We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Spencer Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Melbourne CBD)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #84 of 170 Hotels in Melbourne
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed there for a couple of nights a year back, and i remembered the rooms being sterile and neat! The beds were really comfortable and the room was of a very decent size. Unlike most 20sqm rooms, this was definitely spacious for being in the CBD. Note that the train stations are easily accessible across the road, but the shopping district and chinatown may be quite a walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    471
    220
    79
    45
See reviews for
94
439
161
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gambier, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I stayed at the Atlantis while on my way to Sydney. It was in the perfect location for my stay as its very close to the train station and Etihad stadium where I went to the footy. The room was clean and what you would expect in a good standard Best Western. It was generally quiet the entire time. Has some small issues with the TV reception but soon worked that out which was good. All staff very friendly and would recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Security is tight, as well as turns. I drive a camry and I just manage inches away from leaving marks on the wall. I forget the number of tries I need to park into a lot. U will fear seeing the number of scratches on the wall left behind by headlights and bumpers. Worse parking ever in tower 1.

Rooms are alright, just that my window open to a concrete wall, yes my windows faces a concrete wall 1 metre away meaning its like a prison.

Location is in the CBD alright, just that its at the corner of the CBD, Furthest corner. I feel that a better room is avail at other hotel at same price.

Not coming back again

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

I have to say, my view of the Best Western is a run down chain that had its hay day in the 80's so I was pleasantly surprised by how modern and clean the rooms were here. We got a great deal online for only $112 per night for a queen room including breakfast for two each day. I have to say the breakfast was pretty average made up of a selection of cereals, toast with spreads, scrambled egg and baked beans. It was ok and did the job but just don't expect anything too fancy. Our room was on the 15th floor on the side facing the train line. It was a little noisy but not too bad, if you're sensitive to noise I suggest asking for a room higher up or on the other side of the building.
There is also a free tram at the corner which does a city loop between 9am and 6pm daily which was very handy.

Room Tip: Can get a bit noisy - ask for a room high up or try for the side not facing the train line
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed here for three nights from boxing day to the 28th. When we arrived we were fortunate enough to be able to leave our bags whilst we went to the cricket. The staff were okay but just did not feel any warmth or a sense of being very hospitable when we dealt with them.

The room was again nothing special but we were not expecting this, but the blind was broken, we had to pull it open and closed by actually rotating the bar manually as the cord had broken out of the rotator. It did not shut out all of the sun which was annoying.

The pillows were very flat and did not offer much support to the head. The amount of TV channels were not great.

My biggest gripe of the hotel though was that I had purchased three days of Internet access, with so many hotels around the world offering free wifi, it perplexes me when I see hotels not offering free wifi, but anyway, purchased the three day package which I had not seen had a data limit to it, the stupid thing is that when you buy a three day package you get only 250MB per day, or 750MB for the whole three days, less than if you purchase a single day or two day package. I find it strange that in this day and age that hotels are still offering limited data packages like this. I stay in hotels all around the world every week and only come across this sort of thing when I am in Australia, same thing exist at the hotel I stay in at Sydney. This was really irritating when one is use to having unlimited access.

The room was very noisy, as you could hear the cars driving on the road when there was traffic.

The location to the station was good, although the amount of gentleman clubs around this area was not great for a couple.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was great, stayed for 2 nights with wife. Reception and room service were excellent. No fuss hotel with clean and well prepared room. Good size. Little short on the amenities, but the price was good for our stay. Very near to the Southern Cross Station where most of the tours depart from, and the sky bus to airport. Rather far to go to the vegetables of the CBD busy streets, need to take tram or walk of your legs strong. But I really recommend this hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel

Address: 300 Spencer Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Melbourne CBD
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#73 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Atlantis Hotel welcomes business and leisure travelers into a comfortable atmosphere where you'll feel right at home. Located on Spencer Street and right opposite Southern Cross Station and Etihad Stadium and easy walking distance to all the marvelous Melbourne has to offer. Connect with comfort in one of our 232 guest rooms, 160 of which were only opened in August 2009 whilst the others have just undergone a complete refurbishment. These contemporary rooms all contain sleek furnishings, flat-panel 32 Inch LCD TVs, a comfortable bed, a generous working desk and some with City or Docklands views. Whether you're in Melbourne on official business or as a citizen of leisure, the Atlantis Hotel is your connection to the heart of the city.Bringing your car? The Atlantis Hotel has car parking available on-site for a nominal charge of $15 per night. Want to keep fit and active whilst at the hotel? Then why not head down to the heated pool for a few laps, jump into the gym for a workout on our LifeFitness® equipment or just relax in the sauna? However should you prefer to relax whilst at the hotel then why not speak to one of our friendly reception staff for some great tips on where to eat or drink in town. We can also arrange tours and offer advice on what to do and see whilst you are in Melbourne. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Melbourne
Melbourne Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Atlantis Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.