

was great kids loved it, food was nice ,bathrooms were clean. enclosures for animals were pretty good. Parking was okay. loved the animals

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kiwigirl2366
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,482 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Southport
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“day at the zoo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Well laid out zoo - be prepared for plenty of walking in the heat. Animals very docile due to heat. Plenty of eateries and good range of foods available - but a bit pricey!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank witcheytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Been lots of times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Theres always something on at the zoo and I have never been and not seen lots of animals which can happen. I have been to many zoos across the world including San Diego zoo and honestly believe that Melbourne Zoo is up there as one of the better zoos. There seems to be more shows and feedings than on offer at other places.

Helpful?
Thank emily o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Always enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We try to visit annually to see our favourite exhibits and check out the newer ones. Easy to get around as mostly flat, volunteer zoo guides available for booking or just roaming the grounds, not bad toilet facilities and some lawn areas for sitting and picnicking. Drinks and food available at a couple of locations

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank judykbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Lovely setting, clean, friendly staff. the day we went was a bit drizzly to start with & cooler, more animals were out that was a bonus !

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dell1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melbourne Zoo also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Melbourne Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing