We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishy Fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Life Melbourne Aquarium

Sea Life Melbourne Aquarium
Cnr Flinders St & King St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)
61 3 9923 5999
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$28*
and up
Skip the Line: Melbourne Aquarium Tickets
Ranked #67 of 160 Attractions in Melbourne
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Discover creatures of the Southern Ocean in the 2-million-liter oceanarium.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fishy Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The aquarium is located on the north bank of the Yarra River. It was wonderful to watch the penguins when we first entered. The aquarium was well laid out however there weren't many bathrooms for the number of visitors. There was an entertaining presentation about sharks. A good rainy day activity.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,030 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    363
    243
    93
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“An afternoon with the water creatures”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

the aquarium is well designed even for seniors and is very easy to see all the fish, penguins, turtles, etc.
we saved a trip to Phillip Island to see the penguins. those on display near the entrance were sooo photo friendly, they sort of posed for the photos/
the other fish and other sea creatures were so wonderful to look at. at some parts of the overhead tank and the surroundings were little turbid. (probably after feeding time)
the children and us the adults enjoyed our visit here

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

The line was very long as I was there during school holidays, but it was well worth the wait. Highlight for me was the penguin exhibit where I spent a good 45 minutes watching these little guys play and swim. Great place for the whole family!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bishops waltham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fun family day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had peviously visited Melbourne Aquarium when my son was 2 and my daughter was 4 months old. My son thoroughly enjoyed it then but visiting 5 years later, they both got so much from the visit. It is not expensive to get in compared to many attractions and we were lucky enough to have found 'children go free' tickets in the newspaper. The penguins as you enter have real 'wow' factor and there are some pretty big rays and sharks in the impressive walk through tank. We visited mid-week in August, so not a busy time. Didn't eat there so can't comment on food but gift shop was reasonable with pocket money choices available. Staff all very friendly and helpful.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnie
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My family and I all enjoyed ourselves on our trip to the aquarium. The overhead dome was amazing. We all enjoyed having the chance to feed the fish. After looking at the many fish and sea creatures we could sit by the massive fish tank and have lunch at the Coral Cafe.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Life Melbourne Aquarium also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Sea Life Melbourne Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Life Melbourne Aquarium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.